We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First night in Kenya, Africa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palacina Residence & Suites
Ranked #14 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Paynesville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“First night in Kenya, Africa”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

My husband and I took a two week Safari in Africa. We arrived in Nairobi around 8:00 pm, so were tired from the long travel. The hotel is small, but the staff friendly and accomodating. We were able to order food, and wine/beer before heading to bed. Rooms were comfortable and modern. We had to go up several flights of stairs to get to our room, but we had a busboy carry our luggage. This hotel is expensive, so hard to justify the price when we were just there to sleep. Not sure if there is anything to do near the hotel, since we were only there overnight.

Room Tip: If you have an issue with stairs, you may want to request a room on a lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djstravel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    45
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
31
78
14
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I stayed here for a week on business and really enjoyed the hotel.

I would say that this is not really set-up for business travellers (internet not great, desk area not great to work on, etc.) but for a holiday this would be my first choice of a place to stay.

The rooms are large, safari styled and very comfortable with a separate area with a sofa, TV and simple kitchen.

The restaurant is very nice and the grounds that the hotel is located on are green and picturesque. The staff are friendly and very willing to help however they can.

If you are coming to Nairobi on holiday, maybe passing through to go on Safari I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rand0m_Th0ughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london england
Level Contributor
100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Tour operator arranged day stay while waiting for connection to London from Madagascar .
Lovely place with superb facilities , shame not staying overnight .
warnings
1 hr 15 minutes from the Airport at rush hour , terrible traffic , very nice driver though .
Very nice restaurant but factor in slow service .

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennypin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We were absolutely astounded when we saw our room/suite upon arrival in Nairobi. It was just beautiful and huge. We had a living room with a terrace plus big bedroom, walk in closet and fabulous bathroom. It was very clean and decorated just African enough to make us smile (especially a lamp with a funny lampshade hanging at a peculiar angle). The service and friendliness made us feel very welcome on our first night in Africa. We enjoyed a splendid meal at the Moonflower restaurant before settling in for a good nights rest. I highly recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelnaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
354 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We arrived at this hotel, after spending 10 days in the bush, living quite primitively, so seeing our room, which was absolutely gorgeous with a living room, and a really fabulous bathroom, nearly made me cry with joy!
The staff here are superb, with nothing being too much trouble. They even arranged for us to have breakfast at 4.45 as we had an early start in the morning.
The amenities were wonderful, with the room having many bells and whistles, including a jacuzzi bath, which was most welcome after 10 days of driving around in a safari vehicle!
I highly recommend this hotel, and the restaurant is very good too. Again with superb service.
If I was in Nairobi again, I would definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Bring slippers as the floor is tiled, and quite cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickigirl1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Stopped here briefly with the family on the way back from Madagascar to London but was stunned by just how good this hotel is. I have no idea how good a location it is within Nairobi, but once you are inside it is an oasis of calm and well-being. They gave us a beautiful suite and dinner was a true pleasure.

Try to stay on Saturday night if you can as they have an excellent live band including Kenya's answer to Louis Armstrong.

Room Tip: The suites are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian_Tanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

When I first started coming to Kenya for work, I stayed at a few other hotels in the area (The Fairview, Sancara), etc, but after finding Palacina, there is no way I would stay anywhere else. Nairobi is one of the most hectic, traffic-filled, and sometimes dangerous cities that I visit for work. The Palacina transports you to a place of tranquility and zen, and is not over pretentious or overly opulent. Everything is clean, and breezy. Feels very beach-like. The restaurant is great - I've eaten here on multiple occasions, but the hotel is also located a short cab ride away from other places. They have a complimentary cocktail night on Thursdays with wine, beer and small bites (a great way to meet other guests and get to know the staff better). If you plan to stay on this side of Nairobi, stay here. If you're in Westlands or Gigiri, I'd probably stay at the Tribe.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great - I've seen a bunch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALG-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.7 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
1.4 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
1.2 mi away
DusitD2 Nairobi
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palacina Residence & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palacina Residence & Suites

Property: Palacina Residence & Suites
Address: Kitale Lane, off Dennis Pritt Road | State House Area, P.O Box 48728, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Palacina Residence & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For weary travelers who have seen many a hotel room, Palacina is a breath of fresh air. Offering all the luxuries of a five star hotel, with special personalized service, a relaxed atmosphere and great attention to detail. As a family owned and run hotel the core emphasis is on making guests feel at home during their stay in Nairobi in an atmosphere of understated elegance and warm hospitality...Welcome to Nairobi's most relaxing address! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Jovago.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palacina Residence & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacina Residence Hotel Nairobi
Palacina Residence And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing