We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but improvement needed !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
Ranked #40 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Cologne, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice place but improvement needed !”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Nothing negative to tell about the place and the setting. This a dream environment !
However for the price asked, one could expect an operative shower (several colleagues complained as well) and TV (poor quality of image, very narrow choice of programmes despite satellite).
Further on, despite the fact that the stay had to be paid at check-in (which is quite unusual !), it took more than half an hour to check-out (staff was even not able to correct the address of the company on the bill !)
Difficult to understand why this hotel got a TripAdvisor award in 2012 !

Room Tip: No specific tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmanuel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    113
    56
    20
    19
See reviews for
42
36
7
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Beautiful location, nice staff and service, great food. What else can you ask for? Well, fat wallet or a company to pick up the bills. I was on the latter category, but will plan to bring my family to enjoy what this resort has to offer. A real jewel made by man, not far away from Nairobi.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KK_traveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear KK,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are glad that you have considered
to bring your family to enjoy what the resort has to offer.
For the sake of those who think we are far from the hotel, we are a 13 minute drive from the
Nairobi city, thanks to the new Thika Road Super highway. We are also an hours drive to the famous Rift Valley and lake Naivasha making it possible to provide our guests with high level day safaris. We also organize guided historical evening tours of the Nairobi City with professional tour guides.

We look forward to hosting you again, do not hesitate to let us know of any specific needs you may have to enhance your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Ghana
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I stayed in the hotel for about 5 days and I had a very tremendous experience.
My major admiration was the goodnight chocolate.
Your hotel is about the best place to be if one is in Kenya.
Please continue with your great services which gives me constant memories of your hotel

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KENNETH NII A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Kenneth,

It is our joy that you valued your stay in our hotel. It is the small things like home made praline chocolates that made your stay. We encourage our staff to ensure every guest has a wonderful stay here at the Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nairobi
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I was in hotel in the start of this month and stayed for about 1wk and so the set up of hotel is great from the reception to the rooms,restaurant,mainly we had our meals at pool restaurant,where our tables were all reserved even without our request thanks so much to Edward,Reagan the other staff and also the chefs for the great food ,cant forget Parminus and the cold tusker.i enjoyed and would now consider coming back with my family.thnks n kep up the great services .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruane g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
"It was a pleasure hosting you here at the Windsor Golf Hotel & Country Club and we appreciate the great feedback. Our staff are always eager to make every guests stay at the hotel memorable.
It is a joy to us that you consider to come again next time with your family, we look forward to your next visit."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

As a local, I have been to Windsor many times but never stayed there until recently. The service was great, the food was delicious and plenty, and the view of the lush, green golf course was very pleasant. The colonial style rooms are very spacious although the furnishings are probably as old as the hotel. The drapes, carpets and TV need to be upgraded. The bathroom was OK - the shower area is very small and so after a shower the entire bathroom is flooded with water, which is annoying. There is a bathtub but it has no shower head.

Other than those little perks our stay was enjoyable and very relaxing. Over the weekends the hotel gets pretty busy with lots of golfers and so we preferred to stay away from the crowds and enjoyed other parts of the hotel that were less busy.

I hope that the management will consider redecorating the rooms. Additionally, I think that the subsidized rate of the gym to hotel residents should be scrapped. This should be a service included as part of your stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
"we are grateful that you found a chance to spend at the Windsor and that your stay was pleasant. Just to Let you know, we will soon be renovating the whole hotel and am sure the experience will be different according to some of the concerns you have highlighted.

As for our gym, let me clarify that the subsidized rate for using the facility apply to the
hotel non-residents and this facility is not chargeable to our resident hotel guests and club members.

Over and above, thank you for taking time to review the hotel."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I was somewhat concerned with a number of bad reviews, however on a previous visit to Nairobi we went to the Windsor Golf and Country Club for Lunch at the poolside restaurant which was delightful.
On this occasion we stayed four nights with the children and stayed in a two bedroom, two bathroom, living room cottage overlooking the golf course . The whole place had a colonial feel to it and the kids named the cottage ' snow white cottage' and was surrounded by lush greenery.
The room service was excellent, I called housekeeping for laundry and within a few minutes someone was there to collect the laundry, the morning tea was delivered to the cottage within five minutes of the call.

Breakfast was an extensive buffet and if some preferred food was not in the buffet ( eg fried eggs, beef sausages) the staff happily ordered these from the kitchen.
You do not need to be a golfer to enjoy the place and it has a kids friendly feel to it.
Some fine tuning with one or two staff might help, the waiter took bread from his tray to my plate with his fingers, no big deal but not something one would expect!

The rainwater shower and the shower pressure was one of the best I have experienced at any hotel.

Overall a great and thoroughly enjoyable stay with the family in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Ask early for a heater in the cold months, june- September as they seem to run out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosephLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Joseph,
We do appreciate your faith in our hotel and that you had an 'overall great and thoroughly enjoyable stay'. We always encourage and believe in our staff to deliver excellent service
and your observation to fine tune our staff has been noted. Let me emphasize also (as you have done) that indeed you don't have to be a golfer to enjoy the facilities here, there is so much more that one can enjoy besides golf.

Thank you for taking time out of your schedule and review the hotel. We look forward to hosting you again in the hotel"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I am travelling several times a year to Kenya to stay one or more days in Nairobi. My overall experience in seveal circumstances is a secure hotel in a nature friendly environment. Business meetings in a cosy place is possible without noisy disturbance. There are sport facilities like mountaitn biking or a walk around the golf course without leaving the hotel premises. The food quality is top and the service is great. Transport to go downtown is perfectly organised. I am looking forward to my next trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirkverbeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc V, General Manager at Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
"Dear Dirkverbeke,

Your review is much appreciated and I must say , as you have mentioned, that we are only 15min away from the CBD and United Nations offices in Gigiri. Also security for all our visitors is a key factor in ensuring everyone's peace of mind while in the hotel.

Thank you for the time you have taken to review our hotel. We look forward to you next stay with us."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#8 of 164 in Nairobi
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Bedelle
#31 of 164 in Nairobi
50 reviews
Safari Park Hotel
#25 of 164 in Nairobi
568 reviews
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 164 in Nairobi
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club

Property: Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club
Address: Kigwa Road, off Kiambu Road | P.O. Box 45587, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#32 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Golf Hotel & Country Club is Africa's leading Golf Resort having in it Kenya's best golf course. The resort is a mere 15 minutes drive from Nairobi's central business district and 45 minutes from the main airport. This Nairobi's leading 5 star golf hotel has a cluster of impressive Victorian style buildings with 130 deluxe rooms comprising of twins, doubles, studio suites and cottages all overlooking the spectacular 18-hole championship golf course. With a 16-hour business center, free wi-fi internet access in all rooms and public areas (for resident guests), jogging track, tennis & squash courts, heated pool among other facilities ensure you and your family won’t miss a moment of excitement. Our greatest asset is SPACE, a SERENE AMBIENCE and YOU our most valuable guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Windsor Golf Hotel and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel And Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing