We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service for a stopover hotel”
Review of Eka Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Ranked #14 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, CA
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 461 helpful votes
“Excellent service for a stopover hotel”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed June 28 on a "day rate" prior to a late night departure from JKIA. Staff and service are excellent. The housekeeper couldn't do enough to make the room perfect, even though we were there for only 6 hours. This level of attentiveness is particularly commendable, considering the nature of Eka Hotel as, for many guests, a convenient stop near the airport, either the night of arrival, or the day before leaving Nairobi.

This is also what gives this hotel an energetic and fun atmosphere. There are many tourists, heading off for Kenya trips, or having just arrived from "safari" providing a sort of happy conversational buzz in the lobby, with good natured staff adding to this atmosphere.
The Golden Spur is a good place to get food like burgers, fries, cappuccino. The gift shop is beautifully laid out, and well priced. i recommend either saving your shopping for there, just prior to departing Nairobi, or at least, if it is your first stop, checking out the prices and goods so you'll have an idea of what is reasonable as you travel 'round.

The room was clean and modern, with the "luxury" of well-working wifi after days without it in tented camps. There is in-room tea and coffee, and bottled water. Beds are comfortable. My only recommendation would be to place a curtain in front of the glass wall between the bathroom and bedroom for more privacy.

Note: there is quite a bit of road construction near the hotel, so in daytime, you might arrive after encountering lots of traffic and construction dust and debris.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calinurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Calinurse,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and your outline of Eka Hotel as it helps us to improve our services.

We are happy that your stay was very comfortable as we met your expectations.

We look forward to being of service to you and your family again in the near future.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    377
    105
    28
    23
See reviews for
111
209
65
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I booked the hotel to surprise my husband on his birthday and I wasn't disappointed at all and was worth every coin! The lunch was awesome. The Chef gave is a star and very passionate about his work. He gave us personalized services and the food was fantastic!!!! Waiters were hand-on and actually sung when bringing the bday cake!! The room was spotlessly clean and very neat....Kudos to the Housekeeping team!

I did not know what to expect but I can say I was blown away being their hospitality and passion for their work! Well done Eka!!

Room Tip: Suites are very spacious and cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Shiro M,

We appreciate your feedback as it helps us monitor and improve our services. It is nice to know that you had a great time and we appreciate your outline of Eka Hotel.

We look forward to being of service to you in your next visit.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Paula, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This is a very modern hotel with easy access to the airport. Perfect for a short stay in Nairobi. The food was great. But the swimming pool is freezing and the beds are very very hard, so I did not get very good sleep after the long flight.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Joseph,

We appreciate your feedback as it helps us monitor and improve our services.

Thank you once again for staying with us and we look forward to your return visit.

Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Close to airport and to business parks arround Monbasa road make the hotel convenient for few days trip in Nairobi.
Fore more details come there to drink a coffee!
(Software is asking me for 200 characters and this is what I am doing here.)
See you there!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Laura,

We highly appreciate your choice to stay at Eka Hotel and wish for another opportunity to be of service to you and family/friends.

With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel is closer to the airport and that's probably one of the best thing about this hotel. Rooms are average and service could be better. And reaching city or visiting other places like Masai Mara, Mount Kenya etc. is painful as you need to cross the busy traffic area all the time. Food is O.K. But staff is confused and needs grooming specially if you compare with Serena group of hotels, which we used during our trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Royadip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Eka hotel.

We appreciate your feedback and we will always endeavor to improve in order to satisfy your needs and expectations.
Thanking you for your support and we look forward to hosting you again.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DFW
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed here before and after our safari and would definitely stay here again. The hotel room and entire hotel were very clean. It was quiet as well. One of my favorite features was the shower which was large and had the rainfall type of fixture. This hotel is very modern and comfortable, service is friendly and efficient. It is on the outskirts from the central district, but very convenient to the airport. The beds were good, there was television and free Internet in the room as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanDFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Susan,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Eka. We are glad to know you had a good experience at our property.

Thank you for sharing your experience with the online world and we look forward to hosting you in your next visit.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Close to the airport and quite new, this modern hotel is great if you're getting into Nairobi late or leaving early in the morning. Only downside is that the bathroom doesn't have a separate door. The shower and toilet each have smoked glass doors so you have limited privacy.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Reisenfreudige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Reisenfreudige,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and your outline of Eka Hotel as it helps us to improve our services.
We look forward to being of service to you again in the near future.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Ole Sereni
#17 of 164 in Nairobi
1,273 reviews
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
633 reviews
The Lazizi Premiere
#13 of 164 in Nairobi
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,269 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
The Heron Portico
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eka Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka Hotel Nairobi

Property: Eka Hotel Nairobi
Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Eka Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eka Hotel a Nairobi hotel is ideally located along Mombasa Road in Nairobi the capital city of Kenya. It is situated minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 5km from Wilson Airport and 5km from the bustling central business district. If you are looking for safari hotels, Eka Hotel is within easy access to the city’s many attractions and entertainment venues which make Eka Hotel an ideal safari accommodation hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Eka Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing