We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Bad for in and out visits”
Review of Sarova Panafric

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sarova Panafric
Ranked #20 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not Bad for in and out visits”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This hotel is uniquely situated on a main thoroughfare which makes access by car a nightmare at certain times of the day. Once you make it in however the staff is pretty friendly. One particular person was so extremely genuinely nice and greeted you with the warmest smile her name is Yula. i've not stayed there in quite a while and I'd be disappointed to go there and not see that smile funny as it may seem she was simply that nice.If you go there and happen to get the "Yula experience" i think you'll understand what I mean. The rest of the staff was nice also however they were not standout nice as she was. The food (T-Bone steaks especially) is really good and is a pleasant surprise simply because you don't expect it to be as good as it is. The older section of the hotel is less desirable for a good nights rest, especially the room with a balcony towards the road. The problem there is that once the traffic kicks in you feel like your room is in the middle of the street. Maybe they have sound proofed the rooms now since they have done a lot of renovations. The reason i say the hotel is good for in and out visits, is because occasionally they hosts events near their very nice pool. When this happens guess what your invited also, but from your room... :) what I mean is Just like the front facing rooms feel as if they are in the street in the morning, when there is a function you get the impression your room is part of the function due to the noise levels. Unfortunately there is no escape. If i remember correctly there is no A/C so in order not to suffocate you must leave the windows open, thus allowing more noise in as well. The rooms are not so bad but the beds were very low to the ground as I recall, not necessarily something you want to wake up daily on prior to a long meeting with clients. :( All in all not bad if your on a budget or simply have a large "clan" and don't plan to spend your hours in the hotel outside of sleeping.

Room Tip: 1. Hope you arrive and are greeted by Yula or someone with the same attitude and outstanding smile a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terral B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Terral BS,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel.

We are encouraged by your recognition of the staffs friendliness, professionalism and courtesy and we note your singling out Yula for outstanding performance.

Please allow us to bring you up to date with our hotel since your last visit in October 2013, which we believe forms the basis of your review: We have installed Air conditioners in all our rooms which are preset but can be individually adjusted or switched off depending on our guest’s preference.

We have largely dealt with the noise factor and can comfortably confirm that issues raised touching on this are very isolated. The location we are in is active due to its numerous topographical and geographical advantages. This however does not take from the private and serene nature of this hotel, its quiet grounds, gardens or rooms.

We do however appreciate your feedback as it is through our customer’s experiences that we keep working towards continual improvement. We always strive to give the best value to our customers.

Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    214
    316
    161
    24
    22
See reviews for
64
160
76
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

I stayed in the hotel just one night but also spend a full day in the conference center.
The rooms are not more than ok.
The breakfast is great and so was dinner at the same restaurant.
The Pool Restaurant for lunch was just ok.
Wi-fi connection was free, but slow. It keeps disconnecting and you need to re-login.
Nice gift shop.
The staff of the hotel is GREAT and they are friendly and go to lenght to help.

Room Tip: Try to get a roon at the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QTtravaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear QTtravaler,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric.

We are glad that you selected Sarova Panafric even though your stay was short and are pleased that you enjoyed the variety of food and found the staff friendly, I will be sure to share your kind words.

We have noted your feedback on wifi and would like to reassure you that we are currently taking steps to upgrade this service and we trust this shall exceed your expectations.

Thank you for your recommendation, we appreciate each word.


Kind Regards,

David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Disclaimer: I visited the hotel but did not stay there.In my view, although the entrance to the hotel is top notch, as one approaches the rooms it feels like an apartment block was converted to a hotel. The facilities in the room e.g. CRT tv. Come on, in an age where big screen LCDs prevail, how can you put CRT in the room?Even the quality of the fittings and furnishings including the doors, etc. could be a notch higher. I am confident though that they can easily make this change to be a true 4 star establishment.

Helpful?
Thank gontadu
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Mr. Gontadu,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at The Sarova Panafric.

We note your feedback on the need to refurbish and are currently taking steps to upgrade our rooms and we trust that this shall indeed exceed your expectations.

We hope that you will get a chance to stay at Sarova Panafric the next time you are in Nairobi and experience our Refreshing African Hospitality.

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
227 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We were welcomed by a very friendly staff after Etihad Airways ruined our connection to our safari, and we were stranded one night in Nairobi. Knowing it was our honeymoon they even upgraded us to a beautiful suite with a view of the city. We had been so sad, but suddenly they made our day! Such a lovely room. And they had a very good restaurant and bar. We felt the facilities were of a very high standard. Happy and smiling staff everywhere you turn. They were so accomodating to our needs throughout our stay. Such a high standard of care for their guests. It gave us a very good impression of Nairobi, and overall a truly pleasant surprise. Next time, perhaps, we will plan on staying in Nairobi and make a point to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaiwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Jawaina,

We are glad that you took the time to share your experience at Sarova Panafric.

Thank you for sharing the beginning of your new life together with us. We are glad to hear you were pleased with the room and restaurant and for your kind words on the staff.

We look forward to hosting you the next time you are in Nairobi.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The best points of the hotel - the staff are lovely, the security is good, and the breakfast is fabulous. Fruit, cereal, toast, eggs, bacon, danish pastries, cake, muffins, fish, salad, pretty much you name it, they've got it. The charm of the staff, their smiles, their friendliness, cannot be overstated. Security is good too - essential in Nairobi, with one guard per two floors overnight, and two or more on the front doors 24/7. The doorman in black kofiya (cap) and red kanzu (robe) is a great touch too - complete with a cow's tail to wave around - it blesses the guests, apparently.

The rooms are very tired and could do with a bit of an update - if that isn't possible, a few things like bright cushions would help greatly. Hotel a bit overpriced for the quality of accommodation, but perhaps you are paying more for the service and the security, than you are for anything else...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdn-npl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we not only appreciate feedback but also welcome it.

We are delighted that you selected Sarova Panafric and we are glad to read that you enjoyed the entirety of your stay at the hotel from the great food to the friendly staff. We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and the staff will be happy to read your kind words.

We take guest feedback seriously and we have noted your feedback on the need to refurbish. We are currently taking steps to upgrade our rooms and we trust this shall exceed your expectations. Kindly do let me know the next time you are in Nairobi so that we can personally meet.

Thank you for your recommendation and we appreciate each word.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I enjoyed my stay while on business travel as the staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was to a good standard. However I think the cost is quite expensive. If they could be say $20.00 less per night I think that would be more reasonable. It's a really nice place to stay for a few days if you wish to feel a bit pampered and breakfast was ace. I would go back again but I woudl need to save up for it first!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millerbakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Ms. Millerbakes,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we appreciate and welcome guests feedback.

We are glad that you selected Sarova Panafric as your hotel of choice and that you found the staff friendly and helpful. We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and the staff will be happy to read your kind words. We believe we offer great value for our pricing but your concern on the rate has been noted.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future and kindly let me know when next you will be in Nairobi so we may personally meet.

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

To arrive in Nairobi and be greeted so warmly, from the taxi driver, to the security people at the hotel and then at reception - it really makes such a difference as a first time traveller to Kenya. The hotel was fine as a stopover, the rooms were clean with a king bed, the bathroom is dated but fine for overnight. Breakfast buffet is more than adequate and a great choice for all. The staff really make the hotel and if this is the kind of hospitality we will get throughout Kenya and Tanzania we look forward to the rest of our holiday!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sally12363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_David_Gachuru, General Manager at Sarova Panafric, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Ms. Sally,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Sarova Panafric, we appreciate & welcome your feedback.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your hotel experience as a first time traveler to Kenya. We are wholly committed to serve our guests exceptionally and we thank you for your kind words.

We look forward to hosting you again and trust you will enjoy the rest of your stay in East Africa.

Kind Regards,
David Gachuru
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
The Heron Portico
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Panafric? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Panafric

Property: Sarova Panafric
Address: Along Valley Road, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi > Upper Hill Estate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#20 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sarova Panafric 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllically located 5 minutes' drive from the CBD and 18 km from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, amidst beautifully landscaped gardens in a quiet suburb of Nairobi, Sarova Panafric offers 162 rooms in a range of Superior, Executive, Club, Studio and Themed Suites - all recently refurbished and decorated in a contemporary vibrant African style. Once the watering hole for freedom fighters, spies and foreign correspondents, Flame Tree restaurant is named after the Flame Tree that holds pride of place in the gardens and offers leisurely meals. Sarova Panafric offers state-of-the-art banqueting and conferencing facilities with a range of meeting and function rooms equipped with the latest audio visual and WIFI equipment. To wind up the day, take a dip in the pool or go for a leisurely massage - or simply enjoy a cool drink to the soothing sounds of Africa's rhythm. And this hotel is centrally located, only a short 0.5 Km from Kenya's landmark 'Kenyatta International Conference Centre (KICC)', one of the most prominent events venues in Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sarova Panafric reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Panafric Hotel Nairobi
Sarova Panafric Nairobi
Panafric Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing