We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the visit”

United Nations Visitor's Service
Ranked #15 of 129 things to do in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The United Nations Office at Nairobi (UNON) located in the leafy suburb of Gigiri, Nairobi, is one of the four United Nations Headquarters and the only one in Africa and the Global South. The United Nations Visitors’ Service was established on 9 January 2012, following General Assembly’s resolutions, which requested the Secretary-General to organize a guided tour operation at UNON.The Visitors’ Service’s main goal is to inform visitors about the work of the United Nations and its agencies by opening up the United Nations Complex to the public.We hope visitors will return home with a positive impression of the United Nations and its work in building peace and sustainable development.The Visitors’ Service provides guided tours to tourists, delegates, schools, colleges and universities as well as the general public. Children 5 years old and above are especially welcome.Days and Hours of Operation: Tuesdays to Thursdays: 9:00 am to 2:00 pm.Reservations: Minimum of 5 people per group.Briefing Programmes: Special briefing programmes for groups could be arranged according to their areas of interest. Groups are briefed by members of the UN Speakers Bureau-Nairobi.Languages: Tours are conducted in English, and are available in French, German and Swahili upon request.What to See on the ToursBeautiful, lush, green landscape property unique among UN offices to UNON, populated with an amazing variety of plant and animal species;The UN Conference facilities and the "Green Building,” the UN’s greenest building in Africa;A Memorial Garden in honour of the victims of the 1998 US Embassy bombings in Dar-es-Salaam and Nairobi;Special trees planted by representatives of Security Council Members in 2004, dignitaries, royalty and celebrities.Dozens of gifts and artworks presented to the United Nations by Member States, including paintings, sculptures and murals.Gigiri Nature Trail to view birds and different indigenous trees and plants (optional for an additional fee).
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I had low expectations, but the visitor tour of the UN in Nairobi was outstanding. Afterwards we enjoyed a reasonably priced lunch in the UN cafeteria. The grounds are wonderful. I see where some of my taxpayer monies are going. Make sure you bring your passport!

Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi_UN, Manager at United Nations Visitor's Service, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2015

Dear Michael,

Thanks for your kind review. We're happy to know that you had a good experience with us. #karibUNi tena!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"green building"
in 4 reviews
"member states"
in 3 reviews
"trees planted"
in 3 reviews
"international relations"
in 2 reviews
"lush grounds"
in 2 reviews
"enjoyable morning"
in 2 reviews
"walking shoes"
in 2 reviews
"eye opener"
in 2 reviews
"tour guide"
in 7 reviews
"memorial garden"
in 2 reviews
"excellent tour"
in 3 reviews
"ask questions"
in 2 reviews
"first hand"
in 2 reviews
"karura forest"
in 2 reviews
"unon"
in 11 reviews
"headquarters"
in 9 reviews
"compound"
in 10 reviews
Filter

85 - 89 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

interesting history that I was not aware of. UNON Complex is really a global complex, the work they do is commendable. when you are out there you have no idea what is inside exept to see the place as ' out of Bound'

only improve on visitor accommodation in terms of parking.

Thank nyambura m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi_UN, Manager at United Nations Visitor's Service, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2015

Dear Nyambura,

Thanks for your kind review. We're delighted to learn that you had a wonderful experience on your visit. #karibUNi tena!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Never thought a visit to offices would yield so much information! and that was my experience of visiting UN Nairobi and getting to learn the UN's history and its impact globally - including its influence on the colour of our traffic lights (that was such a fun fact!). The two hour walk on the UNON complex helps raise awareness not only of the UN operations but begins a sensitisation of how our choices as humanity has had an impact on world peace and the environment. Was really glad to learn of the initiatives that the UN has and how the organisation partners with governments to bring harmony all over the world! Davina was such a great guide and very engaging.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Mstrixie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi_UN, Public Relations Manager at United Nations Visitor's Service, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Mstrixie007, thank you for your kind review! We are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable tour and learnt a lot. #karibUNi tena (welcome again)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The tour of United Nations at Nairobi is an excellent tour to get to know the UN's history and work - it was very informative and interactive. Davina our guide, was great and had many interesting facts and stories to tell us about the UN and it's work. The complex itself is beautiful and it makes for a great day out in the sun.
Get there early though, as the formalities to enter the complex may take a while!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
2  Thank Shaheentherani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi_UN, Public Relations Manager at United Nations Visitor's Service, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Shaheentherani, thank you for your kind review! We are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable tour and learnt a lot. #karibUNi tena (welcome again)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Im glad i visited the UNON. It was very informative and i got to learn so much about the United nations as an organization and their role in maintaining peace and security in all its member states.
The members of staff, right from the security officers at the gate are very courteous and eager to help with queries, far from what my perception was.
Walking on the green, well manicured grounds was great exercise and informative as all over the grounds there are gifts to the UNON from different member states, all of them bearing a very inspiring story/lesson. Few things though:
1. Come with comfortable walking shoes, a hat and/or umbrella.
2. I would not recommend this walk for physically challenged/wheelchair bound persons as the grounds are hilly at some points and could be challenging.
3. For those, who cannot handle fast walks, i would recommend that they book private tours.
All in all great visit.
Regards,
Lucy

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
2  Thank lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi_UN, Public Relations Manager at United Nations Visitor's Service, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Lucy, thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable tour and learnt a lot. #karibUNi tena (welcome again)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed United Nations Visitor's Service also viewed

 

Been to United Nations Visitor's Service? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing