We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night was to much ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LAICO Regency Hotel
Ranked #86 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Dirty, worn, not worth 1/2 the money
Public areas looks good or ok. We had 3 rooms all dirty an worn. No maintenance in a long time it looked like. The hotel had all the possabilities to have five stars. Has the location and size one the rooms, but nothing else.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank enlitenen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed here during a conference because I could not get rooms in the Intercon. The only good things about this hotel are 1) the views to the national park, and 2) the breakfast. Apart from this, the hotel seemed old and in need of serious upgrades. You wait 10minutes before you can get hot water in the showers. The carpets stink and in need of serious shampooing. Note that you can always negotiate prices. I walked in and they told me the room rate was $370 per night. I negotiated it down to $200, a friend later told me I could have gotten the room at $120!! Location is not bad if you have business in the city. But I will honestly recomend Serena or indulge yourself and take the new Kepinski.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colo_mentality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I found myself staying overnight in Nairobi due to a missed flight connection and I accepted the recommendation of a member of the airline staff and came to the Laico Regency. From beginning to end the experience was first class. The welcome and check-in procedure was efficient friendly and courteous. The hotel itself is very splendid, built around a huge atrium with glass sided lifts. The room was a good size with every facility I could wish for and a very comfortable bed. The choice and quality of food at dinner and breakfast was excellent. I will certainly use this hotel again when I am next in Nairobi.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Rooms are quite spacious, Restaurant serves delicious foods (especially indian's meals). what I liked much there was the heated swimming pool. Considering their current state, the bath rooms need serious renovation. Located in centre of nairobi, It's a ideal hotel for a business stay in Nairobi.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ektel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Due to our aircraft being delayed kenya airways where able to put us up over night here at the Laico. I must say that I was glad that it was only one night. Yes it was at short notice etc but credit where its due the check in staff and resturant staff did do an admirable job. the room however was a disaster. The door had obviously been kicked in at one point as the door panel had been broken off. the bathroom although large and was splatted with what looked like plaster and the shower door didn;t close which meant that the water just sprayed out in the bathroom itself. Check out was also a bit of a mare. You have to check out at the cashiers desk and seeing as there was a plan full of people trying to do this all at once it became very tiresome while they had to keep chasing house keeping to see if you had anything from the mini bar. All in all glad only had one night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LatravelWestSussexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Latravelwestsussexuk,

Thank you for sharing your feedback during your stay with us and we are grateful.

Am glad that the check in and restaurant staff did a great job in ensuring that you were sorted out despite it being short notice. Our staff are always there to help you out and make your stay a memorable one.

Point to note is that you did not like the room you were in and am happy and pleased to let you know that we sorted out all those issues you raised and we would love to welcome you back again so that you can see for yourself the changes that we have done. At the time, we were in the process of upgrading our rooms and now that they are great I welcome you back.

For any queries or information kindly contact me on
guestlink@laicoregencyhotel.co.ke

Kind Regards,
Mr. Sobhi Dahan – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Location of the hotel is good because its in the central area and very close to most shops. i was there for a conference so enjoyed it and went smoothly....dint like the food and breakfast very much though.

ok place

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taniaimran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Taniaimran,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at Laico Regency Nairobi; it was our pleasure to host you.
We are pleased that you enjoyed our central location, giving you direct and quick access to most shops. Noted as well is that you enjoyed our conferencing facilities and that it was well synchronized and run smoothly.
As we did not meet your expectations in our food and breakfast, we would be glad to discuss your preferences on your return stay, to ensure that we make this home away from home.

Regards,

Mr. Sobhi Dahan
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Was there for 10 days on a business trip, the rooms are spacious and clean, the bathrooms need refreshment, overall a good hotel. The restaurants are ok, nothing special to say. Service is very good and as helpful as can be. Always welcoming and with a smile. If you are in Nairobi for business this hotel is well located and very pleasant.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms on Kenyatta Avenue, although the vue on the Park is nice the noise is present...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThierryC2962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murage, General Manager at LAICO Regency Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear ThierryC2962,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us; it was our pleasure to host you.
We appreciate your positive comments on the hotel location for any business traveler and that our spacious and clean rooms met your expectations.
We are delighted that you experienced our professionalism in service delivery, with the team always executing their duties in a warm and friendly manner, and with a smile as is the Laico Regency way.
Noted are your remarks regarding the need to refresh the bathrooms and I wish to inform you that processes are already underway to upgrade our facility.
Nonetheless, we are delighted that during your 10 day stay with us, we were able to meet your expectations in every aspect. Guest comfort and satisfaction is paramount to us.

Regards,

Mr. Sobhi Dahan
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hilton Nairobi
#29 of 169 in Nairobi
1,322 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 169 in Nairobi
1,207 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#13 of 169 in Nairobi
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Nairobi
#18 of 169 in Nairobi
1,099 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#6 of 169 in Nairobi
1,000 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LAICO Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LAICO Regency Hotel

Address: Uhuru Highway | City, Nairobi 00200, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#32 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#42 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: £73 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — LAICO Regency Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Nairobi and to the LAICO Regency Hotel, offering quality hotel accommodation as well as inspiring conference facilities in Nairobi, Kenya. LAICO Regency is considered among the best Nairobi leisure and business hotels.Perfectly suited for today's traveller, LAICO Regency offers quality service, to ensure guests' comfort at all times within a warm and welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your LAICO Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Nairobi
Grand Regency Hotel Nairobi
Regency Hotel Laico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing