We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to relax before it's late.”
Review of casablanca bar

casablanca bar
Ranked #454 of 557 Restaurants in Nairobi
Cuisines: Italian
Description: Well known nightspot next to Osteria restaurant
Restaurant details
Description: Well known nightspot next to Osteria restaurant
New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely place to relax before it's late.”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

So, I hang out here from 5:30-11 or so, pretty often. It is generally pretty empty during this time. The huge outdoor garden is lovely, the service is good, and they pack an excellent Shisha pipe. I am told the place turns into a crazy club on the late side, but for me, its a great place to relax and ready.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HookahMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesam Place to Party!!”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is My Favourite hangout/joint.I stay just nearby so i go there often.It's beautiful just as you enter to the left there's a garden with candles lit all over the place making it romantic.The ground is composed of beach sand.They have beautiful Arabic comfortable chairs so one feels relaxed.The inside is also the same,so relaxing.The music is Awesome and service is not that bad.I love their mojito.Best place to enjoy partying the whole night.It's just amazingly beautiful!! You can also order pizza while having drinks at the bar.Casablanca just Never loses its touch!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Serah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

the place is good and very big! the outdoor area is the best to be if not cold, i loved sitting by the fire. the food and beverages were a bit expensive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Well-known nightspot, very average”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

When I first arrived in Nairobi some years ago this was touted as one of Nairobi's hottest nightspots. I guess all things are relative, having come from living in Bangkok Casablanca is rather tame and pretentious. By and large it's a waste of time unless it's one of their big nights -- Friday or Saturday, or some special event. It's expensive, the service is lousy, the cocktails are nothing special. I particularly hate the payment system of paying for each round of drinks at the cashier before going over to the bar to order your drink. Doesn't really encourage tips. If you are sitting outside and order from the serving staff it's a little easier, but you'll still be paying in cash for each round. It's a major pick-up venue when it's firing on a busy night, there's a pumping dance floor and it has to be said plenty of eye-candy. It can be nice sitting outside on a cool evening by one of the bonfires in the garden, the sheesha is popular (not with me, why not go for the real thing?), but by and large pretty forgettable, even in Nairobi there are better nightclubs than this.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Standard Nairobi Swank”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

On weekdays, it's a nice place for a quiet drink. They often have cool events or music on the weekends. I like that the restaurant, bar, and outdoor seating are separated so you can sort of choose your own adventure, even when they're blasting music inside. Food and drinks are a bit pricey, but so far everything I've tasted has been good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ariel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed casablanca bar also viewed

 

Been to casablanca bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing