We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Customer Service, great venue for conferences”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sarova Panafric

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sarova Panafric
Ranked #19 of 162 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Customer Service, great venue for conferences”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

We held our ELNET Ethical Leadership and Business Conference / Awards at this hotel from 24 - 25 July 2014. Right from the point of negotiating for the room with Daniel Mutheki to the personal welcome / interest in us by John Kimondo / General Manager David Gachuru to room attendant Eric's attention to detail throughout the event, we had a fantastic time.

The management / staff's pleasant demeanor and eagerness to be of assistance made our event easy to manage and execute. I would recommend this venue for conferences / other events any time!

Peter Mutua ELBUCA 2014

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Mr, Peter M,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric.

We are glad that you selected Sarova Panafric for your conference and are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are committed to exceeding our guests expectations and I will personally share your kind words to all the staff that you have mentioned as well as the team at large.

We are proud to be associated with ELNET as an organization and look forward to hosting you again.

Thank you for your recommendation, we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,




David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    313
    160
    24
    22
See reviews for
64
160
76
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I would like to appreciate afew of the employees at Sarova Panafric who gave us extremely good service during ELNET- ELBUCA conference held on 24th-25th July.
they are 1. Daniel 2. Ann 3. Evans 4. Rachel 5. Nelson. they are truly exceptional, being cautious and helpful at all times.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Ms Diana M,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric.

We are glad that you selected Sarova Panafric for your conference and are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

I will personally pass on your appreciation to all the employees you have mentioned in your feedback, We are committed to exceeding our guests expectations and the staff will be pleased to hear your kind words.

We are proud to be associated with ELNET as an organization and look forward to hosting you again

Thank you for your recommendation, we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,




David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

I have stayed as a guest on business both in a regular hotel room and an apartment unit in the back of the hotel. If you are here for an extended time, get an apartment unit - incredible value for the money. The apartment units are in the back separated from the main hotel by a pool and garden area - beautiful garden. I have occupied the most digitized of the units, and I am very pleased. Try to get the unit with the pool/garden view; the other side is just a view of the compound with parking.
The hotel ambiance is rather majestic. So is the location which is on the hill near the State House but not very far from the city center. Full of trees and garden.

Service both at the hotel and apartment units is excellent. So is at the restaurant, particularly Flame Tree. I single out four individuals among those with extraordinary customer service and pleasant personality - Irene (reception area manager), Julliet, AnnRita (Flame Tree), and Catherine (Apartment manager). Also, the food at flame tree is great value for the money, including the wine selection. Breakfast buffet is just excellent - wide range of selections but pricey. I have ranked the hotel five star, but realistically between four and five stars, but closer to five in my judgment. My observations are based on my assessment as a relatively long term (about a year) hotel aparment occupant - very satisfied particlalry with service and attention. I highly recommend the hotel for its high value for the money, for oustanding customer service, excellent food, excellent ambiance, scenic/hilly/convenient location.

Room Tip: If you are here for an extended time, get an apartment unit. These units are in the back separated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Lemma,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at Sarova Panafric, we genuinely value guest feedback.

We are happy that you selected Sarova Panafric and even more pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay from the rooms to apartments to the food and also the gardens and pool.
We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and we are glad that our service exceeded your expectations. I will personally pass your kind words to the staff you have named as well as the rest of the team.

Please let me know when you will be back so we may personally meet.

Thank you once again for your commendation.


Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

After so many hours in transit to busy, noisy and, lets face it, kind-of-overwhelming Nairobi, it's nice to be taken care of, and that's what I was at the Sarova Panafric. The facilities may not be the newest, but the place feels special, and the staff is so incredibly gracious, you feel like you belong there. Comfortable bed. Bottled water. Delicious complimentary breakfast buffet. A glass of tropical fruit juice while you wait to be checked in. What more do you need? A nice combination of Western comfort and African style.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie_from_hb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Ms. Julie,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we appreciate and welcome your feedback.

We are delighted that you selected Sarova Panafric and that we could make you feel special. We are committed to serve our guests exceptionally and we are glad to read that you felt like you belonged here.
We have noted your feedback on facilities and would like to reassure you that we are currently taking steps to upgrade the hotel and we trust this shall exceed your expectations.

Thank you for your recommendation, we appreciate each word.


Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Wonderful, friendly and attentive staff ensured yet again a successful business meeting. Particular mention to Anne and her colleagues who provided such excellent service at meal times and to the ladies who kept the snacks coming!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicci W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Nicci,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric.

We are glad that you selected Sarova Panafric for your conference and are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are committed to exceeding our guests expectations and I will personally share your kind words to Anne and the rest of the staff.

Thank you for your recommendation, we appreciate each word. We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

The panafric is an excellent hotel for stays downtown Nairobi . The security is exceptional and service excellent. All the staff is very friendly and the room very clean and comfortable. The setting is beautiful and flora lovely!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Marty,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we appreciate and welcome your feedback.

We are delighted that you selected Sarova Panafric and that you enjoyed the entirety of your stay. We are committed to serve our guests exceptionally and are glad to read that you found the hotel from staff to security to our landscaping excellent.

Thank you for your recommendation, we appreciate each word.


Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stayed at Sarova Panafric for 2 nights in July, and overall really enjoyed the experience. The staff were extremely courteous, the rooms well maintained, and the restaurant had excellent food. I was given a complimentary upgrade after they realized that my room wasn't ready for check-in, which was also much appreciated.

The location is fairly ideal, with it being easy to get a cab to take me either downtown, or towards Junction. The extended driveway means you're removed from street traffic, and also feel extremely safe (given the crime issues in Nairobi).

The lobby and restaurant are definitely the best features of the hotel. Their morning buffet is excellent, and I enjoyed a mix of both continental and local cuisine with excellent variety. Their a-la-carte menu is also pretty solid.

The rooms are spacious, with good air-conditioning, decent wi-fi, good tv channel selection and a really nice shower. The only knock is that the hallways to access your rooms aren't sealed, and tiled with cheap tile, giving the hotel a slightly cheap feel (which it is decidedly not). It has the open hallway look that you expect of a motel, but the facilities and features are definitely top notch.

The only other issue is that I was hoping the hotel would have a gym, but I guess that isn't the norm in Nairobi. The pool area looking beautiful, but it was a bit too cold to swim in July.

Overall, I'd say this is a really good deal if you want a near five-star experience in Nairobi, without having to pay a five-star price. Also, given the alternatives, I'd be hard pressed to find as good a hotel at a comparable price point.

Room Tip: All floors have the same basic view, at the balcony is so-so. Wouldn't splurge on it if given an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chirag J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Mr. Chiraj,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we appreciate and welcome your feedback.

We are delighted that you selected Sarova Panafric and we are glad to read that you enjoyed the entirety of your stay at the hotel, from the location, rooms, dining options as well as our hotel security. We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and we thank you for your kind words.

We have noted your feedback on sealed hallways and chiped tiles and would like to reassure you that we are currently taking steps to upgrade the hallways and we trust this shall exceed your expectations.

Kindly do let me know the next time you are in Nairobi so that we can personally meet.

Thank you for your recommendation, we appreciate each word.


Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
The Heron Portico
#3 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 162 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Property: Sarova Panafric
Address: Along Valley Road, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#19 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Panafric 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes' drive from the CBD and 18 km from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 162 rooms in a range of Superior, Executive, Club, Studio and Themed Suites - all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents, Flame Tree restaurant is named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens and offers leisurely meals. Sarova Panafric offers state-of-the-art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage - or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa's rhythm. And this hotel is centrally located, only a short 0.5 Km from Kenya's landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)', one of the most prominent events venues in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing