We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel NOT well situated for the airport!”
Review of Safari Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Safari Park Hotel
Ranked #26 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2010

The Safari Park Hotel was great for a one night stay prior to our safari - it is clean, safe, quiet and has a range of nice affordable restaurants. However, in zero traffic (Sunday afternoon) it's 45 minutes from the airport, and in rush hour (Monday morning) it's two hours away. If you're just looking for a place to rest for one night, I'd suggest that you find somewhere nearer to the airport.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank grg25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

464 - 470 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2010

We had two seperate nights at this hotel either side of our Safari trip. It is located on the outskirts of the city and is a fair distance from the airport as well. It is a large hotel which does seem to have a lot of conferences there so it does feel quite corporate.

But the rooms are large, we had room 900 on the second stay which is a lovely big suite with large terrace, large bathroom, beautiful super size four poster bed etc.
If you are there on the right evening you should definately see the african show, it's incredible and the food is very good too.

Two critisisms are as others have written, no money changing facility and the bedroom floors seem to be either diirty or they have waxed it/polished it and that comes off on your feet.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jidsprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

Stayed at this place for 5 days, enjoyed the peacefulness of the place. The gardens are amazing well kept. A wide varity of restaurants to choose from and the performace every evening at the African restaurant is amazing. Rooms were great, just the bathrooms keep some updating. Otherwise enjoyed the place.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oceans14_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2010

Aside from a casino, this huge theme hotel has many restaurants, bars, a large pool area , stages for performances which is just as well as it is miles from the centre of Nairobi and at least 1500 ksh to the airport...but having stayed at the in the centre and travelled around Kenya it was nice to get away from the city centre. We also appreciated the fact we could dress up and wear our watches etc around the hotel. A word of warning drinks and food are extremely expensive with lots of taxes added to everything. Surrounded by mostly European travellers I must it was nice to escape from African stress. Don't miss nice shops for holiday gifts its not as expensive as other tourist traps around Kenya and you can even barter. I wish I had done all my shopping here.

The grounds were impressively landscaped and for African standards the hotel and rooms were great complete with TV and mossie nets. All rooms also had a generous sized patio you can use to relax Good facilities, friendly staff, a variety of places to eat, clean, and most importantly safe. Great to relax after a long trip around kenyabut dont stay here forever explore, safari and do the beach. A great hotel here for business and pleasure and prob ideal for kids

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zzz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2010

I had an opportunity to stay at the hotel for 5 days recently and the compound (all 64 acres of it I'm told) is massive. It's obviously a theme hotel and quite well done with great consistency. The Safari Park has 5 restaurants, multiple bars, a fairly large pool area that has a lazy river and slide, a couple of stages for performances, and yes a casino. Good thing since the hotel isn't quite in downtown Nairobi.

The grounds were impressively landscaped and well maintained but I wish I could say the same for the rooms. They're clean but definitely showing age with the bathroom fixtures and paint peeling walls. No AC in my room but the weather was fantastic and all I needed was an open window. All rooms also had a generous sized patio you can use to relax (or dry your laundry).

All in all, a decent hotel. Good facilities, friendly staff, a variety of places to eat, clean, and most importantly safe.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skinsfan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

This hotel is situated in the outskirts of the city center,Though to make it to the hotel is crazy due to Construction of the adjacent road,I must admit that the hotel has a very big advantage of variety of meeting places and difference restaurants, The breakfast place was always packed waiters serving the best coffee you know!The service was exceptional. since i like the Italian meals,i had a date all the evening with the Hotels Italian restaurant.the manager always met us on arrival everyday and helped us in placing our orders,.
The food was always fresh ,staff friendly and helpful.The service at the Restaurant was super.
As i appreciate the co-ordination i saw in the restaurant, i recommend this hotel to all business travelers.

Though the rooms were not to the standard i appreciate the best services offered by the staff.
Whenever you visit safari park always make a date with the variety of the restaurants and your stay will never be the same again.
Something need to be done the internet is expeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeesive.
Van Rosh.

Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
1  Thank Vanish200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

I stayed for 7 nights. I find that the location is the greatest disadvantage of the hotel for those who want to go to town for nice food, shopping and sightseeing. For those who stay for a night in transit to safari, it is a relaxing place with a nice garden and lots of birds.

Here are details of my experience.
1. The hotel is located 30 min. (or longer) drive away from the city/shopping centres. There are nothing but petrol stations in the vicinity. It cost me 1200-1300sh by taxi, or 40-50sh by Matatu to the city centre.
2. The gym facility was available at 1000sh per day. Tennis court was available at a fee as well.
3. Swimming pools were free. One of the two swimming pools was ‘temporarily out of order’ during my stay.
4. A LAN cable for internet was available in my room, and internet cost 1000sh per hour.
5. There was an electric kettle, complementary Nescafe and tea bags, a fridge and a mosquito net in the room. One gets a bottle of water each day for free.
6. The garden is nice with lots of different types of trees. Many birds (such as bulbuls, robins, and mouse birds). The ‘jogging track’ is rather a footpath for walk around the garden. The walk is enjoyable.
7. Food is unfairly expensive, and one has no choice but to eat there unless catching a taxi to town. A bottle of Kenyan beer was 330sh, egg fried rice in the Chinese restaurant was 800sh. In the Italian restaurant, a pizza was 900-1000sh, two slices of tomato bruschetta were 680sh. The information sheet provided in the room said room service breakfast cost more than 600sh for just two farm eggs, and full breakfast cost 1400sh. Be ready to spend a lot of money for simple food.
8. The management and the staff looked indifferent in providing good services. Some examples: A cleaner was brushing a corridor between 3 and 6 pm while I was in my room and the water flooded inside my room. A waiter served canapé to a client with a full knowledge that a bird (or a few birds sometimes) had a few bites on it earlier. The carpet of the casino smelled soggy and the chairs of the bar were sticky. The hotel does not have a map of Nairobi town to help a tourist who wants to visit the town.
9. There is a ‘complementary shuttle’ to town on request. It leaves the hotel at 1000 and 1300. I used it a few times… It gave me only 3 hours to stay in town so after a few tries I took matatu instead. Taking matanu after dark is not recommended though.
10. Foreign currency exchange rate of the hotel did not seem competitive, and there was no ATM in the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greylourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#12 of 169 in Nairobi
1,085 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#4 of 169 in Nairobi
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,303 reviews
Hotel LaMada
#87 of 169 in Nairobi
12 reviews
The Boma Nairobi
#9 of 169 in Nairobi
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Park Hotel

Address: Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#24 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: £135 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Safari Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘THE AFRICAN PARADISE’ Surrounded by 50 acres of beautifully manicured gardens, the Safari Park Hotel & Casino combines the elegance of African architecture and art with an infrastructure at the leading edge of technology. Located only 15 minutes from the Nairobi city centre, the hotel offers calmness and serenity away from the fast pace of the city. The five-star hotel boasts 205 luxurious rooms each with en-suite bathrooms, antique African-themed four-poster beds and furniture. All the rooms have rear and front private large garden view balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Safari Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Park Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing