We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous value for money in east Africa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manyatta Backpackers
Ranked #68 of 198 Speciality Lodging in Nairobi
Scotland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Tremendous value for money in east Africa”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This is a very cheap option for staying in Nairobi. Of course there will be reviewers who think that whatever they pay, you should get the standards of the Hilton. And you don't. But what you do get is friendly staff, safety and security, a central location, hot showers, a basic breakfast, your laundry done really well (that costs extra) and good free WiFi. Is it a bit grubby in the corners, a few things needing some paint, a socket or two not working, yeah maybe, but for what you are paying, it's a straight 5***** from me. Would I return? Yes!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrrlstephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manyatta Backpa... S, Front Office Manager at Manyatta Backpackers, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your response in regards to your recent stay at Manyatta Backpackers and safaris. We endeavor to provide each of our guests a clean and comfortable place to stay. We are glad that you felt you received the worth of your money.

We have however dedicated more time to cleaning our compound and done some repairs. To make it better for anyone who stays with us.

We will be glad to host you again, the fireplace is great as always.

Thank you
Manyatta Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    25
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
2
7
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed here one night in a private double and then got the heck out.

The entire place is pretty dirty, in a state of disrepair and the staff was extremely unfriendly.

The beds (and pillows) were hard as rocks and one of the beds in our room had a broken frame so every time we sat on it, the mattress fell through on one side.

Our door did not go from floor to ceiling, leaving about a 4 inch gap at the top. Furthermore, the door did not fit the frame so we had to kind of lift and slam it simultaneously in order to get it to close.

The bathrooms have a "church basement" sort of feel (as if they were built 50 years ago and not touched since) - the toilets and showers are harbored by 2x4's and sawed-off wooden doors.

There are holes in the window screens and there aren't any mosquito nets so before bed, we spent a good hour killing mosquitos in our rooms/burning incense to smoke them out. The walls looked like a murder scene by the time we were done squashing mosquitoes on them.

Contrary to another review, there isn't any concentration of restaurants nearby (or ATM's) - the walk to the heart of CBD will take you a good 20 minutes.

On the positive side, this place seems to be located in a safe (for Nairobi) neighborhood and they have a TV with lots of channels and decent wifi.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlustful18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manyatta Backpa... S, Front Office Manager at Manyatta Backpackers, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your response in regards to your recent stay at Manyatta Backpackers and safaris. We endeavor to provide each of our guests a clean and comfortable place to stay. We regret we were not able to able to meet your expectations.

We have however dedicated more time to cleaning our compound and done some repairs. To make it better for anyone who stays with us. We are glad though that you felt safe and the WIFI was great.

You are welcome to stay again and see the difference.

Thank you
Manyatta Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Manyatta Backpackers is basic, but value for money. The very friendly staff makes you feel welcome and they'll help you out with whatever you need. We also did trips to Mount Kenya and Masai Mara with Manyatta Backpackers and both trips worked out great. If you needs a simple friendly place in Nairobi, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikolaj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manyatta Backpa... S, Guest Relations Manager at Manyatta Backpackers, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our Hostel. We liked the mood you brought too. You are welcome again and again when you come back to Kenya. Karibu sana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I backpacked through East Africa for two months and Manyatta Backpackers was my transition, go to place. I started calling it my home away from home and with good reason too! The owner and staff are really nice. I always felt welcomed, safe, and comfortable!

You get a free breakfast when you stay there, which was always yummy. They even have free Wifi, which is rare. It is communal bathrooms (single stalls). Sometimes the water wasn't the warmest, but truly that is my only complaint.

It is also not to far away from downtown Nairobi. I always walked from the hostel and it took maybe 10 minutes.

I also used the safari service to go to the Elephant Orphanage!

Room Tip: There is one room in the hostel that has it's own bathroom. I lucked out a couple of times and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manyatta Backpa... S, Front Office Manager at Manyatta Backpackers, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thanks for staying at Manyatta Backpackers. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciated your business thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed 20 January 2014

You should go. Their space used to be Milimani backpackers. There's internet and beer and it's centrally located. Everyone is very nice and friendly and I reviews must be at least 200 characters. 5 more

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manyatta Backpa... S, Front Office Manager at Manyatta Backpackers, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thanks for staying at Manyatta Backpackers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Manyatta Backpackers is located in a safe area of Nairobi, near the State House. The property is fenced in and provides a small breakfast with your stay. Communal bathrooms (not a lot of hot water for showers) and clean bunk rooms. Friendly and helpful staff, cheap and easy to access nearby restaurants and downtown.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marthapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manyatta Backpa... S, Manager at Manyatta Backpackers, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for your response. We have noted your concern on breakfast and made adjustments to it. On the hot water, we use instant water heaters and depending on the pressure at times the water doesn't heat properly. We shall be making all our guests aware of how to turn the water to the correct pressure to be able to enjoy the warm showers.

Thank you for staying at Manyatta Backpackers, we welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I have stayed at Manyatta Backpackers twice now and the second time only got better. (The fridge happened to be not working during my first stay). They have an on site kitchen that you are able to order chips/fries, burgers, or fish from as well as breakfast in the morning (which is minimal, but included). There was a good selection of cold water, beer, and soda. The place was no-frills but had everything you needed. The bathroom was communal, but had nice toilets with working plumbing, solo showers, and never had an issue with water. They also have a nice common room with free wifi (which is good when there aren't too many people on it at once) and a TV with satellite. It felt very safe and they had a locked gate and night watchman. It's about a 10-15 minute walk from the city centre down Kenyatta Ave. The beds were decent and I was sharing a room with friends, so my sleep was fine. The owner and staff are extremely helpful and friendly - I would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKR10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Nairobi Transit Lounge
#14 of 198 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Khweza Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 255 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mdawida Homestay
#14 of 255 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Wildebeest Eco Camp
#2 of 255 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Hope Guest Hotel
#52 of 198 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manyatta Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manyatta Backpackers

Property: Manyatta Backpackers
Address: Milimani Road | Nairobi, Kenya, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 198 Speciality Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manyatta Backpackers is located on the serene leafy suburbs of Milimani only 30 minutes from JKIA, 15 minutes from the City Centre and 5 minutes walk from State House. We offer bed and breakfast to backpackers.We have a capacity to hold 30 people within the house. Our rooms comprise of Single, Double, Dual, 4 persons dorm, 6 persons dorm, with shared washrooms and 8 persons dorm which has it own wash room. We have a common comfortable sitting room and dining area. Outside the house there is a Restaurant which serves freshly prepared food, with an open fire place to keep warm on cold nights and a bar which serves a variety of alcoholic, and non alcoholic drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Manyatta Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing