We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$75.00*
and up
Tour to Giraffe Center from Nairobi
Ranked #2 of 119 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: It is a place that seeks to secure our environment. Our main work is to carry out environment conserving initiatives. The care for giraffes that are endangered is one of the conservation activities that we do.
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“giraffe center”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I would not recommend this to people who go in safari . I don't like to see animals in captivity . nothing better than to see them in their one environment , in the wild , it is some kind of " show "

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank daniglobetrotter2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,294
    836
    291
    60
    11
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Villefranche-sur-Mer, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved getting up close with the giraffes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I got up close and personal with Stacy, a resident giraffe at the Giraffe Centre. It was beautiful to see these creatures up close, getting to pat and feed them, and I even got a kiss (it helps I had food pellets between my lips!) Whole experience is about 30 minutes + travel time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
128 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“The Giraffe center is not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Giraffes interact with the visitors who are in a treehouse at their level. We are given pellets to feed them. Nice view of Giraffe Manor (the B&B) across the way on the same property. Gift shop and face painting on the premises.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JosetteG200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Gotta do for kids of any age”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This giraffe orphanage takes less than 30 minutes, but it's worth every minute to see these giants up close and personal. Tame and eager to eat from your hand (or mouth to mouth), these giraffes are not shy. You can take as many pictures as you like and feed them as long as you like. Let one of the volunteers give you the (short) tour and tip them for their knowledge and time.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank comingandgoingout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
214 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A great centre to learn about African giraffes and meet the animals up close.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I visited the Giraffe Centre on an organised tour. It was busy with tour groups and school children. However, the viewing platform allows plenty of space to see the giraffes and feed them by hand. The educational session was interesting. A great place to bring children.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maddy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre also viewed

 

Been to African Fund for Endangered Wildlife (Kenya) Ltd. - Giraffe Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing