We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idea hotel for Nairobi transit”
Review of Eka Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Ranked #13 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Situated close to Jomo Kenyatta International Airport the Eka is an extremely modern and attractive medium sized hotel. The rooms are extremely well appointed and there is a pleasant bar and restaurant. There is also a very nice fast food steak house attached to the hotel where I had a truly excellent fillet steak. This is ideal for transit particularly for relatively tight turn rounds as it is easily accessible to the airport and central Nairobi traffic is truly horrendous.

Room Tip: Avoid the lower ground floor rooms as mobile telephone signals are hard to obtain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Robert,
Thank you for choosing Eka hotel and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We have since boosted the mobile phone network within the hotel and we will look forward to hosting you next time you are in Nairobi.

With Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

656 - 662 of 853 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Along Mombasa road which is a direct shot to the airport. The beds are extremely comfortable and rooms tastefully decorated. There is a restaurant upstairs, even though I never ate there. The breakfast was amazing with lots to choose from. The downside is the price....its a little on the higher end. I highly recommend if you can afford it

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mumias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear Mumias,

It was our pleasure hosting you and we appreciate your review of Eka Hotel. We look forward to another opportunity of service to you and friends in the near future.

With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I was transiting to Tanzania via Nairobi and the second leg flight did not arrive, so I had to spend he night in Nairobi. After so inquires, I was directed to Eka Hotel which turned out to be a clean and nice hotel in a quiet part of Nairobi. It is also very close to the airport so I had no problems arriving the airport the next day.

The staff were very friendly and willing to help, the food was also good

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayode Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Dear Kayode,

Thank you for your review of Eka Hotel. Its nice to know you enjoyed your stay in during your trip and it will be our pleasure to host you once again and your friends at Eka hotel.

With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I travel through Africa a lot - this month alone I will be transiting through Nairobi three times. On previous trips, I'd always stay at the Ole Sereni, an excellent hotel right next door to the Eka. But this month, it was fully booked - in fact all of the hotels I had stayed with in the past were fully booked on the dates I required. So, I tried Eka - a hotel that I had never even heard of before.

The hotel itself is about 1 ½ years old, so everything feels "newish". The security entering the facility was good, the doorman was friendly, and check in was easy and painless.

The rooms are nice - rainfall showers with good pressure and plenty of hot water, big bed, large windows that open, a desk that you can actually work at, and a nice flat screen television. There is no clock, which seems weird, but I guess that's why you have a phone and/or a watch. There is a safe in the closet and a nice assortment of bathroom toiletries.

The bed is probably the firmest that I have ever slept on without being uncomfortable. I have had back issues, so I'd much rather be firm than soft, so I didn't mind at all. Some people might not like it, but it is not lumpy - it is just really firm.

Breakfast is a good buffet, with made to order eggs and omelets and bacon. There is fresh fruit, pastries, yoghurt, cereals, juices, and coffee and tea. The dining area is sufficient for the need, never needing to search out an empty table.

The hotel can get you to and from the airport, which is probably the way to go - especially when you are first coming into the country. You won't have to change money, simply look for the uniformed driver holding the Eka Hotel sign with your name, and go to the hotel. I think the cost is $20 for the ride. Not as cheap as you can get if you know what you're doing with negotiating the cost (try for 1500 kes) but it is much less energy expended!

There is a small gift shop, and another restaurant that is kind of like a Chili's (if you know US brands). The bar isn't much, but you can get a cold Tusker and whatever else you are thirsty for, just don't expect a lounge environment.

The staff is tremendous and very helpful. I have my next trip already booked to return here. So, how does it compare to its neighbors? It is not as posh as the Ole Sereni, but definitely no where near as expensive, and it's also not as expensive as the Panari, but in my opinion far, far nicer.

So what's it like? Think of a Hampton Inn, with a really great breakfast, and a full kitchen, and you probably have it! It's all I need for a transit hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the door near the elevators. That can be a bit loud. Also, the rooms on most l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joesindorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Joesindorf,

Many thanks for your email and we are happy to know that you had a great stay at Eka hotel. We appreciate your outline of Eka and hope to be of service to you in your next trip.

With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed in the Eka hotel as a stopover for 18hrs or so as I was part of a flight crew.

I don't know how long this hotel has been here but it looks fairly new! It's clean, tidy, good size shower/bathroom area. Comfortable large bed. As people have said its close to the Main airport also close to Wilson Airport where most of the flights go from it flying onto a safari.

I didn't eat at the hotel but all looked very good, and also a 'Spurrs' restaurant on site.

Sadly the pool area was out of action as they were at the time doing a bit of re-ferb to slabs around the pool area. Defiantly could stay here as a base for a few night IF the pool wasn't out of action!
I would chose this over the Panari Hotel down the road!(I've also reviewed!)

Room Tip: Try and face away from main road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Neil,

Thank you for your review of Eka Hotel. Its nice to know you enjoyed your stay in during your business trip and it will be our pleasure to host you once again and your friends at Eka hotel.

With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed here on a stopover to Uganda. Very easy to get to from Jomo Kenyatta airport. About 15 mins on the road. Stayed for one night - rooms were clean, food good and check in and check out a breeze. As it's not in the city it's an easy commute as well.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Gareth E,

Many thanks for your email and we are happy to know you had a fruitful stay at Eka hotel. We appreciate your outline of Eka and hope will give us another opportunity of service to you and friends In the near future.

With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed for one night before beginning of safari holiday. Hotel is located about a 15-20min drive from the airport on the main route from airport to city.. Its not in the city at all, which i think is a bonus as it would any central city traffic snarls. Room was spacious, clean and appointed with all the things you basically need. No real view to speak of but we did arrive at 9pm and were gone by 7am so it wasn't important anyway. As others have noted in other reviews the place can be noisy.. as in you hear other room doors opening and closing, and given its used frequently for travellers like ourselves, its quite possible you will hear other persons enter / exit their rooms throughout night/early morning.. Its what it is, deal with it. Worth noting is that there is also a tex mex type restaurant attached to the hotel so if you arrived at night like we did it served perfectly acceptable food for a quick meal before going to bed.. Would recommend, and stay there again, if i had to do a similar trip..

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xmyass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Xmy,

We highly appreciate your choice to stay at Eka hotel and wish for another opportunity of service to you and friends.

With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.2 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#18 of 169 in Nairobi
1,347 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 169 in Nairobi
666 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Lazizi Premiere
The Lazizi Premiere
#30 of 169 in Nairobi
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#9 of 169 in Nairobi
517 reviews
3.0 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#16 of 169 in Nairobi
1,047 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eka Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka Hotel Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range: £122 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eka Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eka Hotel a Nairobi hotel is ideally located along Mombasa Road in Nairobi the capital city of Kenya. It is situated minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 5km from Wilson Airport and 5km from the bustling central business district. If you are looking for safari hotels, Eka Hotel is within easy access to the city’s many attractions and entertainment venues which make Eka Hotel an ideal safari accommodation hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Eka Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing