We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at EKA Hotel”
Review of Eka Hotel Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Ranked #13 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

In June 2014 I travelled for the first time to Nairobi and stayed at the Ole Sereni. On my 2nd trip to Nairobi in August 2014 I opted to stay at the EKA Hotel in Nairobi. The EKA Hotel and the Ole Sereni are situated close to one another. The hotel is situated halfway between the airport and Nairobi City Centre. Traffic is crazy in Nairobi so the EKA Hotel is well located. There is a spur restaurant on site at the hotel. The EKA Hotel is a fairly new hotel so the furnishing and rooms are modern which I like. Had a good shower and toilet and shower are separate from each other. The staff in general are very friendly. There is complimentary wifi throughout the hotel which is a great plus. When I checked I got a small room that window faced the conference room so absolutely no privacy. I complained was told that there were no other rooms but after about an hour the Manager assisted me and I got a lovely spacious pool facing room. The negatives are: no conditioner on offer, only shampoo and body wash. No disposable razors. My last night at the hotel I had no sleep due to mosquitoes even though I had mosquito spray on and throughout my duration of my stay never opened my bedroom window. I think when they clean your room they leave door open and mosquitoes entered. The EKA Hotel is more pricey than the Ole Sereni. The EKA Hotel's breakfast was basic and not worth the price I paid as my room rate did not include breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fuzlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2014

Dear Fuzlin,

Thank you for taking time to give feedback about your recent stay at Eka Hotel. We appreciate the feedback as it helps us improve service offering to all our guests.

We have noted and your comments and shared with our Executive Housekeeper for action to ensure your next stay, and that of all other guests is memorable.

Thank you and we hope to see you soon.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

570 - 576 of 852 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Conveniently located about 15 min drive to/from the airport . A modern hotel with good facilities and clean rooms . The dinner and breakfast was a bit disapointing and lacks choice .
Sleep quality is very good with speedy wi fi services .
Overall I thought it was a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2014

Dear Nigel R,

Thank you for taking time to post your review about your recent stay at Eka Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My sons and I stayed here three times as a part of a 13-day Go-Ahead / Vintage Africa tour package.

Very modern hotel. Excellent security. Convenient to the airport. Great rooms. Friendly staff. Good food. Outstanding WiFi.

Unfortunately, the beds are very hard and the environment very noisy. Heavy fire-resistant doors slam shut with a thud that can be heard from one end of the hall to the other at all hours of the night. Chairs screeching on the faux hardwood floors also a major deterrent to sleep.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an inside room or street noises will exacerbate the noise problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Retiredandlovingit06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.

I have shared your feedback with our team to look into the concerns and put corrective measures to ensure your next stay is great and memorable.

We look forward to hosting you again.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Stayed here one night before heading out on safari. Very fancy hotel located on the side of the highway and beside a concerted construction site. It was a pretty standard hotel with a restaurant, bar and pool, but too far to just go for a walk or to go shopping. Taxis are expensive to just tour around and if if you just want to walk, or browse or buy a snack etc, there is no where to go. The room was very modern and clean and the hot water plentiful. I requested a wake up call for the morning which I didn't get, and woke up with 5 minutes to get ready to leave for my flight. When I called the front desk to prepare me something to take with me (breakfast is included in room price), I was told I was welcome to come down and do it myself! What started as attentive service when I arrived quickly dissolved as I scrambled to make my flight. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lisa1422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2014

Dear Lisa,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback.

Our sincere apologies on the inconveniences caused during your stay. Eka Hotel surely does not stand for it and we will make every possible effort to fix it.

Please do consider our services in future as I assure you of superior service levels.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Stayed at EKA overnight waiting for the rest of my travel group to arrive. As a single female traveler with no experience traveling on the African continent, I wanted to find a comfortable hotel that was relatively close to the Nairobi airport and would be easy for a newbie traveler to get to and feel safe. I had arranged for hotel to pick me up from the airport and was greeted by a smiling hotel representative at the outside pick up aisle despite my overly delayed arrival time. EKA was a short drive from the airport (approximately 15 minutes late at night) and I was pleased to find that the hotel was gated and that security checked the driver's paperwork before allowing us entry into the parking lot (this, even though we were driving a marked EKA hotel vehicle). The interior was designed with a modern, boutique feel, and the room was nicely appointed and clean. The only complaint was that the power cut off a few times during the evening, with some outages lasting more than 10 minutes. I'm not sure if this is a EKA hotel issue or a Nairobi locality issue, but it was disconcerting to find myself showering in the pitch black. The breakfast buffet was also very good with a nice variety of foodstuffs for those of us with dietary restrictions. Overall, I was well pleased and would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable stay close to the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcshortie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Mcshortie,

We are delighted that you gave us an opportunity to host you.

Thank you for sharing your experience online and apologize for the inconvenience caused by the power outage which has been addressed. We appreciate the compliments and look forward to being of service again.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Good modern hotel located on the Nairobi-Mombasa highway in Nairobi City. Good rooms with modern amenities. Very nice restaurant with a great breakfast buffet spread. Convenient located only 15 mins from the airport.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debdutta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Debdutta,

We highly appreciate your choice to stay at Eka Hotel and wish for another opportunity to be of service to you and family/friends.

With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at EKA overnight before flight to the Maasai Mara. It's an airport hotel, basically it's ok but obviously nothing special. Location is close to both the main n the safari airports but appalling traffic means the transfer still takes up to an hour in morning rush hour. The walls and ceilings are paper thin and you hear constant noise if u stay on the LG floor. We kept hearing what sounded like pins dropping on the floor of the room above us. Followed by every now n again a loud crash waking us up. We were probably below the kitchen. No noise really from adjacent guest rooms but a constant racket in the corridor. If u have earplugs it will be ok.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony_newman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EkaHotel, Manager at Eka Hotel Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Tony,

Thank you for choosing Eka Hotel and we are glad to have your feedback as this helps us improve our services to make your next stay more comfortable.

We look forward to hosting you next time you are in Nairobi.

With warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.2 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#17 of 169 in Nairobi
1,345 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 169 in Nairobi
666 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Lazizi Premiere
The Lazizi Premiere
#30 of 169 in Nairobi
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#9 of 169 in Nairobi
515 reviews
3.0 mi away
InterContinental Nairobi
InterContinental Nairobi
#16 of 169 in Nairobi
1,045 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eka Hotel Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eka Hotel Nairobi

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00506, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range: £122 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eka Hotel Nairobi 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eka Hotel a Nairobi hotel is ideally located along Mombasa Road in Nairobi the capital city of Kenya. It is situated minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, 5km from Wilson Airport and 5km from the bustling central business district. If you are looking for safari hotels, Eka Hotel is within easy access to the city’s many attractions and entertainment venues which make Eka Hotel an ideal safari accommodation hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Eka Hotel Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing