We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant place but not so pleasant staff member” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manyatta Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manyatta Backpackers
Ranked #70 of 198 Speciality Lodging in Nairobi
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Pleasant place but not so pleasant staff member”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Pros: Nice, pleasant place; hot showers; free and fast WiFi; good value for money. Breakfast is included, which makes it convenient and they also have a restaurant that offers affordable meals - great French fries! The staff is generally friendly except for one.

Cons: The jovial atmosphere is only ruined by a rude, sour, hostile cleaning lady with a permanent scowl on her face. Ruined our day each time we encountered her.

Room Tip: You may want to shake off the beddings before nestling in. Mine were full of dust which led to sever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomadike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manyatta Backpa... S, Front Office Manager at Manyatta Backpackers, responded to this review, 16 October 2014
We are glad that you Stayed at Manyatta Backpackers and experienced several good things about the Hostel. We endevour to provide Simple, Clean and pleasant environment for our guests all the time. We have taken note of you feedback and are now training our staff to be courteous and helpful to all our guests.

We hope you could visit another time and enjoy your stay and Wi fi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    25
    13
    8
    5
See reviews for
2
7
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Really good place and the staff are super friendly and sorted out my climb up Mount Kenya which was perfect. My only main criticism of this place was that I thought it was expensive for what you get ($15 for a dorm, the most I paid for a dorm on my trip)... however having said that I had just come from Ethiopia where everything is cheaper and I know Kenya is more expensive. Other than that this place is very good. They organised my climb as I said and my guide Paul was brilliant, friendly and had perfect english. The food is basic but its cheap and pretty tasty and they keep you safe in a town that has a dubious reputation. I went back after my climb and would go back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danbarclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manyatta Backpa... S, Front Office Manager at Manyatta Backpackers, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking your time to review Manyatta Backpackers.

We are glad you enjoyed the climb. and found our place good. We welcome you back

Manyatta Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiruna, Sverige
Level Contributor
231 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

First of all, this is a really cheap hotel so you do get what yo pay for! Its located about 20min from the city center (by walking). The rooms are basic and quite worn but the sheets and linens are clean. Hard pillows thou. The bathroom (shared with others) is old to say the least but it does the job, quite cold showers though. The big upside is the friend staff! Breakfast was fruit and some panncakes.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manyatta Backpa... S, Front Office Manager at Manyatta Backpackers, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking you time to review Manyatta Backpackers. We are glad you chose to stay with us.

We welcome you to stay again.

Thank you
Manyatta Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Upon arriving here, as a single female traveller, mid-20s, I came here and spent the entire day because it was so relaxing from the Nairobi hustle and bustle. Located just 20 minute walking from the City Centre, it's among large trees and in a safe neighbourhood, quiet and lots of nature.

There's a kitchen and though they have a menu they will make you anything you ask for at a really great price in comparison to Nairobi food prices. The breakfast in the morning is pancake with tea, coffee and a fruit, tasty and ready for you at anytime.

The wifi slows when there are a lot of people online and sometimes you have to turn the router on and off but 24 hours a day it works very well and I have heard it is the best in Africa from some of the travellers here!

I was in a female dorm room that fits up to 10 women, it's nice space and comfortable beds with a private bathroom that always has hot water and extra toiletries left from previous guests. The couch is really comfy in the living room and the cable is minimal but good with movies.

I spend most of my time outside as the wifi extends onto the whole property where I can watch a movie under the stars or in the sun and weekends I hear African music playing in the hotel next door.

There is a rooster that crows in the early morning and I got used to its sound so I slept through by the second night. There are kittens in the woodpile, hawks eating breakfast with you from the trees and a great fire pit to sit by at night with a fully working bar. I really love this place and am staying over 3 weeks here now that I've found it, it is quiet and they do your laundry at a good Nairobi price too.

I travelled with a lot of photography equipment and a guitar and it was always completely safe, they made sure to lock my door when I forgot and always made sure I was safe and gave great directions!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelseavix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manyatta Backpa... S, Front Office Manager at Manyatta Backpackers, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your response in regards to your recent stay at Manyatta Backpackers and safaris. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and had good WIFI most of the times,.

You are welcome to stay again and enjoy the fireplace and a beer!

Thank you
Manyatta Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

This is a very cheap option for staying in Nairobi. Of course there will be reviewers who think that whatever they pay, you should get the standards of the Hilton. And you don't. But what you do get is friendly staff, safety and security, a central location, hot showers, a basic breakfast, your laundry done really well (that costs extra) and good free WiFi. Is it a bit grubby in the corners, a few things needing some paint, a socket or two not working, yeah maybe, but for what you are paying, it's a straight 5***** from me. Would I return? Yes!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrrlstephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manyatta Backpa... S, Front Office Manager at Manyatta Backpackers, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your response in regards to your recent stay at Manyatta Backpackers and safaris. We endeavor to provide each of our guests a clean and comfortable place to stay. We are glad that you felt you received the worth of your money.

We have however dedicated more time to cleaning our compound and done some repairs. To make it better for anyone who stays with us.

We will be glad to host you again, the fireplace is great as always.

Thank you
Manyatta Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed here one night in a private double and then got the heck out.

The entire place is pretty dirty, in a state of disrepair and the staff was extremely unfriendly.

The beds (and pillows) were hard as rocks and one of the beds in our room had a broken frame so every time we sat on it, the mattress fell through on one side.

Our door did not go from floor to ceiling, leaving about a 4 inch gap at the top. Furthermore, the door did not fit the frame so we had to kind of lift and slam it simultaneously in order to get it to close.

The bathrooms have a "church basement" sort of feel (as if they were built 50 years ago and not touched since) - the toilets and showers are harbored by 2x4's and sawed-off wooden doors.

There are holes in the window screens and there aren't any mosquito nets so before bed, we spent a good hour killing mosquitos in our rooms/burning incense to smoke them out. The walls looked like a murder scene by the time we were done squashing mosquitoes on them.

Contrary to another review, there isn't any concentration of restaurants nearby (or ATM's) - the walk to the heart of CBD will take you a good 20 minutes.

On the positive side, this place seems to be located in a safe (for Nairobi) neighborhood and they have a TV with lots of channels and decent wifi.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlustful18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manyatta Backpa... S, Front Office Manager at Manyatta Backpackers, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for your response in regards to your recent stay at Manyatta Backpackers and safaris. We endeavor to provide each of our guests a clean and comfortable place to stay. We regret we were not able to able to meet your expectations.

We have however dedicated more time to cleaning our compound and done some repairs. To make it better for anyone who stays with us. We are glad though that you felt safe and the WIFI was great.

You are welcome to stay again and see the difference.

Thank you
Manyatta Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Manyatta Backpackers is basic, but value for money. The very friendly staff makes you feel welcome and they'll help you out with whatever you need. We also did trips to Mount Kenya and Masai Mara with Manyatta Backpackers and both trips worked out great. If you needs a simple friendly place in Nairobi, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikolaj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manyatta Backpa... S, Guest Relations Manager at Manyatta Backpackers, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our Hostel. We liked the mood you brought too. You are welcome again and again when you come back to Kenya. Karibu sana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
2.1 mi away
Seldom Hotel
Seldom Hotel
#79 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Heron Portico
The Heron Portico
#4 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.0 mi away
Reata Serviced Apartments
Reata Serviced Apartments
#37 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hope Guest Hotel
Hope Guest Hotel
#64 of 198 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
3.3 mi away
Mdawida Homestay
Mdawida Homestay
#18 of 250 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.7 mi away
Khweza Bed & Breakfast
Khweza Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 250 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manyatta Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manyatta Backpackers

Property: Manyatta Backpackers
Address: Milimani Road | Nairobi, Kenya, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 198 Speciality Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manyatta Backpackers is located on the serene leafy suburbs of Milimani only 30 minutes from JKIA, 15 minutes from the City Centre and 5 minutes walk from State House. We offer bed and breakfast to backpackers.We have a capacity to hold 30 people within the house. Our rooms comprise of Single, Double, Dual, 4 persons dorm, 6 persons dorm, with shared washrooms and 8 persons dorm which has it own wash room. We have a common comfortable sitting room and dining area. Outside the house there is a Restaurant which serves freshly prepared food, with an open fire place to keep warm on cold nights and a bar which serves a variety of alcoholic, and non alcoholic drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Manyatta Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing