We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Savoy of Nairobi”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sarova Stanley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sarova Stanley
Ranked #7 of 162 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Savoy of Nairobi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

My wife and I are on our way to Rwanda and decide to stay 2 overnights in Nairobi. We were a bit concerned about "Nair-roberry" and wondered about finding a safe, old world charm hotel for our day stay. We arrived late at night and check in was carried out by wonderful smiling staff. We were a bit surprised that they were so happy. Our room was great. Good modern air conditioning, a large Sony TV monitor with a good range of cable TV so we could watch some TV and get a sense of what Kenya and Nairobi is all about, and plenty of UK power sockets for us to recharge all our batteries we will need in our safari in a few days, but the internet could have been a bit faster. Later the next day we wanted to go to a day trip to do a "game drive" in the Nairobi National Park as we were itching to see the animals !

We chose their in-house taxi and found the driver, Solomon, to be extremely courteous and he did everything with a deep hearted smile. We asked him all sorts of questions ; about the animals, politics and general life in Nairobi. He was well versed with all these topics and made our trip very informative.

Later, we had a late lunch at the hotel restaurant downstairs. Again, all the staff were very courteous. It reminded us of the staff at the Savoy in London who are just as courteous - not the typical american establishment who are courteous because they are expecting a fat tip. The staff here are courtious because it comes from somewhere deep inside and not from a clever training program.

This hotel is the real deal. Its the Savoy of Nairobi.

We realised that whatever this hotel has, it needs to be exported to many other hotels. Later we received our laundry which is a same day service - useful for us as we are leaving first thing in the morning. We were surprised that three of my underpants were missing. We called their Laundry department. The lady who answered said "I'm sorry - I will be there right away" and hung up. I thought - what happened ?. Why did she hang up on me ? Then right away there was a ring on the door and the lady was up with our missing laundry and was very apologetic. I was happy but also surprised again by the quick attention that my three missing under pants received. Anywhere else and I would be having an argument about my missing items. Here, they quickly focused on the problem and solved it.

I cannot comment about breakfast as we slept in recovering from jet lag, but lunch and dinner were superb. Regarding dinner we went to their Thai restaurant. We had no idea this is a 5 star restaurant and you need a reservation, but were happy for us to come in with our jeans and sleeveless tops. We were made welcomed and a low table (Japanese style - a bit odd) was made available for us. The restaurant staff were delightful, full of smiles and joyful infectious happiness. They employ two Thai chefs and their chicken satay sticks were made exactly as they should be made - a great creamy peanut sauce with small bits of peanuts over thinly slices chicken on small skewers. If a restaurant can make good chicken satay sticks, then they have nailed it in my opinion.

Now a quick one on Nairobi. Yes, there are issues - in the morning we heard gun shots as robbers tried to rob a place and we understood were gunned down by the police. We though it was an isolated incident but in talking to the staff here we understand that its more of a regular thing. Well, this old world charm hotel makes you feel very safe with their security screening all cars and people before they get into the hotel so its as good as it gets.

After we had dinner we were planning to go to our room to get packed for tomorrows early morning trip to Rwanda but we took a side stop at their old world bar just because its old charm was irresistible, We spoke to Beatrice the manager there and she was extremely focused on hearing both our positive and negatives views of the hotel ; the negatives so she could do something about it and improve. Well Beatrice, we cannot find anything but praise for your hotel. One of their staff at the Thai restaurant asked us to mention them on Tripadvisor. Normally we are not that interested in doing this as its an effort/ I'm lazy, but after all the good service with a deep smile, my wife and I cannot help ourselves in giving a detailed review of our experiences. I cannot speak about the other hotels in the area, but you won't be disappointed with this place at all.

Room Tip: Well we were upgraded without asking for it.. The room we had was facing the main street and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Josie M.,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and the excellent rating.

We appreciate the accolades and are humbled by your comments. Thank you for the special mention of Solomon, who was courteous, friendly and very engaging. We have shared your feedback with the whole team to continually uplift their customer service standards.

Looking forward to hosting you again and again.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    382
    86
    26
    21
See reviews for
122
254
99
452
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Culcheth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We booked the Sarova knowing it was towards the top end expense wise but wanted a safe and reliable hotel to use as a base during our 3 week visit to Kenya. The rooms were perfect - modern, clean and well presented, the staff were excellent on all but on occasion, a slight issue which they couldn't do enough to correct for us. Food was very good (champagne for breakfast!). the pool and gym well maintained and there was no issue in storing baggage we didn't need when hiking or on Safari. Above all the Hotel felt safe and secure the second you leave the street and entered the building - exactly what we were looking for, thank-you!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Jenny R,

Thank you for your feedback.

It was our pleasure to host you during your 3 week hiking and safari visit to Kenya. We are glad that Sarova Stanley was a safe haven while in Nairobi. Thank you for your comments on our guest rooms, champagne breakfast, gym and pool.

For the issue mentioned that we couldn't do enough, kindly contact me on thestanley@sarovahotels.com.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
126 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

I guess the phrase old is gold best describes Sarova Stanley in Nairobi. I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. They have a great breakfast variety. The varieties offered for lunch were also great. And most of all the gym classes in the morning were a plus. Great staff and instructors at the gym. I enjoyed my brief stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbblandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Kbblandi,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for the great description.

We are delighted that our heritage and history during your 3 night stay was very memorable. We are very proud that the team delivered services that surpassed your expectations, especially the team at the fitness centre. We have shared this review with them.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth WA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

This is the Raffles of Africa, a fabulous hotel in the centre of Nairobi Staff were great and most helpful. Nairobi is not a very safe place but we had no problem . A good find was the Slammers Bar round the corner a bit rough but cheap drinks and food and most friendly.We would stay here again if we go on another Safari already three but would go again a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: Most rooms in this hotel seem to be in a good position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Trudy N,

Thank you very much for taking time to give us this amazing review. We greatly appreciate your feedback and are humbled by your comparison to an international chain.

We are happy to hear that we were able to create a safe haven for you.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Sarova Stanley, on your fourth safari experience.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

The rooms were beautiful and modern. The staff was attentive and caring. The food was good and the pool was very nice. The staff was courteous, informative and very polished. I had a toothache and the staff checked on me to see if I was ok. For a big hotel, they take good care of their visitors and ensure that they are comfortable.

Room Tip: my room was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Vera M,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Sarova Stanley and for taking the time to send in your review. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality service.

We are glad that our hotel experience was great. From the guest rooms, our team members, and food, to our heated swimming pool.

We place great value on your continued relationship with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

The thing that makes Sarova Stanley different is the uniqueness of the hospitality (corner to corner they have genuinely caring and friendly staff). I would stay there again in a heartbeat, since I have friends here now.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burini916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear burini916,

Thank you for your review.

We are humbled by your feedback on our team members who went out of their way to ensure to feel right at home. Thank you for rating our team as caring and friendly.

It was our pleasure to host you and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

I must say I enjoyed my stay for the most part, but would also like to point out the glaring service descrepancies that can sooo easily be rectified.
The cocierge, the security both at the entrance as well as on my floor; were courteous and friendly beyond belief! The sevice at the al-fresco restaurant even more so. The poolside was easily my favorite lunch-spot, and the staff at the 1st floor bar were simply a delight.
However....
What is wrong with the reception staff? Did they all study from the same page? Every contact we had with them was met with the same sullen, un-cooperative attitude.
The room(s) were great, but the spotty wi-fi let them down. The technology to adequately saturate a hotel of that size with a stron internet signal is NOT expensive, so we took this as a reflection of an unwilling if not ignorant managemen management policy.
The Stanley can easily be the 'go to' hotel in Nairobi, if they could only address these very basic but annoying issues. //Copenhagen.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G, General Manager at Sarova Stanley, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Dear James G,

Thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to note that our concierge team, guest rooms, service at the Pool deck restaurant and the team at the Exchange bar, exceeded your expectation.

We have noted with regret the feedback on the various gaps of service experienced during your stay. We have shared your sentiments with our team at the reception and have undertaken a training program that will ensure all opportunities of guest interactions are vibrant, warm and professional. On the issue raised of Wi Fi, we have taken time to troubleshoot the challenged areas. We have increased the access points in the hotel for improved signals.

We endevour to be the "go to" hotel and hope that this will be your hotel of choice while in Nairobi.

Warm regards,
David Gachuru.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#4 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 860 reviews
The Heron Portico
#3 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Stanley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Stanley

Property: Sarova Stanley
Address: Corner of Kenyatta Avenue and Kimathi Street | PO Box 30680, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#4 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Stanley 5*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenya’s first luxury hotel, Sarova Stanley opened its elegant doors in 1902. Since then, it has been making history- hosting royal safaris and legendary personalities such as Edward Prince of Wales and Ernest Hemingway. Today, as the hotel enters its second century, it continues to maintain its unique heritage and provides state-of-the-art services and facilities for business and leisure travelers. All guestrooms are a blend of luxurious Victorian grandeur and modern comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Jovago.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sarova Stanley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Stanley Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Stanley Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing