We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spa centre is a real treat”
Review of Hemingways Nairobi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hemingways Nairobi
Ranked #1 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spa centre is a real treat”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

First trip to the Spa centre at this very stylish Hemmingways Hotels today. A slice of calm and relaxation out of town from busy Nairobi. Loved every minute of the treatments I had. Staff were lovely. Prices competitive. And the small touches, like fresh fruit and herbal tea, just added up to a wonderful experience. A delicious lunch with the Ngong Hills in the background where Karen Blixen and Denis Finch-Hatton rode on horseback (or Meryl Streep and Robert Redford to you and me) just rounded it off. I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    74
    27
    7
    8
See reviews for
86
156
16
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Amazing hotel! Delicious food, very friendly staff and the rooms are amazing!! TV pops up from a steamer trunk from the old days! Very cool! Restoration Hardware decor. Beautiful! The grounds/landscaping is beautiful too. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank momof3boyz1dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

So was at Hemingways for one night, two days on a corporate retreat. Arrived early morn day 1 and check in was painless, and quick. Next meal was lunch, where they served a lousy buffet. Dinner was a la care, and I ordered the steak as did many others, having heard their steaks are good. The skinny piece of meat served to me was not a steak, but rather a hard offcut from some unknown animal. Never again! Breakfast day 2 was very good, and the buffet lunch had improved given we gave feedback about day 1.

The rooms are amazing, desserts are reasonable...service is very haphazard.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KulaRaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear KulaRaha

As you rightly mention you stayed with us on a conference package that includes a buffet lunch, the menus are themed and pre-agreed with our guests before the event. As you expressed disappointment with your menu we changed the pre-ordered menu for the next day and I am glad you approved of it the next day.

Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Hemingways is not the normal sort of place I stay at when I'm in East Africa - but in a really good way!

From the tall airy ceilings, the sloping manicured lawns, the tasteful aesthetic, and the amazing food to the tight security and unobtrusive but attentive staff, this was the nicest place I've ever been to for a 4-day development assistance workshop!

It's about 45 minutes to an hour from the airport, and essentially outside of Nairobi in the hills above it - which at the moment seems like a reasonable sort of way to be in Nairobi, but not IN Nairobi.

The area is named Karen, after Karen Blixen, the Danish author who wrote Out of Africa, and the hotel captures the sense of colonial Kenya of which her book is so redolent. There are black and white photos on the wall of Karen and others with all manner of animals, large colour painting posters of African savannah sunsets, and the whole building structure hearkens back to an earlier time. The question of whether that era should be lauded in this manner at this uneasy time in Kenya's history is an entirely different matter - the fact is, Hemingways does it, and they do it in style.

There is also a clever blending of a sense of this time gone by with lovely high-end technology; my favourite example is a UHD TV which springs out of a large leather trunk at the push of a button!

I didn't get to try either the pool or the gym (the pool looked lovely nestled amongst trees and fountains) but two other highlights - Wednesday night is steak night and they do AMAZING steaks, all cuts and from the best provenances (only minor criticism - constructive of course! - is that you do have to emphasise very clearly how you want your steak cooked - I'm a blue kinda guy, and the kitchen needed a couple of goes to get this right); and you get your own assigned butler, who will unpack and pack and iron and and and - again very un-PC, but VERY lovely.

So, should you go there - of course you should! Should you take a moment - or many moments - to think about what is happening outside of this lovely oasis? Up to what sort of person you are I guess, but life in Kenya is not all beer and skittles, as they say, and alot of the current dramas could be attributed to the very period this wonderful place harks back to.

Room Tip: get one on the ground floor - to be honest they're all awesome, but the ones on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spiceoflives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Lina and I would like to thank Johnson and all the staff helping to make Lina's stay on her birthday extra special. We were both thrilled about the numerous pleasant surprises. The mini conference with Lina's colleagues from several countries in Africa, which was the reason she spent her birthday there, was also a great success and all nine visitors were very impressed by the hotel and its offerings.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BjornHallberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
233 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I say low expectations after our high expectations before going to hemming ways Watamu last year, where we had heard all sorts of good things about the place before going. So, again, we were expecting the same kind of feeling this time but, thank goodness, we were very pleasantly surprised. Location, layout, interiors, food, service were all exceptional. Nairobi needed a place like this - well done! Prices a bit too steep, but I'm sure they'll align with the rest of the up-market places of Nairobi in a year or two. Wonderful otherwise.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amrita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Amrita J

We are glad we have raised the bar in terms of standards in Nairobi as well as with your expectations for your next visit.

Please do visit us again and let us know how it went; feel free to ask for me on your next visit; would be great to meet.

Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Piece of heaven. Great suit rooms, great butler service, just in a wonderful garden. Close to karen bilsen s house museum and farm.
There is a pick up service if you donat want to walk! The spa and open swimming pool, what else one may ask
Im so spoiled here, dont want to go back home.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank DYGS_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H, General Manager at Hemingways Nairobi, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear DYGS_2011

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit again soon. Thanks for your kind sentiments.

Regards

Simon H
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
8.7 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
8.9 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
8.1 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
8.5 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#4 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#8 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingways Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Nairobi

Property: Hemingways Nairobi
Address: Langata Road | Karen Office Park, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hemingways Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World, Hemingways Nairobi has a sophisticated and tranquil ambiance. Set between Nairobi National Park and the foot of the Ngong Hills, Hemingways Nairobi is an exclusive 5* luxury boutique hotel located in the peaceful suburb of Karen far from the bustle of central Nairobi. An all-suite property providing full butler service, a brasserie, a sunset bar and lounge and a spa, this plantation style property is perfectly placed for trips to Nairobi National Park, the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust and the capital. Each of the 45 suites is a generous size with en-suite bathrooms with walk-in closets, personalised mini bars, and a private terrace with magnificent views of the iconic Ngong Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hemingways Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing