We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Free WiFi is gone....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Safari Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Safari Park Hotel
Ranked #24 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Utrecht
Level Contributor
285 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Free WiFi is gone....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Since my visit last year, the biggest draw back is that the WiFi is paid again an that at a whopping KSH 2000 per 2 devices. So if you have a phone, a tablet and a laptop (or if you have a wife or kids with you) your bill can go up very quickly. WiFi speed is still not great.
The grounds, the dance show at the BBQ restaurant and the pizza's at the Italian restaurant are still very good and the check out is still very slow. On departure at 5 in the morning, I was the only one there and it took me almost 10 minutes to pay and get an invoice. This needs to be improved for a hotel of this standing. Security is very good, and even better on the last day, when the Kenyan President hoisted the conference for East African leaders in the hotel (and made it almost impossible for other guests to get onto the grounds).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geerlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    243
    98
    34
    16
See reviews for
54
113
33
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

The gardens in this well established hotel make it a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are very comfortable and the food during the day is excellent. At night it is worth escaping outside for dinner to seek good value and any atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fenbeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

It is an excellent hotel worth every penny that we pay for. Great food excellent staff and very proactive management. We used it for our conference of more than 450 people. The place id so huge that it did not feel crowded at all. The place is really worth the money

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Gultu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

The Hotel is well roofed in a more traditional way hence making it look very natural and appealing. It's located on the biggest Super Highway in the country and driving to the Airport or City centre is at ease. The food is good and especially you get much value for money on lunch buffet. The rooms i stayed are nice looking and spacious and the green gardens outside with flowers adds alot of beauty to the surroundings. There is WiFi in all the facility and the Hemingway bar is a most fabulous for a cold drink.

Room Tip: All the rooms and especially the once away from the Super Highway are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FavourSafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

As mentioned by others, we were booked here with SmarTours Kenya/Tanzania Wildlife Safari. We were originally supposed to be there two nights in the beginning and one night before our trip to Tanzania. We ended up with just one night in the beginning of our journey and one night on our return.

The hotel grounds are lovely and the hotel is really quite large. We found the breakfast buffet and the lunch buffet to be adequate and good (typical buffet fare really, but a lot of choices). On our return visit we had dinner at the Italian restaurant, which we enjoyed and found the food and service quite good.

Honestly, we were in the rooms for such a short period, that it's hard to be too judgmental. Both rooms were fine for the amount of time we were there.

We enjoyed a Tusker or three, sitting outside at the Hemingway Bar, which was nice and the service was prompt and friendly.

My average rating comes from their wifi charge. It just seems ridiculous to charge $25 for 24 hours. We weren't even there 24 hours either time. I don't really need wifi, so I didn't bother with it, it just annoyed me that there was this kind of charge. As another review noted, we stayed in 8 different hotels when we were on this trip, and there was not another hotel that ever charged for wifi.

I wouldn't be upset if we stayed there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jperkin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

We spent 3 days at the Safari Park Hotel at the beginning of a safari. The grounds are beautiful and we spent much time walking around to enjoy the landscaping. We enjoyed sitting on our balcony overlooking the gardens. The acrobatic show at the Nyama Choma restaurant was wonderful. The food was entirely focused on the meat dishes including skewers of camel, crocodile,lamb, etc. The portions of potato and vegetables accompanying the meat were very small. We found the food at the Italian restaurant and at Cafe Kigwa to be of very good quality. The beds were very hard but we used the duvet as a mattress cover and that worked well! My only complaint about this hotel is the exorbitant cost of the wi-fi ($25.00/night) and the reception was very poor. Often you could not get on the internet at all. We stayed in 8 different hotels in Kenya and Tanzania and the Safari Park was the only one to charge for internet and it had the poorest internet reception.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank B0bNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We booked a safari and this was the hotel that was booked for us on arrival to Nairobi, unfortunately we arrived late at night and had to leave early morning.
The grounds seemed well looked after very lush in appearance and as you walk in the main lobby there is a huge elephant statue in the middle, the whole place was very eye catching. Had breakfast in the morning and it was plentiful and delicious lots to choose from. Wished we could have stayed there for a full day to experience this hotel it is very appealing. Large rooms with netting around bed rustic looking rooms very cool.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Roblenore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#10 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview Hotel
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Sankara Nairobi
#11 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
The Boma Nairobi
#8 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Park Hotel

Property: Safari Park Hotel
Address: Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#24 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Safari Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘THE AFRICAN PARADISE’ Surrounded by 50 acres of beautifully manicured gardens, the Safari Park Hotel & Casino combines the elegance of African architecture and art with an infrastructure at the leading edge of technology. Located only 15 minutes from the Nairobi city centre, the hotel offers calmness and serenity away from the fast pace of the city. The five-star hotel boasts 205 luxurious rooms each with en-suite bathrooms, antique African-themed four-poster beds and furniture. All the rooms have rear and front private large garden view balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotelopia so you can book your Safari Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Park Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing