We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great garden” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fairview Hotel
Ranked #5 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
478 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Great garden”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

The hotel has the greatest garden where you can just walk or enjoy while dining. Our friends stayed in one of the ground floor rooms and their only regret was that they did not have the balcony, otherwise they were pleased. The room was facing the pool and it took us thirty seconds to get to our next - to - the - pool table for dinner. The hotel has a regular restaurant, a garden cafe, sushi bar and a wine cellar. We had a dinner and the prices were acceptable. The lobster soup was not really great, red snapper was excellent and cheesecake was totally disappointing - dominating cheese cream placed on a biscuit. Ambiance, cats (some friendly, some less friendly), pool, greenery raised the value of this meal, whereas food itself should have been much better,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillemusen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    731
    362
    88
    27
    12
See reviews for
153
310
111
518
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Romsey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed here on a stopover. Very secure and safe a perfect place to arrive when you are tired and it is late. Although the bars and restaurants were closed room service was friendly and quick with very friendly helpful staff. We had a garden room near the pool and felt very comfortable unwinding sat outside our room on the veranda. Good choice at breakfast constant supply of freshly cut fruit and any variation of eggs cooked to order.

Beautiful surroundings excellent customer service would highly recommend for either a stopover or longer stay in Nairobi.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crampmoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Excellent service - nothing to complain about. We needed to move a room for one of our friends and it was done with no fuss, we even got a free upgrade

Nairobi is very security ficused as you would expect, this hotel directly opposite the Isral embassy benefits from the overlapping protection

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheltenham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

After a great but tiring week in the back of beyond in western Kenya, it was just fantastic to land at the Fairview for an evening. What a stylish, relaxed, unstuffy but classy place - full of atmosphere, delightfully landscaped spaces, interiors and exteriors blending seemlessly, with wonderful plants, seating areas etc. We ate very well - right next to the floodlit pool - and for exceptional value given this is central Nairobi. Steaks were good, desserts nice too. For a main + dessert and a drink or two, it was under £20 a head. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank revieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flic En Flac
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

Spent 2 weeks in this hotel at beginning of a 3 year contract in Kenya. Serious security - you really feel safe, but the hotel is so relaxed, the rooms impeccable and the staff truly helpful.

I would choose this hotel before the more expensive options international hotels in Nairobi any day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rswooding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenya
Level Contributor
98 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

The service at the Fairview is second to none. We had a full weeks intensive workshop. Everything was perfect, super food, flexible support, great surroundings. You really struggle to find a better venue in Nairobi

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

The Fairview Hotel is an oasis in the middle of a very busy city. I appreciated the security, cleanliness, and professionalism of the staff. Nairobi is pretty crazy, and I felt peaceful and safe here amid the gardens. The food and drinks were great too, the breakfast especially amazing!!! I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank annof2manyhorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.0 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#4 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Property: Fairview Hotel
Address: Bishops Road, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing