We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven does exist.”
Review of Sarova Panafric

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sarova Panafric
Ranked #18 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heaven does exist.”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Both my wife and i have just returned after staying at the Sarova Panafric hotel in Nairobi.

From the moment we arrived at the hotel, the magic started!!

Augustine Kutoyi, in his traditional uniform, made us feel welcome with the biggest smile we have ever seen. He looked after us throughout our stay and must be complimented and promoted for his total professionalism!!

Juliett at the restaurant for her extreme kindness, care and constant good advice, She too must be complemented and promoted for her total dedication throughout!!

Jihan at the restaurant too for her total dedication. She too must be recognised for her performance!!

Joseph Kariuki, our room attendant, who took care of all our needs and nothing was too much trouble. Please promote this man and he has a long future at the hotel.

All the other members of staff and management for the superb work and dedication that they do to make everyone very welcome/

Please ignore all the negative comments made by other travellers as we both experienced true hospitality, nostalgia and above all, the warmth and genuiuness of our brothers & sisters.

Room Tip: Our room (310) was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Larry,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric.

We take pride in serving our guests exceptionally and ensure they experience our Refreshing African Hospitality and I am glad that we made the entirety of your stay enjoyable. I am delighted to read your positive feedback and will personally share the same with the entire team who will be happy to hear your kind words.

Thank you for recommendation and we look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    319
    161
    24
    22
See reviews for
64
161
78
300
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Sarova Panafric came to my rescue when I had to change the venue for an event I had planned for three months, three days to the event. They provided excellent support, accommodated my requests despite the short notice and were critical in making the event a success. I would go back again and again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Harry,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric.

I am delighted to read your very kind words and will share the same with the entire team.

We take pride in serving our guests exceptionally and I am glad that we were able to make your event a success and you found our conferencing facilities to be excellent.

Thank you for recommendation and we look forward to hosting you again.
Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stay here fairly regularly for business and I am always very happy with the accommodation.

The beds are extremely comfortable, the rooms clean and they all have nice bathrooms.

The restaurant food is really nice, breakfast is good for African hotels, with a huge choice available.

What really makes this place amazing though is the staff. They are simply wonderful. Always friendly, helpful and welcoming. I love coming back here and seeing friendly faces welcoming me, and it's always nice that they remember names and faces - makes it feel much more homely when travelling for business.

Whilst I use this hotel for business, there is a nice balance of business and holiday makers.

Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyLaRue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Jenny,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric.
We are glad to read that you have selected us as your hotel of choice and even happier to read that you enjoyed the entirety of your stay here, from the beds to the variety of food.
We take pride in serving our guests exceptionally and I will share your feedback to the staff who will undoubtedly be happy to hear your kind words.
Thank you for recommendation and please let me know when you next visit so that we may meet and chat over a meal or drink.
Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Arriving here late and exhausted after the day from hell (another story) the staff at the desk and elsewhere were helpful, kind and exactly what we needed. The room - allocated at short notice - was minus a few bits and pieces but these were provided within 10 minutes together with apologies. Comfortable, clean and safe - that's what we got and what we wanted. Breakfast next morning on the garden veranda was buffet-style, as usual, and excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want - they want to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elleron540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we appreciate your feedback.

We are delighted that you selected Sarova Panafric and are happy to read that you enjoyed the entirety of your stay at the hotel. We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and I will personally share your feedback with the staff who will be happy to hear your kind words.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great Hotel clean and comfortable. Very convenient to the city and services. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The food at Flame Tree Restaurant and Bar has a great choice of delicious food and drink. No one should go hungry Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Caron,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we not only appreciate feedback but also welcome it.

We are delighted that you selected Sarova Panafric and are happy to read that you enjoyed the entirety of your stay at the hotel. We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and I will personally share your feedback with the staff who will be happy to hear your kind words.

I am glad that you found the food delicious at our flagship restaurant Flame Tree.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.


Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We arrived relatively late at night and didn't expect much when we arrived. How wrong could we be? The staff made us feel so welcome even though it was 11 at night. The porters were very helpful and made us feel at home. The room was very nice and they'd even put a few swans made from towels on the bed to make us feel even more special. Breakfast was excellent; it was a varied choice of African, European and American foods - something for everyone. If we were staying in Nairobi longer I'm sure we would have been happy. The pool looked lovely.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McBellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear McBeller,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we not only appreciate feedback but also welcome it.

We are delighted that you selected Sarova Panafric and are happy to read that you enjoyed the entirety of your stay at the hotel. We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and I will personally share your feedback with the staff who will be happy to hear your kind words.
I am glad you enjoyed the wide variety of the food as well.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again and trust that the next time you will be able to enjoy the pool.

Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Malling
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We did not stay at the horel, but used it as a place to spend most of our evenings. The atmosphere in the restuarant was wonderful, the staff were always welcoming, helpful and friendly, the menu is wide and the portions large and the open enclosed area is a real pleasure to sit within and enjoy our meals and drinks. Nothing was to much trouble. A place not to be missed!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Karen,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric.

We are glad that you selected Sarova Panafric and enjoyed your dining experience at the hotel. We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and the staff will be happy to read your kind words.
It is good to hear that you enjoyed the ambience wide variety of food as well as our generous portions. Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
The Heron Portico
#4 of 164 in Nairobi
467 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
1,119 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
InterContinental Nairobi
#22 of 164 in Nairobi
971 reviews
Hilton Nairobi
#28 of 164 in Nairobi
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Property: Sarova Panafric
Address: Along Valley Road, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Panafric 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes' drive from the CBD and 18 km from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 162 rooms in a range of Superior, Executive, Club, Studio and Themed Suites - all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents, Flame Tree restaurant is named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens and offers leisurely meals. Sarova Panafric offers state-of-the-art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage - or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa's rhythm. And this hotel is centrally located, only a short 0.5 Km from Kenya's landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)', one of the most prominent events venues in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing