We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Detailed Review, and the catches you need to be aware”
Review of Safari Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Safari Park Hotel
Ranked #24 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Detailed Review, and the catches you need to be aware”
Reviewed 9 July 2010

There have been a lot of controversy going about this hotel, location, services, prices, purpose therefore I would like to add one more opinion which is mine :)

I travelled to Nairobi in May 2010 to attend conference at Safari Park Hotel, since I did not have a clue what is the most convenient method of commuting in Nairobi and especially that security is a concern my manager suggested I stay at same hotel where conference is being held.

My flight arrived around 8am in the morning, which is the peak of the morning rush hour, driver had to drive through the slums and take of shortcuts, the hotel turned out to be far from city centre, it took me about 2 hours to reach the hotel and I was charged 35USD for the ride.

Upon arriving at the hotel I was amazed by the area, and the truly African style. The staff was very friendly sent me to my room straight away. I couldn’t wait to explore the hotel especially that this is one of the few places where you could be walking freely without walking about the security.

I came across squash courts, tennis courts, alot of restaurants, bars and a casino. All the pathways, greenery, landscape are VERY IMPRESSIVE.

Shortly I knew that I was in a very luxurious prison, u are very far from any shops or markets so you have to buy everything from the hotel. You could not imagine how much they would charge for phone calls and internet, an hour's usage of internet is more expensive than a month's subscription fee in Kenya and the same applied for both local and international phone, my roaming didnt work for some reason. So if you are staying at Safari Park the first thing you should is to buy a local phone line and local data sim and make sure you put in them enough credit. You could find Safaricom offices at the airport.

Squash courts, gym, tennis courts, are all for a fee and it's not cheap(fer to hotels website), I didnt understand why is the gym for a fee, it’s a very primitive gym. The only the thing is inclusive is the breakfast anything else you will be ripped off. So if you need anything try to bring it with you from with you whenever you are at down town.

The restaurants are very good, especially the Nyoma Chama ranch, alot of my colleagues who went to carnivore said this is more or less the same except that at carnivoie you could get ripped off and it's at your hotel you so do not have to go anywhere. The show at this restaurant is great.

Italian resturant is also great.

As for business conference it was a pleasant experience as most of the other attendees where staying in the same hotel so you get an ideal chance to socialize and make business relations.

Going to the rooms, I did not see Air conditioners anywhere neither in the conference halls or the rooms. Rooms are fitted with mosquito nets and I barely came across any insects. It was not hot, I went during May which is winter, it was a bit chilly in the night which was perfect temperature for sleeping. I am person who finds it difficult to sleep when changing places but this room felt like home. I really have no clue what the do no in the summer.

This was my experience hope you find it useful, and I would definitely return to this hotel again :)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HussamK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    248
    98
    34
    17
See reviews for
57
113
33
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

The Safari Park Hotel was great for a one night stay prior to our safari - it is clean, safe, quiet and has a range of nice affordable restaurants. However, in zero traffic (Sunday afternoon) it's 45 minutes from the airport, and in rush hour (Monday morning) it's two hours away. If you're just looking for a place to rest for one night, I'd suggest that you find somewhere nearer to the airport.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank grg25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

We had two seperate nights at this hotel either side of our Safari trip. It is located on the outskirts of the city and is a fair distance from the airport as well. It is a large hotel which does seem to have a lot of conferences there so it does feel quite corporate.

But the rooms are large, we had room 900 on the second stay which is a lovely big suite with large terrace, large bathroom, beautiful super size four poster bed etc.
If you are there on the right evening you should definately see the african show, it's incredible and the food is very good too.

Two critisisms are as others have written, no money changing facility and the bedroom floors seem to be either diirty or they have waxed it/polished it and that comes off on your feet.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jidsprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lusaka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2010

Stayed at this place for 5 days, enjoyed the peacefulness of the place. The gardens are amazing well kept. A wide varity of restaurants to choose from and the performace every evening at the African restaurant is amazing. Rooms were great, just the bathrooms keep some updating. Otherwise enjoyed the place.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oceans14_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2010

Aside from a casino, this huge theme hotel has many restaurants, bars, a large pool area , stages for performances which is just as well as it is miles from the centre of Nairobi and at least 1500 ksh to the airport...but having stayed at the in the centre and travelled around Kenya it was nice to get away from the city centre. We also appreciated the fact we could dress up and wear our watches etc around the hotel. A word of warning drinks and food are extremely expensive with lots of taxes added to everything. Surrounded by mostly European travellers I must it was nice to escape from African stress. Don't miss nice shops for holiday gifts its not as expensive as other tourist traps around Kenya and you can even barter. I wish I had done all my shopping here.

The grounds were impressively landscaped and for African standards the hotel and rooms were great complete with TV and mossie nets. All rooms also had a generous sized patio you can use to relax Good facilities, friendly staff, a variety of places to eat, clean, and most importantly safe. Great to relax after a long trip around kenyabut dont stay here forever explore, safari and do the beach. A great hotel here for business and pleasure and prob ideal for kids

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zzz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2010

I had an opportunity to stay at the hotel for 5 days recently and the compound (all 64 acres of it I'm told) is massive. It's obviously a theme hotel and quite well done with great consistency. The Safari Park has 5 restaurants, multiple bars, a fairly large pool area that has a lazy river and slide, a couple of stages for performances, and yes a casino. Good thing since the hotel isn't quite in downtown Nairobi.

The grounds were impressively landscaped and well maintained but I wish I could say the same for the rooms. They're clean but definitely showing age with the bathroom fixtures and paint peeling walls. No AC in my room but the weather was fantastic and all I needed was an open window. All rooms also had a generous sized patio you can use to relax (or dry your laundry).

All in all, a decent hotel. Good facilities, friendly staff, a variety of places to eat, clean, and most importantly safe.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skinsfan07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2010

This hotel is situated in the outskirts of the city center,Though to make it to the hotel is crazy due to Construction of the adjacent road,I must admit that the hotel has a very big advantage of variety of meeting places and difference restaurants, The breakfast place was always packed waiters serving the best coffee you know!The service was exceptional. since i like the Italian meals,i had a date all the evening with the Hotels Italian restaurant.the manager always met us on arrival everyday and helped us in placing our orders,.
The food was always fresh ,staff friendly and helpful.The service at the Restaurant was super.
As i appreciate the co-ordination i saw in the restaurant, i recommend this hotel to all business travelers.

Though the rooms were not to the standard i appreciate the best services offered by the staff.
Whenever you visit safari park always make a date with the variety of the restaurants and your stay will never be the same again.
Something need to be done the internet is expeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeesive.
Van Rosh.

Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanish200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sankara Nairobi
#11 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#21 of 164 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#9 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Park Hotel

Property: Safari Park Hotel
Address: Thika Road, Kasarani | P.O. Box 45038, Nairobi, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#24 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Safari Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘THE AFRICAN PARADISE’ Surrounded by 50 acres of beautifully manicured gardens, the Safari Park Hotel & Casino combines the elegance of African architecture and art with an infrastructure at the leading edge of technology. Located only 15 minutes from the Nairobi city centre, the hotel offers calmness and serenity away from the fast pace of the city. The five-star hotel boasts 205 luxurious rooms each with en-suite bathrooms, antique African-themed four-poster beds and furniture. All the rooms have rear and front private large garden view balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline, Hotelopia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Safari Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Park Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing