We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karen Country Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I have been to the lodge on a few occasions for meals and drinks at the restaurant. I always wondered when and where they were putting up the accomodation area because I thought it was going to be a lovely place to have a get away.
I found out while browsing that they had actually set up the lodge and had cottages available.
Arrived late afternoon after making a call early in the week to check availability.
The rooms are just lovely. Set up on raised wooden cottages. They are tastefully decorated, the bathroom beautiful, with twin rain showers and claw foot bathtub.
They have an option of a fire being lit for you if the room gets too cold. There is a little kitchenette that allows for coffee making and a small fridge too. Each has a small verandah that one can sit out in and relax while reading, having a drink or just napping.
The cottages are arranged in a way that there are those that are closer to the dam, and those a level higher. There are beautiful glass decorations along the path to the accomodation area, Dan I believe they are going to keep changing the place with new ideas.
The only problem I noted was the stench from the dam, and the mosquitoes. Yes, each cottage has an electric trap and insect repellant spray but I believe a net would be very useful in preventing the mozzie nuisance.
The breakie was served by polite staff, and on being received during check in, the service was commendable.
Noted that we didn't get a clear indication of check out time, but the staff were so accommodating it was refreshing.
I would definitely recommend the lodge and would also definitely make another visit.
They have special rates for residents, great plus for that!!!!,

Room Tip: The cottages further from the dam though restricted view may be better until they clear the dam, and...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderlustciru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2014

Wanderlustciru thank you for your positive review.We will consider your concern with out most importance.You are welcome to enjoy our products again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for Karen Country Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 87 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2013

Karen Country Lodge what can I say, hospitality at its best!!
The food, atmosphere, room, grounds and staff are all the best of quality!!
Warm wood burning fires in the rooms at night and breakfast in bed in the morning.
What more can one want?
I will be back again and again !!

Room Tip: Ask to use a fishing rod as the little lake is full of fish!!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HGHAKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2014

We are glad you enjoyed.welcome once again HGHAKJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

When I traveled to Nairobi last month, I was told to stay in a nice, safe district called Karen. While researching lodging options I was faced with choices that were scary in both price and aesthetic ! Just when I thought I'd have to get ripped off or... on the other extreme, camp out- I found the perfect place - an oasis called... The Karen Country Lodge !!! A unique,gem and an excellent value for the money- well worth it !l The property is adorned with glass sculptures,mobiles, and related art created by an artist who has her studio on the property. My A- framed modern dwelling was situated by a pond and surrounded by vessels turned every which way containing an eclectic mix of herbs, flowers , rocks and found objects. Besides the visual delight, the staff and service was excellent, friendly, helpful and supportive. One rainy, chilly evening the manager came by and set up a fire for me in my fireplace ! The only downside is there are no screens on the windows to really enjoy the fresh air and no mosquito net - rather, they use some kind of electric mosquito catcher which did not help! I wish they would forgo a bit of design and add nets. Since nothing is ever perfect- i still rate this place as excellent !!!!

Room Tip: rooms by the pond have the best view
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2014

We at Karen Country Lodge were happy to host you.Thank you for your positive review and we shall consider your suggestions.We look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Karen Country Lodge was the first place my daughter and i stayed after we arrived in Nairobi, and it was a very nice welcome! The individual cottages are extremely well furnished, and the unique showers and bath tub give you the impression you're in a 5-star resort!

We loved watching the monkeys while eating the full breakfast served the next morning, and we were extremely impressed with the quality of the staff and service. My email queries were always answered promptly, and everything was just as they said it would be.

We will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WoofWoof763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2014

We at Karen Country Lodge are happy to have hosted you.Thank you for your positive review on our property.We are looking forward to host you again when you come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Karen Country Lodge. The rooms are really spacious, décor is spectacular and the bed comfy. Breakfast was good, we had everything we needed. Dinner was delish and the service was very attentive. The décor in the restaurant is very original and the atmosphere in both the bar and restaurant was very welcoming and friendly. They even set up a sunset champagne picnic for us in the wonderful green, lush secret forest gardens. We arranged a trip to visit the elephant orphanage and the giraffe center which is well worth doing. We would defiantly return to the fabulous hotel again and again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMKoyao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2014

We at Karen Country Lodge are glad to have hosted you.Thank you for your positive review and we hope to host you again in future.Welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle Cottages sind gleichwertig in Lage, Größe und Ausstattung.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tl502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
2.3 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 167 in Nairobi
508 reviews
7.4 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 167 in Nairobi
1,287 reviews
7.6 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#7 of 167 in Nairobi
502 reviews
6.3 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Nairobi Hurlingham
9.8 mi away
Ole Sereni
Ole Sereni
#15 of 167 in Nairobi
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karen Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karen Country Lodge

Address: Warai South Road | 24390, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 213 Speciality Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range: £147 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the leafy- green, Karen suburbia rests an eclectic leisure haven. Draped in modern, chic decor, this once colonial bungalow radiates a stunning, serene ambiance that captivates any audience. Sip a cocktail in the luscious, vibrant gardens or host a conference in this tranquil refuge. Surround yourself in serenity, let go in classic comfort in our chic boutique cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Agoda, Jovago.com and Booking.com so you can book your Karen Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing