We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Giraffe Manor
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Nairobi
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Smith Hotel(Kiserian)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (970)
Filter reviews
970 results
Traveller rating
876
63
19
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
876
63
19
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsonce in a lifetimebucket listbedroom windowrothschild giraffesbreakfast roomgiraffe experiencegiraffe feedinghigh teakaren blixen suitetonguestick their headsother guestsbeautiful animalsfood pelletsdaisy roomfront lawngiraffe centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
646 - 651 of 970 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

This place is heaven... Five star service, food was amazing, and being up close to the giraffes was the best of all. Tony greeted us warmly and was there for all of our needs. Julius was our driver and he was exceptional. Advice: save every penny you have and come here. I've traveled the world, and this place tops it all.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSCmanagement, Manager at Giraffe Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

The Giraffe Manor team are very happy to read your fantastic review. Both Tony and Julius will be pleased to hear that they provided you with everything you needed and made your stay that much more enjoyable. We very much hope you might return to see us some time in the future and perhaps combine this with a few nights at our sister properties, Solio, Salas and Sasaab.

Giraffe Manor Management - The Safari Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We spent one evening at the Giraffe Manor at the end of our holiday. It was a great experience. After the giraffe centre closes the giraffe and warthogs come over for more treats. In the morning you can feed them from your balcony and in the breakfast room as you are having breakfast. The food was delicious.
The rooms were tiny, but I would recommend booking a superior room as you have better views of the lovely gardens and better access to the giraffe from your room.
We felt that we were being rushed to make plans for our departure the next day just after we arrived. In addition, the staff were cleaning our room and changing our bedding before we finished packing and moved out of the room. However, Steve the manager was very helpful and accomodating and made our experience much more pleasant.

Room Tip: pay the extra for a superior room
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalgaryTravelgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSCmanagement, Manager at Giraffe Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback, Giraffe Manor is certainly a unique experience. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay, in particular seeing the Giraffe and the Warthog on the Terrace. David the head chef will also be pleased to hear you enjoyed the food. The manor was a residential home once upon a time so does have quirky room sizes, which adds to the charm of the place but for those that prefer it we have superior room options with extra space. If you were to stay with us again we hope we can offer you one of the bigger rooms for instance Betty which has dual aspects and a private roof terrace. We apologise if you felt a little rushed during your stay - we have spoken to the team and hope this won't happen again.

If you are interested we keep our Facebook and Instagram pages stocked full of photos and news about Lynn, Helen, Walter and the gang. Just search for Giraffe Manor and The Safari Collection.

Giraffe Manor Management - The Safari Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I can't adequately describe the uniqueness, hospitality and wonder of the giraffes at this charming historic property outside of Nairobi. The staff was wonderful...taking care of our needs at every turn. We had exceptional service from the moment we arrived until we left...they took our photos with the giraffes, cleaned our shoes when they became muddy from hiking and everything in between.

The animals are so precious and they interact with you in the most kind and engaging way. From the early morning feedings outside of your bedroom window, to the visits at breakfast and lunch...it's purely magical and out of this world!

The lodging was classic, with four poster beds and hanging mosquito nets...to a lovely footed bathtub. They also took us on private tour around Nairobi to anyplace we'd like to visit...we went to the Elephant Sanctuary, the Karen Blixen house and a bead factory.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aranchia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSCmanagement, Manager at Giraffe Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you very much for your fantastic review of Giraffe Manor, it is a magical place and we're glad the staff and manor team helped make it an experience to remember. If you return to Kenya we hope you will stay with us again and perhaps also travel to one of our sister properties; Sasaab, Sala's Camp or Solio Lodge.

Thank you again,

Giraffe Manor - The Safari Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

A unique experience, staying in a beautiful historic property and interacting with the resident giraffe herd and warthogs! Great way to transition from long flight to Nairobi before going on a safari. Enjoyed the Karen Blixen house and visiting the Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage. So much to admire in Kenya - this was just a start!

Room Tip: Depends on the composition of your party - we were a family of ten. The Marlon room was small but OK for two teens to share. All the rooms are different but beautiful and comfortable.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nsilviam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSCmanagement, Manager at Giraffe Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Giraffe Manor. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had the chance to visit the local attractions in Nairobi. If you loved the Giraffe and Warthogs then you might like to follow us on Facebook and Instagram where we post updates and photos. Simply search for Giraffe Manor.

We hope you visit us again.

Giraffe Manor - The Safari Collection

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The hotel and rooms are beautiful and the experience with the giraffes coming to feed from your hands is amazing. The whole thing is a bit let down by the service which could benefit from improved communication between the staff who were all very friendly and polite. We completed details on dietary requirements but at dinner these had been ignored and whilst the meal I finally got was OK it was not what I would have expected for a hotel of this price. Also the tea we ordered on arrival never turned up and the fact that we needed breakfast early due to a transfer pick up was not communicated to the breakfast staff, meaning our breakfast was rushed and our order was again wrong. Giraffe Manor is definately worth a stay for the interaction with the animals but the price does not reflect the service provided.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank Rachwhor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TSCmanagement, Manager at Giraffe Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Giraffe Manor. We truly value the opinions of all our customers and we apologise that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. Providing our guests with the best possible experience and service has always been our mission. We have addressed the issues you raised and further staff training has taken place to ensure better communication between departments going forward. Again please accept our sincerest apologies, we do hope that overall your experience at Giraffe Manor was one to remember. – Giraffe Manor Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews