We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless!”
Review of Fairview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairview Hotel
Ranked #3 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Faultless!”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

I travel extensively and the Fairview is without question my favourite. I has those wonderful qualities that the major chains strive for and rarely achieve. The rooms are wonderfully individual, the food is superb and the service faultless. Only thing - could they do a sauna or steam room?

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    767
    376
    92
    27
    12
See reviews for
158
320
114
545
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Definitely my favorite hotel in Nairobi, and I'm picky. This place is filled with garden space, fireplaces, and quaint corners to read/answer emails.

I stayed in one of the smaller rooms and it gave me enough space to live and work. The environment of the Fairview gives you the large country-home feeling like they advertise and the rooms feel the same.

It’s located in a quiet yet central neighborhood. Also it’s as safe as you can get given all the security around the Israeli Embassy.

Breakfast buffet has everything you need. The other restaurants give you enough variety during the day.

Staff is friendly. Rooms are clean. Save your search and just stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColombeBluu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
264 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed two nights on two separate occasions at the Fairview. We enjoyed our stay both times. The place was clean, the wifi worked, and the staff was excellent. Yes there is excess security but it is across the street from the Israeli Embassy and I would rather have more security rather than not enough. The place is large with different restaurants and a wine cellar. It hosts one of the best restaurants in the city - the Pango Brassiere. We ate there both nights and enjoyed ourselves. The service was top-notch and the food good except for maybe the lamb, but lamb in Kenya is not very good anywhere. We sat by the pool one afternoon which was also clean, quiet and relaxing for being in the middle of a big city. The breakfast was extensive and very good. If we end up in Nairobi again we would stay at the Fairview.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDNTRAVELLERS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We first stayed at Fairview in 2002 at which time we were impressed with the quiet comfortable atmosphere in the midst of the busy city of Nairobi. On each of our subsequent visits Fairview remained our destination of choice. The breakfast buffet is excellent and the restaurant choices adequate. The grounds are well maintained with an excellent pool. The staff is always there to assist. If you want a modestly priced hotel in a convenient city location this is it with charm and comfort.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms in the main building facing the rear or pool area, quieter and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AAG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I really liked the feel of the Fairview. Lots of wood panelling and cool pictures of the building from decades earlier. The hotel isn't part of a big chain. It's family owned and the staff showed a high level of care and attention.

The bathrooms were spotlessly clean but could use some modernisation.

Overall, this is the hotel I'd recommend to friends visiting Nairobi.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Good points:
Wifi worked well from start with a couple of small glitches. Nice quesadillas in garden restaurant, green ambience, helpful staff

Not so good:
Excessive security - needed key to get out of apartment building; no bar for socialising (unlike most Nairobi hotels). Steak was tough. Hotel was rather too fashionable/American and less African than others I have stayed with many western clients armed with laptops.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_C_Exmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

When you travel a lot, you start to crave a unique feel in a hotel. This has it. Arriving at night, the security was quite tight as it is across from the Israeli embassy - but it's worth any delay. It has a covered outside bar which is busy, active with a good vibe. The hotel has a sense of history and has been family owned for multiple generations. The people working there are friendly. I had dinner in the bar and a buffet breakfast which was all good. I had a basic room ( about $190/ night - the shower water pressure could be a little better). The Wifi worked well. The grounds are lush with vegetation covering the walls. Really a nice feel to the place and the service level is very high. I look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: The basic room has a slightly oversized single bed, not a double, so choose it carefully. I don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BMWtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 164 in Nairobi
1,007 reviews
The Heron Portico
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
1,142 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#8 of 164 in Nairobi
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel

Property: Fairview Hotel
Address: Bishops Road, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel is owned and operated by the City Lodge Hotel Group. It is Nairobi's most popular four star hotel comprising of 127 rooms (with some five star rooms!). Our product offering is designed for the business traveller with various room types set in five acres of beautiful gardens. Our room rates include bed, breakfast, wifi and all taxes. We are situated 2 kilometers out of the Nairobi central business district on Upper hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing