We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant! V friendly and relaxing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Karen Country Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Dulverton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant! V friendly and relaxing.”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Gorgeous, cosy rooms - we stayed in a cottage. Friendly staff and fantastic owners - we really felt at home; the staff and owners couldn't help us enough! V relaxing and beautifully appointed rooms and gardens. Imaginative and fun decor in dining room; great location. Definitely will go again! Lucy

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2014
Thanks Lucy for your positive review and you are most welcome to stay at the cottages again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    16
    0
    4
    4
See reviews for
13
18
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The restaurant and rooms are cozy and decorated in the most amazing way. Walking around the grounds is like being transported into a magical garden. The rooms are big and modern with everything you could need. The food is the best I have had in Nairobi and the staff were extremely helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fraserkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2014
We are glad that you could visit us.Karen Country Lodge was happy to host you and you are most welcome once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

This lodge has a nice feel to it with interesting glass artwork scattered about the place, works of art & bits & pieces to enjoy throughout the establishment. The staff are friendly willing to bend over backwards for you (cooking us a late meal even though the kitchen was closed).
The rooms are clean & serviced everyday to a high standard.
If you like a dark room this is not the place for you as it's quite bright in the morning, however if you like a spacious bathroom with a bath tub to soak in all your dreams will come true.
I wasn't a fan of the food here it never quite got past the average point but our overall experience was enjoyable

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country Lodge, responded to this review, 17 November 2014
Thank you Janis for your positive review You are welcome again and this time the food will be much better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

An absolutely brilliant place to stay, friendly staff, good food and drink, peaceful surroundings and stunning rooms. Rob and Georgina are great hosts, nothing is too much of a problem for them. I would definately recommend Karen Country lodge to anyone who is looking for a nice relaxing stay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank melanie i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2014
We at Karen Country Lodge are very glad to have hosted you.We appreciate your positive feedback and invite you to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Enjoyed a wonderful few days at Karen Country Lodge. Excellent food, great service and a lovely atmosphere. Nothing was too much trouble. Enjoyed lolling by the pool and strolling in the gardens in the evening. I would definitely recommend KCL to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday and a fab time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2014
We at Karen Country Lodge are glad that you had a great stay in our Lodge.We appreciate your feedback and welcome you again to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Went there with my friends for the weekend and had a great time. The staff are super friendly and the service is really good. It's in a nice peaceful area called Karen and as soon as me and my friends got there we felt relaxed. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NoahRO90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2014
Karen Country Lodge is glad to have hosted you and your friends for that weekend.Thank you for your positive response and we hope to host you again.Welcome anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelspruit, Mpumalanga, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Had a really good night at Karen Country Lodge. Had a very good dinner, headed down to the rooms, where there was a fire already made, making the room very warm, good atmosphere. The service as very good, we were looked after very well throughout our stay. This is a perfect spot, will defiantly be coming back here whenever i am in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Room 5 nice very in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2014
Karen Country Lodge is glad to have hosted you.Thank you for your positive response and you are most welcome when you come back to Nairobi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
2.3 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 164 in Nairobi
469 reviews
3.5 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#18 of 164 in Nairobi
250 reviews
8.0 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,259 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#4 of 164 in Nairobi
467 reviews
7.6 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karen Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karen Country Lodge

Property: Karen Country Lodge
Address: Warai South Road | 24390, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 202 Speciality Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the leafy- green, Karen suburbia rests an eclectic leisure haven. Draped in modern, chic decor, this once colonial bungalow radiates a stunning, serene ambiance that captivates any audience. Sip a cocktail in the luscious, vibrant gardens or host a conference in this tranquil refuge. Surround yourself in serenity, let go in classic comfort in our chic boutique cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Jovago.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Karen Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing