We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great views”
Review of Hemingways Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hemingways Nairobi
Ranked #1 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We're regulars at Hemingways and went again on Sunday for a birthday celebration, the food is excellent, the ambiance is super. The only thing they must do is serve the food more quickly once it gets to you, nice to have personal service but it takes time to get all the bits in front of you when you're 5 diners.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (507)
There are newer reviews for Hemingways Nairobi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

456 - 462 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I had the pleasure of dining with my husband at Hemingways on his birthday. The service was excellent and the food was great. Hemingways were even kind enough to offer my husband a complimentary chocolate cake to spice up the evening. Thanks to all who made it happen.

It's a pity it was raining heavily so we didn't get a chance to take a walk around the property to appreciate the serenity.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for privacy and class.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Betty200810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Hemingways for a practically one month while volunteering. The hotel is simply gorgeous and the balcony views are magical. The staff at Hemingways is by far the best service I have ever experienced (and I travel a ton). The staff became my second family and literally made me feel every day like I was coming home. The restaurant is amazing. I would encourage anyone who travels through Nairobi to stay at the Hemingways- you will not be disappointed. I call it a little slice of heaven!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cpipia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The grounds are truly beautiful and stunning. The rooms are amazing. Best of all is the amazing service from the staff at the hotel. Couldn't think of a more relaxing place in Nairobi at the moment. Truly spectacular.
David

Room Tip: Choose a first floor room to get a great view of the sunset on the Ngong Hills
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I've been to Hemingway's twice for dinner and both times I've been very impressed with the food and service. I've had the slow cooked beef each time and it is just mouth-wateringly good. Writing this review is tempting me to get in my car and drive over there for dinner right now. I would highly recommend dining at Hemingway's to anyone. The hotel and Brasserie have some questionable design choices, but that slow cooked beef makes up for any other flaws. It is THAT good.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Meg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We had seen Hemingways featured in a prominant luxury magazine in Australia and decided to book a special dinner at the restaurant before departing on safari.

After the recent Westgate Mall terrorism attacks, our group was cautious of travel as tourists (white) in Nairobi. We asked Hemingways if they could assist us with organising a transfer vehicle from our hotel in Hurlingham (another suburb in Nairobi) to dinner in Karen and back.

Hemingways offered us a rate of USD $250 for a group of 7 people to travel this distance (return). I asked if this was a normal rate and the hotel concierge at Hemingways assured me it was.

When we arrived in Nairobi we discovered that a more appropriate rate would be somewhere between USD $5-10 for our group transport.

We were outraged that Hemingways were so comfortable in ripping us off, taking unfair advantage of tourists on their first visit to Nairobi. Not only did they refuse to amend the bookings, they also hassled us to leave the restaurant early, requiring us to finish our dinner prematurely, because their 'driver' was tired and wanted to leave.

Absolutely unacceptable.

That said, the food was delicious - although the waitstaff were not very aware of the ingredients listed on the menu and should be more informed in future, given the luxury status of this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jess M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Jess M

Thanks for your feedback . With regard to the transfers; these were sub-contracted by us for you at your request and the price quoted to you prior to your acceptance. Additionally we organised for 2 vehicles with drivers to pick you up from your hotel 21km away and bring you to Karen, wait for you and take you back to your hotel hence the cost. Please be assured we have no intention to rip off tourists or anyone for that matter. May I point out that the rate you quote of $5-$10 would not get 8 people more than a stone's throw from your hotel let alone to Karen.

That said; I am glad you enjoyed your meal and hope you will visit us next time you are in Nairobi.

Best Regards

Simon H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I just returned from 2 weeks in Kenya, volunteering in a few different places. Due to a few issues with our housing, we booked a few nights at the Hemingways while we worked during the day. I am only 27 but have traveled quite a bit in my life and I can honestly say I have yet to stay at a hotel this amazing. The staff were amazingly attentive and took a genuine concern in how we were. They cared about us and took interest in our work and projects each day - welcoming us when we returned at the end of the day, and ensuring we were having nothing but a perfect visit.

I have never written a review on TripAdvisor but was so moved by my stay at the Hemingways, I just knew I had to. This is a hotel I know I will be returning to in the future. The staff is amazing, grounds are immaculate, rooms spacious and well-decorated, and food was incredible.

Bravo to this lovely hotel and all of its staff!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kassie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 167 in Nairobi
1,285 reviews
Fairmont The Norfolk
#10 of 167 in Nairobi
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 167 in Nairobi
1,162 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#6 of 167 in Nairobi
926 reviews
The Heron Portico
#7 of 167 in Nairobi
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingways Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Nairobi

Address: Langata Road | Karen Office Park, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 167 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range: £392 - £506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hemingways Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, Hemingways Nairobi has a sophisticated and tranquil ambiance. Set between Nairobi National Park and the foot of the Ngong Hills, Hemingways Nairobi is an exclusive 5* luxury boutique hotel located in the peaceful suburb of Karen far from the bustle of central Nairobi. An all-suite property providing full butler service, a brasserie, a sunset bar and lounge and a spa, this plantation style property is perfectly placed for trips to Nairobi National Park, the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust and the capital. Each of the 45 suites is a generous size with en-suite bathrooms with walk-in closets, personalised mini bars, and a private terrace with magnificent views of the iconic Ngong Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hemingways Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing