We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent night in Nairobi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
LAICO Regency Hotel
Ranked #66 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Banjul
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent night in Nairobi”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I found myself staying overnight in Nairobi due to a missed flight connection and I accepted the recommendation of a member of the airline staff and came to the Laico Regency. From beginning to end the experience was first class. The welcome and check-in procedure was efficient friendly and courteous. The hotel itself is very splendid, built around a huge atrium with glass sided lifts. The room was a good size with every facility I could wish for and a very comfortable bed. The choice and quality of food at dinner and breakfast was excellent. I will certainly use this hotel again when I am next in Nairobi.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    63
    63
    36
    30
See reviews for
14
24
24
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Rooms are quite spacious, Restaurant serves delicious foods (especially indian's meals). what I liked much there was the heated swimming pool. Considering their current state, the bath rooms need serious renovation. Located in centre of nairobi, It's a ideal hotel for a business stay in Nairobi.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ektel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Due to our aircraft being delayed kenya airways where able to put us up over night here at the Laico. I must say that I was glad that it was only one night. Yes it was at short notice etc but credit where its due the check in staff and resturant staff did do an admirable job. the room however was a disaster. The door had obviously been kicked in at one point as the door panel had been broken off. the bathroom although large and was splatted with what looked like plaster and the shower door didn;t close which meant that the water just sprayed out in the bathroom itself. Check out was also a bit of a mare. You have to check out at the cashiers desk and seeing as there was a plan full of people trying to do this all at once it became very tiresome while they had to keep chasing house keeping to see if you had anything from the mini bar. All in all glad only had one night.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LatravelWestSussexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Latravelwestsussexuk,

Thank you for sharing your feedback during your stay with us and we are grateful.

Am glad that the check in and restaurant staff did a great job in ensuring that you were sorted out despite it being short notice. Our staff are always there to help you out and make your stay a memorable one.

Point to note is that you did not like the room you were in and am happy and pleased to let you know that we sorted out all those issues you raised and we would love to welcome you back again so that you can see for yourself the changes that we have done. At the time, we were in the process of upgrading our rooms and now that they are great I welcome you back.

For any queries or information kindly contact me on
guestlink@laicoregencyhotel.co.ke

Kind Regards,
Mr. Sobhi Dahan – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Pakistan
Level Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Location of the hotel is good because its in the central area and very close to most shops. i was there for a conference so enjoyed it and went smoothly....dint like the food and breakfast very much though.

ok place

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taniaimran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Taniaimran,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at Laico Regency Nairobi; it was our pleasure to host you.
We are pleased that you enjoyed our central location, giving you direct and quick access to most shops. Noted as well is that you enjoyed our conferencing facilities and that it was well synchronized and run smoothly.
As we did not meet your expectations in our food and breakfast, we would be glad to discuss your preferences on your return stay, to ensure that we make this home away from home.

Regards,

Mr. Sobhi Dahan
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Was there for 10 days on a business trip, the rooms are spacious and clean, the bathrooms need refreshment, overall a good hotel. The restaurants are ok, nothing special to say. Service is very good and as helpful as can be. Always welcoming and with a smile. If you are in Nairobi for business this hotel is well located and very pleasant.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms on Kenyatta Avenue, although the vue on the Park is nice the noise is present...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThierryC2962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear ThierryC2962,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us; it was our pleasure to host you.
We appreciate your positive comments on the hotel location for any business traveler and that our spacious and clean rooms met your expectations.
We are delighted that you experienced our professionalism in service delivery, with the team always executing their duties in a warm and friendly manner, and with a smile as is the Laico Regency way.
Noted are your remarks regarding the need to refresh the bathrooms and I wish to inform you that processes are already underway to upgrade our facility.
Nonetheless, we are delighted that during your 10 day stay with us, we were able to meet your expectations in every aspect. Guest comfort and satisfaction is paramount to us.

Regards,

Mr. Sobhi Dahan
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I would highly recommend anyone seriously looks to stay at another hotel in Nairobi. One had to wait for hot water in the room,. it felt like their was a helicopter in the bedroom with the air conditioning and the service was atrocious. On multiple occasions coffee ordered never turned up !! We ordered a hotel car to pick us up from the airport which ended up being a taxi which broke down. Terrible value for money.

Room Tip: Look at another hotel before you stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick175863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Nick175863,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We have noted the areas in which we did not meet your expectations during this stay and have taken measures to prevent a repeat.
Plans are already underway to upgrade the facility and processes have also been put in place to improve on our service delivery.
I assure you that I have taken this feedback very seriously and shared it with all the heads of departments concerned. We are closely monitoring the areas of dissatisfaction raised, with an aim of constantly improving and ensuring guest satisfaction.

Regards,

Mr. Sobhi Dahan
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torino
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Good conference facilities with very nice and efficient service. The gym is good, even if perhaps a bit small. The room spacious, clean, all amenities you expect for the category. Very good breakfast, lunch buffet with yummy desert. Really, the only thing is the very slow internet wifi. All the rest is global 4-5* standard in my view.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Dear Claudia O,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay with us. We are pleased to note that we exceeded your expectations in our product and service delivery.
We appreciate your positive comments on our spacious and clean rooms, with good conferencing facilities. We have noted as well that you enjoyed our sumptuous breakfast and our daily themed buffet lunches, which our chefs endeavor to, tantalize individual taste buds.
We have taken to consideration your feedback on the size of our gym and speed of WI-FI connectivity. We are in the process of improving the facility and have scheduled these as part of the product upgrades. Nonetheless, we are glad that that you had the pleasure of experiencing Laico Regency Nairobi facilities and our professionalism in five star service delivery.
Regards,

Mr. Sobhi Dahan
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Nairobi Safari Club
Nairobi Safari Club
#34 of 164 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Hilton Nairobi
#28 of 164 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Nairobi
#21 of 164 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#20 of 164 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#4 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LAICO Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LAICO Regency Hotel

Property: LAICO Regency Hotel
Address: Uhuru Highway | City, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#27 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#39 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — LAICO Regency Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Nairobi and to the LAICO Regency Hotel, offering quality hotel accommodation as well as inspiring conference facilities in Nairobi, Kenya. LAICO Regency is considered among the best Nairobi leisure and business hotels.Perfectly suited for today's traveller, LAICO Regency offers quality service, to ensure guests' comfort at all times within a warm and welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Priceline, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your LAICO Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Nairobi
Grand Regency Hotel Nairobi
Regency Hotel Laico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing