We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful escape a short ride out of Nairobi”
Review of Paradise lost

Paradise lost
Ranked #7 of 18 Fun & Games in Nairobi
Attraction details
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Peaceful escape a short ride out of Nairobi”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I had wanted to go to Paradise Lost the last time I was in Nairobi but did not get the chance to so now that the opportunity arose, I could not let it pass me by again. Paradise Lost claims to be one of the largest picnic sites in Kenya and with that tag-line, I would say that its size was a little underwhelming. However, that does not detract from the beauty of that place or the wonder it provides - from the lovely waterfall to the little caves to the small bar facing the lake where you can rent a row boat to go around the lake in, it is a great place to go to if you are looking for some peace and quiet outside the hustle and bustle of Nairobi. It is also a great place to go with your family and loved ones for a chilled out day. When I was there there was a family gathering going on - kids were in the row boats with parents, while other adults were preparing food for a family meal.

I would definitely go back when I feel overwhelmed by the hectic nature of city life and need a little escape not too far away.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank shalini1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    22
    15
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“SUITABLE FOR EVERYBODY”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The place is soo nice,there is much to do here,The have boat riding,Horse riding and the most fan here is to visit the cave behind the water fall.The place is also suitable for camping but the wort thing is one has to carry the food on their own,and the shops are far.Its also suitable for picnics.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank MELISALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“money makers i tell you”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

you will have to pay at the entrance, plus at the entrance to the cave plus for boating, and horse riding and camel riding and they have no ostriches there it is just a trap. otherwise nice view of the lake for a family or friends picnic :)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank moha m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Row, row ,row your boat”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

yes...gently down the stream
There is so much to do here.
Learn to row the boat. Visit the caves. Do barbecues. Trek. Make friends.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank June479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Suitable for all sorts of groups”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I have visited the site many many times since late 1990s. It is one unique place. So near the noisy urban areas yet so far. It is located in Kiambu County just few minutes drive from Muthaiga as you head to Kiambu Town. Open throughout the week. Lots of activities suitable for all ages and any kind of group. There is a bouncing castle to at extra sh.100 per child unlimited playtime. Carry your own food and drinks. There are a few jikos if you want to cook there. Lots of open grounds for your own fun activities.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
13 Thank 569Ruth569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paradise lost also viewed

Kiambu, Central Province
 

Been to Paradise lost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing