We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Manyatta Backpackers
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$227
US$201
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eka Hotel Nairobi(Nairobi)
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ole Sereni(Nairobi)
US$252
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$218
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$334
US$272
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$138
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$301
US$244
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
16
27
14
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
27
14
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree and fast wifihot waterhostelkenyainternetanimals
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

First of all, this is a really cheap hotel so you do get what yo pay for! Its located about 20min from the city center (by walking). The rooms are basic and quite worn but the sheets and linens are clean. Hard pillows thou. The bathroom (shared with others) is old to say the least but it does the job, quite cold showers though. The big upside is the friend staff! Breakfast was fruit and some panncakes.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manyatta Backpa... S, Front Office Manager at Manyatta Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for taking you time to review Manyatta Backpackers. We are glad you chose to stay with us.

We welcome you to stay again.

Thank you
Manyatta Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Upon arriving here, as a single female traveller, mid-20s, I came here and spent the entire day because it was so relaxing from the Nairobi hustle and bustle. Located just 20 minute walking from the City Centre, it's among large trees and in a safe neighbourhood, quiet and lots of nature.

There's a kitchen and though they have a menu they will make you anything you ask for at a really great price in comparison to Nairobi food prices. The breakfast in the morning is pancake with tea, coffee and a fruit, tasty and ready for you at anytime.

The wifi slows when there are a lot of people online and sometimes you have to turn the router on and off but 24 hours a day it works very well and I have heard it is the best in Africa from some of the travellers here!

I was in a female dorm room that fits up to 10 women, it's nice space and comfortable beds with a private bathroom that always has hot water and extra toiletries left from previous guests. The couch is really comfy in the living room and the cable is minimal but good with movies.

I spend most of my time outside as the wifi extends onto the whole property where I can watch a movie under the stars or in the sun and weekends I hear African music playing in the hotel next door.

There is a rooster that crows in the early morning and I got used to its sound so I slept through by the second night. There are kittens in the woodpile, hawks eating breakfast with you from the trees and a great fire pit to sit by at night with a fully working bar. I really love this place and am staying over 3 weeks here now that I've found it, it is quiet and they do your laundry at a good Nairobi price too.

I travelled with a lot of photography equipment and a guitar and it was always completely safe, they made sure to lock my door when I forgot and always made sure I was safe and gave great directions!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chelseavix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manyatta Backpa... S, Front Office Manager at Manyatta Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for your response in regards to your recent stay at Manyatta Backpackers and safaris. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had good WIFI most of the times,.

You are welcome to stay again and enjoy the fireplace and a beer!

Thank you
Manyatta Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This is a very cheap option for staying in Nairobi. Of course there will be reviewers who think that whatever they pay, you should get the standards of the Hilton. And you don't. But what you do get is friendly staff, safety and security, a central location, hot showers, a basic breakfast, your laundry done really well (that costs extra) and good free WiFi. Is it a bit grubby in the corners, a few things needing some paint, a socket or two not working, yeah maybe, but for what you are paying, it's a straight 5***** from me. Would I return? Yes!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrrlstephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manyatta Backpa... S, Front Office Manager at Manyatta Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for your response in regards to your recent stay at Manyatta Backpackers and safaris. We endeavor to provide each of our guests a clean and comfortable place to stay. We are glad that you felt you received the worth of your money.

We have however dedicated more time to cleaning our compound and done some repairs. To make it better for anyone who stays with us.

We will be glad to host you again, the fireplace is great as always.

Thank you
Manyatta Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed here one night in a private double and then got the heck out.

The entire place is pretty dirty, in a state of disrepair and the staff was extremely unfriendly.

The beds (and pillows) were hard as rocks and one of the beds in our room had a broken frame so every time we sat on it, the mattress fell through on one side.

Our door did not go from floor to ceiling, leaving about a 4 inch gap at the top. Furthermore, the door did not fit the frame so we had to kind of lift and slam it simultaneously in order to get it to close.

The bathrooms have a "church basement" sort of feel (as if they were built 50 years ago and not touched since) - the toilets and showers are harbored by 2x4's and sawed-off wooden doors.

There are holes in the window screens and there aren't any mosquito nets so before bed, we spent a good hour killing mosquitos in our rooms/burning incense to smoke them out. The walls looked like a murder scene by the time we were done squashing mosquitoes on them.

Contrary to another review, there isn't any concentration of restaurants nearby (or ATM's) - the walk to the heart of CBD will take you a good 20 minutes.

On the positive side, this place seems to be located in a safe (for Nairobi) neighborhood and they have a TV with lots of channels and decent wifi.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlustful18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manyatta Backpa... S, Front Office Manager at Manyatta Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for your response in regards to your recent stay at Manyatta Backpackers and safaris. We endeavor to provide each of our guests a clean and comfortable place to stay. We regret we were not able to able to meet your expectations.

We have however dedicated more time to cleaning our compound and done some repairs. To make it better for anyone who stays with us. We are glad though that you felt safe and the WIFI was great.

You are welcome to stay again and see the difference.

Thank you
Manyatta Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Manyatta Backpackers is basic, but value for money. The very friendly staff makes you feel welcome and they'll help you out with whatever you need. We also did trips to Mount Kenya and Masai Mara with Manyatta Backpackers and both trips worked out great. If you needs a simple friendly place in Nairobi, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikolaj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manyatta Backpa... S, Guest Relations Manager at Manyatta Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our Hostel. We liked the mood you brought too. You are welcome again and again when you come back to Kenya. Karibu sana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews