We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Grounds, Lovely Cottages”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Karen Country Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Morogoro, Tanzania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Grounds, Lovely Cottages”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here for a weekend in July 2013 for a change from the other hotel I was living in during my time in Nairobi.

The cottage was just lovely-lots of room (bed & separate sitting area), fireplace and a small kitchenette (fridge and hot water kettle). The bathroom was to die-for, with a claw-foot tub, which I regret not using while I was there. A front porch to sit on and relax was an added bonus!

The only negative is that I loved this place so much that I wanted to move to it for the rest of my time in Nairobi. I made arrangements with the woman at reception, agreed on a price and made arrangements to move over a few days later. The day before, the woman calls me and tells me that she couldn't honor the price, leaving me in a bit of an awkward situation, but luckily my existing hotel had room for me to stay.

The breakfast was good and the bar had a nice atmosphere. Live music is available on some nights. I went here a few other times for meals and always enjoyed the plates.

It's located a bit off the beaten path, but is easily accessible via taxi to the Giraffe Center, Karen Blixen Gardens and some really tasty restaurants like Talisman and Que Pasa. A bit of a walk to the Karen Shopping Center where there is a Nakumatt (grocery store), Dorman's (coffee shop) and a variety of other shops and restaurants, but a taxi should only cost you around 200 Kenyan Shillings.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank azwildcat02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2014
Thank you for your positive review.Welcome once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    16
    0
    4
    4
See reviews for
13
18
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Had the worst experience eating here. From the service to the food. Did not get welcomed by anyone when we got in. Sitting down on the table we had to wait more than 30 min to get our orders. after which the drinks and starters took so long. Asking for jikos was a hastle. Main course took nearly an hour and even when it came it was the worst food we ate. Wouldn't recommend this place to anyone!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyndah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedidah N, Employee at Karen Country Lodge, responded to this review, 11 November 2014
We are very sorry for your bad experience..all these things have been changed and improved on completely.You are most welcome again to enjoy our excellent services.This time things will be amazing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dulverton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Gorgeous, cosy rooms - we stayed in a cottage. Friendly staff and fantastic owners - we really felt at home; the staff and owners couldn't help us enough! V relaxing and beautifully appointed rooms and gardens. Imaginative and fun decor in dining room; great location. Definitely will go again! Lucy

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2014
Thanks Lucy for your positive review and you are most welcome to stay at the cottages again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

The restaurant and rooms are cozy and decorated in the most amazing way. Walking around the grounds is like being transported into a magical garden. The rooms are big and modern with everything you could need. The food is the best I have had in Nairobi and the staff were extremely helpful and welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fraserkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2014
We are glad that you could visit us.Karen Country Lodge was happy to host you and you are most welcome once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

This lodge has a nice feel to it with interesting glass artwork scattered about the place, works of art & bits & pieces to enjoy throughout the establishment. The staff are friendly willing to bend over backwards for you (cooking us a late meal even though the kitchen was closed).
The rooms are clean & serviced everyday to a high standard.
If you like a dark room this is not the place for you as it's quite bright in the morning, however if you like a spacious bathroom with a bath tub to soak in all your dreams will come true.
I wasn't a fan of the food here it never quite got past the average point but our overall experience was enjoyable

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country Lodge, responded to this review, 17 November 2014
Thank you Janis for your positive review You are welcome again and this time the food will be much better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

An absolutely brilliant place to stay, friendly staff, good food and drink, peaceful surroundings and stunning rooms. Rob and Georgina are great hosts, nothing is too much of a problem for them. I would definately recommend Karen Country lodge to anyone who is looking for a nice relaxing stay.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank melanie i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2014
We at Karen Country Lodge are very glad to have hosted you.We appreciate your positive feedback and invite you to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Enjoyed a wonderful few days at Karen Country Lodge. Excellent food, great service and a lovely atmosphere. Nothing was too much trouble. Enjoyed lolling by the pool and strolling in the gardens in the evening. I would definitely recommend KCL to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday and a fab time.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedidah N, Guest Relations Manager at Karen Country Lodge, responded to this review, 19 November 2014
We at Karen Country Lodge are glad that you had a great stay in our Lodge.We appreciate your feedback and welcome you again to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
2.3 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
7.4 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#4 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
3.5 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#14 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 161 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
7.6 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
10.4 mi away
Ololo Safari Lodge
Ololo Safari Lodge
#3 of 198 in Nairobi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karen Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karen Country Lodge

Property: Karen Country Lodge
Address: Warai South Road | 24390, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 198 Speciality Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the leafy- green, Karen suburbia rests an eclectic leisure haven. Draped in modern, chic decor, this once colonial bungalow radiates a stunning, serene ambiance that captivates any audience. Sip a cocktail in the luscious, vibrant gardens or host a conference in this tranquil refuge. Surround yourself in serenity, let go in classic comfort in our chic boutique cottages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Agoda, Jovago.com and Odigeo so you can book your Karen Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing