We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay for a stop over”
Review of Eka Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Ranked #15 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay for a stop over”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Before flying out to Masai Mara, my husband and I booked at EKA Hotel as we needed to stay a night in Nairobi; this hotel is located perfectly between the two airports. The hotel is modern, clean and the staff are really friendly. The breakfast was really good and the hotel has a SPUR; which was great. Rooms are clean and bed was comfortable.

The only thing is that there is nothing around the hotel; so I wouldn't recommend someone to stay here for your whole duration in Nairobi, but if you are only staying a night in Nairobi this is the hotel for you :).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelsea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Chelsea P,

We are delighted that you gave us an opportunity to host you.

Thank you for sharing your experience online. We appreciate the compliments. We look forward to being of service again.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    364
    104
    28
    22
See reviews for
107
199
59
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
194 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed here over a day instead of sitting at the airport between flight. The hotel is luxurious, safe and comfortable. I am not familiar with the pricings in Nairobi, but I expect it to be at the upper end. The location is maybe a bit far from the airport. For me next transit I will bring my swimming trunks to enjoy the pool...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Daniel,

We are delighted that you gave us an opportunity to host you.

Thank you for sharing your experience online. We appreciate the compliments and look forward to being of service again.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I am from Australia and I stayed at this Hotel for 4 Nights last November 2013 from the outside the Hotel looks good the Customer Service looks to be impressive smiling at everyone who passes by, but be careful and watch out about your credit card details, I paid by cash and also using my Debit mastercard , to find later on that they continued ripping off my Debit cards 5 months later , thousands of dollars were taken out by these Eko or ego Hotel after a long dispute Commonwealth Bank helped me to get back some money but the interest left with me was huge , so please be aware , my Name is Bisimua Toa and can be reached at toamudwanga@gmail.com

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bisimua M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Eka hotel.

We appreciate your feedback and we will always endeavor to improve in order to satisfy your needs and expectations. Your comments have been shared with our tram who will be in touch with you.

Thanking you for your support and we look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This place is a bit too fancy for me but it was great overall. Clean, comfortable, very safe.
The swimming pool a welcome remedy for my jetlag and the mini fitness center was also helpful. Breakfast was great too.
I used Kenya Fun Cab to come from the airport, funcabkenya@gmail.com; to be sure that I was the safest possible while traveling alone.
The bar is happening which is a problem when you might want to go to sleep as the pool view rooms also view all of the drunk business men carrying on and on. The parking lot view rooms were quieter.
The internet was a bit spotty for such a high class place.
Enjoy your travels!

Room Tip: Noisy on the inside at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilufoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Lulifoo,

Thank you very much for your review of your stay at Eka Hotel. We are happy you had a good stay despite the internet mishaps.

We have shared your comments with our team and measures have been taken to correct it.

Thank you and we look forward to your next stay.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at Eka for our last day & night after a 12-day safari, and we were pleasantly surprised at how amazing it was. The rooms were great, the decor in the hotel is very tasteful, and the restaurant had some of the best food we'd had to date. The hotel looks pretty plain from the outside so we weren't expecting an amazing experience, but boy were we in for a surprise. Eka is a wonderful place and we'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear JZ,

We are delighted that you gave us an opportunity to host you.

Thank you for sharing your experience online. We appreciate the compliments. As promised, visit us again in future and let spread the word about us.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

On our trip to Nairobi for the start of our safari,we had the pleasure of staying in this great hotel for 2 days prior,and 2 days at the end.
I would have to say that safety was paramount in this hotel complex staff, and meals brilliant,as was the cleanliness of the rooms
Well done EKA and 10 out 0f 10

beveric Bunbury West Australia

Room Tip: on 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beveric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Beveric,

Thank you for visiting Kenya and for choosing to stay at Eka Hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you had a great time. We have shared your comments with the team and look forward to hosting you in your next visit!

Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a perfect events venue away from the hustle of the central business district. The quality of service and friendliness of staff makes it ideal. Proximity to the airport makes ideal for transit passengers or those on short stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DennisKeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Denis,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Eka Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We look forward to having you back with us on your next visit!

Warmest Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Ole Sereni
#16 of 164 in Nairobi
1,252 reviews
The Boma Nairobi
#8 of 164 in Nairobi
622 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lazizi Premiere
#13 of 164 in Nairobi
55 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eka Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka Hotel Nairobi

Property: Eka Hotel Nairobi
Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Eka Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eka Hotel a Nairobi hotel is ideally located along Mombasa Road in Nairobi the capital city of Kenya. It is situated minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 5km from Wilson Airport and 5km from the bustling central business district. If you are looking for safari hotels, Eka Hotel is within easy access to the city’s many attractions and entertainment venues which make Eka Hotel an ideal safari accommodation hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Eka Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing