We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LITTLE BIT OF LUXURY IN THE CAPITAL.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nairobi Safari Club
Ranked #47 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Reviewed 24 July 2009

After camping for 11 days on safari and Kilimanjaro, we decided to treat ourselves. We were not disappointed!

PROS
1. Rooms. "The only en suite hotel" is their motto, and they deliver. The rooms have a sitting room and a bedroom, and are extremely spacious. Ask for a room on a top floor (i.e. 10-14), and you'll get a sprawling view over Nairobi.
2. Location. You can walk anywhere in central Nairobi...but obviously don't go out at night alone or with any money.
3. Security. Very, very safe hotel....
4. Pool area. The pool is heavily heated, has a proper "deep end" and is relatively large.
5. Breakfast. Epic portions and very decent quality.
6. Restaurants. I think the hotel has 3-4 restaurants. We tried 2. Both were decent and reasonably priced (kinda). You only realize the importance of this point once you arrive, and realize you don't want to face Nairobbery at night.

CONS
1. Service could be better. When we checked in a day early, they were very reluctant to accommodate. However we eventually got everything sorted.

If you can get a deal (e.g. <$140, <90 GBP or less), I would recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agoodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2009

We spent a couple of days at the Hotel and were very impressed.
It is very centrally located in Nairobi about 45 mins from the Airport and has great facilities including a swimming pool and fitness room.
The rooms were huge and had been recently refurbished.
The hotel has a Pizzeria, which looked great but we didn’t have the time to try out..It also has a restaurant where we did take the lunchtime buffet on a few occasions and the food was always excellent.
The staff was courteous and extraordinarily friendly and I would not hesitate to highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Nairobi.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oscar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights at the start of our safari. The room was large clean & comfortable. The food was very good and the staff were very friendly and helpful. This hotel is a good base for the start of a safari or for seeing the rest of Nairobi. The Sheldrick elephant orphenage is not far & worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zambia4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

+ve
Huge rooms
Great staff
Food is pretty good (try the pizzas!)
Great location for central Nairobi
Good value for an African hotel

-ve
Generally in need of a revamp
towels and pillows are appalling

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerokee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2009

We stayed at a number of holels in Nairobi as the hub of our African trip.

This undoubtly had the best rooms, fantastic Buffet , helpful staff and great location.

Booked through our african tour company

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pavlosstefardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antuf, General manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2009

Thank you very much for your honest comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2009

While the room was reasonable the rest of the hotel was awful. This is classed as a 5 star hotel, the food does not come close to a 'little chef' , the table cloths are permamently stained and dirty, the gift shop charges extortionate prices - 200 shilings for a mars bar - 75 shillings in the local shop. Swimming pool tiles mouldy. No garden suroundings and constant traffic noise. staff unhelpful and uninterested

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sinya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antuf, Manager at Nairobi Safari Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2009

It is amazing that we have to get badly rated because of the price of a Mars bar. Please consider our overhead expenses compared to a little kiosk. Regarding the garden surroundings, please remember that you were in a City Hotel. I do not want to say anything about the other comments because the rest of the honest reviews prove that yours are not justified.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2008

very good conferencing facilities...

-- safe parking
-- good location
-- staff were polite and helpful
-- conference room pleasant and clean
-- overhead projector /sound quality etc was good
-- seating arrangements very accommodating
--delicious bitings and they served earl grey tea!(which in kenya is a treat)
-- toilets clean
-- pool luncheon was lovely (fish was delicious and fresh)
-- restaurant lunch was tasty but service was slightly wanting - (the waitress took ages to serve us soup and when it did arrive it was all spilling over the sides)
-- desserts are very good - strawberry tartlets and white chocolate delicacies were amazing
-- stationary,water etc plentiful
-- room was too cold but they switched off the air-conditioning after i requested, and put on fans which was so much better

Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
Thank sweetwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Hilton Nairobi
#29 of 169 in Nairobi
1,312 reviews
The Heron Portico
#5 of 169 in Nairobi
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
The Clarion Hotel
The Clarion Hotel
#76 of 169 in Nairobi
54 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#24 of 169 in Nairobi
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nairobi Safari Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nairobi Safari Club

Address: Koinange Street , University Way, Nairobi 43564, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: £43 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nairobi Safari Club 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nairobi Safari Club is Kenya's only All Suite Hotel, located within the remarkable city of Nairobi, close to the Central Business District. Located only 25 minutes away from the Jomo Kenyatta International Airport, the hotel offers 146 tastefully furnished suites spread over 16 floors. We offer luxury accommodation to Business Travelers, Conference Delegates, Safari Adventurers, and those looking to experience Nairobi, the Green City in the Sun. Our central location ensures that our guests are able to easily access Nairobi's corporate hub for business meetings and visit popular tourist attractions in and around the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Nairobi Safari Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nairobi Safari Club Hotel Nairobi
Nairobi Safari Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing