We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top quality hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boma Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Boma Nairobi
Ranked #7 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Top quality hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Two night stay whilst transiting through Nairobi. This hotel was a very enjoyable experience. Very large and well furnished room, modern bathroom with tub and shower, comfortable bed, and very clean. The breakfast was excellent.

One problem that I experienced consistently, however, was that hot water takes too long to come through to the room (several minutes). One maintenance problem that I reported late at night was rectified within 10 minutes.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank grahamstansfieldking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    188
    38
    17
    4
See reviews for
79
136
43
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Found the Boma to be expensive in comparison to other hotels in Nairobi, but the service was out of this world, the food fantastic and the facilities excellent. The amenities was clean, easily accessible and the staff sincere and eager to help and assist. Rooms are spacious and well organised and caters superbly for business travel. Showers needs a rethink in terms of size and practicality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deon63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I have stayed in three other hotels near JKIA, Nairobi and was keen to try the Boma. The key to this hotel is the VERY friendly staff and management. I was reliably met from JKIA on arrival and the car and driver were of a high standard. The rooms, spa, restaurants and general quality of the Boma are very impressive and the location is in a calm area with good access to Wislon Airport, JKIA and the city centre. The hotel overlooks the Nairobi National Park. I travel constantly and this one of the few times that I have been determined to write a review. A fantastic hotel !!

Room Tip: Make sure you have good WiFi coverage in your room. A booster is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at The Boma. Nice room, great bed and good shower. The staff are very helpful. The restaurants serve very nice food. I used the gym and the pool and had a wonderful massage. And profits go to the Red Cross. A good deal all round.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tattie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

The service was amazing, food great, comfort level wonderful and only a short drive to the airport using the hotel car for $20. They even provided a boxed breakfast when we had an early start to catch our flight. The only minor complaint would be that the showers were not great and we were looking forward to this after staying in very basic places before this.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

I had a great stay there, staff friendly great breakfast, great rooms. lovely place i wish i would have stay there longer, i was in kenya for 3 months after two i move here best choice i made its a really quiet and wonderful place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sinreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

First, it is worthy of note that I travel specifically for business and Nairobi is always my transit point - in other words, I only spend max two nights in Nairobi before proceeding to my next destination.

Now with respect to the Boma, first they have excellent internet and I an never disconnected from the world when I am at this hotel and what is even more delightful is that it is free.

Next the rooms are exactly 5star standard. Extremely clean, beautiful and cosy. You will find that you can really rest when you enter that room.

Food: In general I am not a very adventurous eater so I eat only what I am familiar with. That said, everything thing I have eaten at the BOMA is spectacular. Kudo's to the chef!!!

Customer Service is spectacular; all of them. The receptionist work really fast to get you into your room. I must praise them especially for their extreme professionalism and high customer service skills. Once I arrived at the hotel and my online reservation had not reached them. They still immediately checked me in while they sought things out. I was incredibly impressed. Some other hotels would just keep you standing in the lobby even after you present them with your booking print out. All hotels where I had had this kind of treatment, I have vowed never to return to even if they were the last choice - in which case I will rather sleep under a bridge or on the floor at the airport,

The Boma guys really know how to treat their customers and I am most assuredly confident that you will love it. It is a full 5star hotel and the price is the best you can get anywhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony_T_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.8 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#13 of 164 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#14 of 164 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
4.0 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
8.9 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boma Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma Nairobi

Property: The Boma Nairobi
Address: Red Cross Road, South C | off Popo Rd, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Boma Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality has now become a new front in the fight against human suffering. Kenya Red Cross Society has taken this concept to the next level with the launch of The Boma Nairobi. This is a luxury deluxe hotel with an adjoining conference centre offering world-class hospitality, having every penny of profit funding the KRCS’s humanitarian work. This is 'hospitality with a conscience.' ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Boma Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing