We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Manyatta Backpackers
Ranked #69 of 202 Speciality Lodging in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“awesome”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

You should go. Their space used to be Milimani backpackers. There's internet and beer and it's centrally located. Everyone is very nice and friendly and I reviews must be at least 200 characters. 5 more

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manyatta Backpa... S, Front Office Manager at Manyatta Backpackers, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thanks for staying at Manyatta Backpackers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    25
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
2
7
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Manyatta Backpackers is located in a safe area of Nairobi, near the State House. The property is fenced in and provides a small breakfast with your stay. Communal bathrooms (not a lot of hot water for showers) and clean bunk rooms. Friendly and helpful staff, cheap and easy to access nearby restaurants and downtown.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marthapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manyatta Backpa... S, Manager at Manyatta Backpackers, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for your response. We have noted your concern on breakfast and made adjustments to it. On the hot water, we use instant water heaters and depending on the pressure at times the water doesn't heat properly. We shall be making all our guests aware of how to turn the water to the correct pressure to be able to enjoy the warm showers.

Thank you for staying at Manyatta Backpackers, we welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I have stayed at Manyatta Backpackers twice now and the second time only got better. (The fridge happened to be not working during my first stay). They have an on site kitchen that you are able to order chips/fries, burgers, or fish from as well as breakfast in the morning (which is minimal, but included). There was a good selection of cold water, beer, and soda. The place was no-frills but had everything you needed. The bathroom was communal, but had nice toilets with working plumbing, solo showers, and never had an issue with water. They also have a nice common room with free wifi (which is good when there aren't too many people on it at once) and a TV with satellite. It felt very safe and they had a locked gate and night watchman. It's about a 10-15 minute walk from the city centre down Kenyatta Ave. The beds were decent and I was sharing a room with friends, so my sleep was fine. The owner and staff are extremely helpful and friendly - I would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKR10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2013

I have nothing but good things to say about Manyatta's! I traveled with a group of friends throughout Kenya and we'd return to Nairobi a number of times and each time, we stayed at Manyatta's. Such wonderful hospitality and warmth from every single person that works there!

The rooms are nice and clean. The beds the most comfortable I slept on in Africa! So awesome. And the rooms (especially the communal area) is just decorated so brightly and beautifully. Campire outside was also great for getting to know the other travelers staying at the hostel.

Short walk to Uhuru Park and the city centre.

Love, love, love Manyatta's!! Our home in Nairobi!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Having spent two months traveling around East Africa, I had quite the task of finding a place to stay each night. In my time in all of Kenya, Uganda, and Rwanda, I never found a place as welcoming, fun, and incredibly safe as Manyatta Backpackers. Located within walking distance of downtown Nairobi, you are given breakfast, WIFI, warm showers, and running toilets (something you will rarely find in most hostels) in the area. The wonderful people that own the hostel genuinely want to make the most of your stay and will go out of their way to make anyone feel comfortable. I couldn't possibly rave enough about this establishment. You won't regret staying here!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Filterforgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manyattabackpackers, Owner at Manyatta Backpackers, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thanks for staying with us and appreciate your comments. We hope to see you back next time you visit Kenya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Seldom Hotel
#103 of 164 in Nairobi
5 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Decasa Hotel
Decasa Hotel
#90 of 164 in Nairobi
45 reviews
Nairobi Transit Lounge
#16 of 202 in Nairobi
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hope Guest Hotel
#53 of 202 in Nairobi
3 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
#11 of 261 in Nairobi
151 reviews
Wildebeest Eco Camp
#2 of 261 in Nairobi
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manyatta Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manyatta Backpackers

Property: Manyatta Backpackers
Address: Milimani Road | Nairobi, Kenya, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 202 Speciality Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manyatta Backpackers is located on the serene leafy suburbs of Milimani only 30 minutes from JKIA, 15 minutes from the City Centre and 5 minutes walk from State House. We offer bed and breakfast to backpackers.We have a capacity to hold 30 people within the house. Our rooms comprise of Single, Double, Dual, 4 persons dorm, 6 persons dorm, with shared washrooms and 8 persons dorm which has it own wash room. We have a common comfortable sitting room and dining area. Outside the house there is a Restaurant which serves freshly prepared food, with an open fire place to keep warm on cold nights and a bar which serves a variety of alcoholic, and non alcoholic drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Manyatta Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing