We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel for business travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont The Norfolk
Ranked #11 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 March 2010

Overall, the Fairmont Norfolk is a very nice hotel and would be happy to stay again. There are a lot of positive aspects of the hotel: very clean, helpful staff, nice bar & restaurant, great rooms, great sleep. However, hotels should realise that the smallest negatives can outweigh so many positives; which brings me to the point of internet access: the charge here is around USD$7 per hour. Yes - $7 per hour.
It seems to me that in the hotel business, the more you pay for room, the more likely you are to pay for internet access: of the four hotels that I visited during my visit to Africa, this was the most expensive and the only one that charged for internet access.
I guess my suggestion to travellers is that if you're not after the internet, then I would highly recommend staying here because everything else was wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeekendHussler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

928 - 934 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2010

We were a little concerned about our reservation at the Norfolk having read some suspect reviews of the hotel on trip advisor. However on arrival at the Norfolk at 10am our room was ready for us, for which we were grateful following a night flight from London.

We decided to make the most of our brief stay in Nairobi and got taxi from the Norfolk to the Karen Blixen museum. The drive to the museum gave us a good opportunity to see Nairobi and the house its self was in a beautiful location and well worth the visit for fans of Out of Africa. We also visited the Karen Blixen coffee gardens and had a lovely lunch.

The food at the hotel was reasonably priced and we enjoyed the Cin Cin bar, with a great selection of cocktails. The hotel is very relaxed and calm, which we appreciated when we returned a week later after our safari.

The service at this hotel was very good, the staff very friendly with an amazing breakfast to set you up for the day. The hotel retains its colonial charm, with beautiful prints of kenya in the early 1900s on display.

I was very pleased that I chose this hotel as it was the perfect start and end to our safari.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lazygirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2010

Friendly staff - very helpful and welcoming
Rooms: Comfortable, clean and nice size
Restaurant: Lovely food and knowledgeable staff.
Bars: Friendly bar staff and good range of drinks

Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
Thank MichaelL71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

We booked 2 Deluxe rooms for ourselves and our two sons. Upon arrival we were given 2 rather dingy looking rooms on the ground floor which faced onto a brick wall. We asked to move rooms (couldn't help but wonder what the standard rooms were like if these were Deluxe). After an hour they found two adjacent rooms on the second floor which faced the courtyard. These rooms were so much better - lighter and a bit more space particularly in the twin room. We did have a problem with the noisy air conditioner which kept me awake until I switched it off and ended up trying to sleep in a very stuffy room. My husband is a Fairmont member but didn't have his card - they thought it would be too hard to locate his number in the system so didn't bother.

Breakfast was included and there was plenty of choice. Kids used the pool which they really enjoyed.

All in all just another hotel for me - nothing special at all. Just make sure you dont get a room facing the brick wall of the neighbouring property.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

We had dined at the Norfolk twice during the summer of 2008, and when we knew we'd be back in Nairobi over New Year's, after staying five nights at the Fairmont Mara Safari Club (which was fabulous), we decided to stay at the Norfolk. I was able to get a very good rate through the President's Club and thankfully we hadn't paid the hotel's direct full rate online. We'd previously stayed at the Fairview and the Country Lodge, and after one night we so wished we had returned there again. Why on earth, on December 30, over a major holiday weekend, would both restaurants be closed for renovations? The Delamere porch restaurant and the inside newer restaurant. They kept saying that they'd both be open for New Year's Eve, but that didn't help us on our first night there. We had lunch in the bar, which was fine, but for dinner, we had to sit on the patio facing the courtyard and had the absolute worst meal and service we've ever experienced. My husband ordered red wine by the glass, as I chose to go with a white I'd enjoyed at lunch, and he had to not only send one back, but the second as well. They were both horrible. I mentioned to our male waiter, who could not have cared less, that we'd noticed an Argentenian Malbec on the menu in the bar, but the waiter said he could not go in there to get a glass for my husband. However, we noticed other drinks going back and forth! After dinner, we thought we'd enjoy a nice drink in the bar, but when we walked in, there was disco music playing and also a huge TV showing some sports event. The lack of ambience did it for us, so we called it a night! Right then, my husband said "We'll never stay in this hotel again, nor will we even come back for a meal!" I agreed! Our room was lovely, but when the hotel's generator kicked in during the middle of the night, our A/C went off and we woke to an extremely hot room at 5:30AM. We had to call three times before someone came to fix it. I have to commend the reception staff and the doormen, all of whom took excellent care of us. One of the girls at the front desk even sent a dozen roses to my room, for some unknown reason, which was a complete, and lovely surprise. Naiomi, who works in online reservations came out to greet us, as we'd had quite a bit of correspondence arranging the two Fairmont properties we stayed at in Kenya. She was a true delight and a huge asset to the Fairmont! Luckily, we had booked another restaurant for New Year's Eve, Alan Bobbe's, which was wonderful, but upon returning to the Norfolk just before midnight, the place was dead. Not one person in the bar and this was New Year's Eve. What has happened to this lovely, old hotel that once had so much atmosphere and charm? The new hotel has definitely lost it and it probably will never be the same! Sad! Won't ever stay there again and will return to the Fairview or the Country Lodge. But, do try Tribe Hotel/Restaurant if you don't mind being a bit further out of town, but definitely go for a meal!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaminQ8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2010

having stayed at the norfolk 4 or 5 x over he last 15 years, very disappointed by the changes. All the colonial charm gone - now just another faceless business hotel. Staff very friendly and service good, but rooms very dark. Chopping much of the trees down leaves the gardens open and uninviting. New terrace bar on street poorly finished with raw concrete finish to front wall.
Central Nairobi no longer a good place to overnight for connecting flights (is there any other good reason to go there other than business?) - city traffic ever worse, and the norfold v close to university - source of many disruptive events (during which the city centre comes to a standstill and lives often lost!!)
Karen a better place to be - less risk of traffic jams and demonstrations, and semi-rural atmosphere. If you need a good grustworthy taxidriver, try Stephen Mwangi [--] - used him for years with never a problem. Hotels? Karen Blixens, House of Wayne much nicer than Norfolk.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmyriddel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Could not have been more impressed with this establishment.
We had an amazing time on safari and this was our place of respite before proceeding to Egypt.
To my surprise on arrival we had been upgraded to a suite which was roomy and quiet. We were well looked after and got a great price on the stay. I would recommend and we had a great albeit short stay that we could not fault. The steak we had from the grill was very good as well. Overall we found our stay here faultless and seemless which is how we like it when we travel. highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,300 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#18 of 169 in Nairobi
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#5 of 169 in Nairobi
1,181 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
959 reviews
Sankara Nairobi
#6 of 169 in Nairobi
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont The Norfolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont The Norfolk

Address: Harry Thuku Rd, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: £142 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont The Norfolk 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from Nairobi's best attractions, including the home of Karen Blixen, from the Academy Award winning film 'Out of Africa', Fairmont The Norfolk offers luxurious guestrooms and suites, set amidst tropical gardens. It features plush furniture, flat screen TV, minibar, rainfall showers, and tea and coffee maker. Built in 1904, the hotel has been completely refurbished with a heated outdoor swimming pool, health club, sauna and steam rooms with massage facilities, tropical landscaped grounds, and award winning restaurants and bars from steak and seafood at Tatu restaurant, afternoon tea to Lord Delamere Terrace for international cuisine. The hotel is walking distance from artisanal craft shops, modern shopping centres, Sheldrick's Elephant Sanctuary, National Museums of Kenya and is the launch point for 'bucket list' worthy safari tours, which can be organized at the 24 hour concierge desk. A free shuttle bus is available to and from Jomo Kenyatta International airport, located 11 miles away. Business Guests are also offered a complimentary return shuttle ride to their office with free WiFi on board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont The Norfolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont The Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Norfolk
Norfolk Hotel Nairobi
Fairmont Hotel Nairobi
Norfolk Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing