We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing with excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages
Ranked #11 of 202 Speciality Lodging in Nairobi
New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Relaxing with excellent food”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This is a beautiful,restful spot. The meals are excellent and reasonably priced. Want something simple? Great hamburgers! Wait staff pleasant and accommodating. Make sure to read the history on bill boards to the right as you enter from the parking lot. Fascinating

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MetsNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    43
    5
    7
    6
See reviews for
33
38
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

You can come to the restaurant for historic purposes alone and its great. However, the food, staff and grounds makes you want to come back!

I enjoyed the Pwani vegetable dish and would get this again. I was excited to see they have a music and shisha night and I will make sure to go to this in the future.

A great meal and break while in Nairobi.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColombeBluu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
387 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We had such a great meal, we sat outside, heard the birds, our lunch was amazing, we also had a beautiful wine that was made in south Africa. The staff were excellent there, very happy to serve you, the environment we just so pleasant, Love every minute of it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 282Juliette282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Happened upon the Karen Blixen coffee garden. The food is excellent, service great, and lovely atmosphere. We ended up eating here 3 times during our stay in Nairobi, and were never disappointed. I ordered the hamburger, which is possibly the best hamburger I've ever had. The cappuccino's were great as well.

While the prices are a little high, it's worth the expense to find such great food in a peaceful setting. Highly recommend a stop for a meal. Would like to stay there next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimkauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Quick lunch in way to the museum. Beautiful setting. Lovely food. The burger the best for weeks! Not too expensive and just an all round nice place. Would like to come back and stay here. Great service by well trained staff.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jezsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kusatsu, Japan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I had lunch in their garden after visiting Karen Blixen museum. First of all, they have a gorgeous garden and serve pretty good food. Waters and waitresses are well trained and very attentive unlike any other restaurants in Nairobi.
I payed nearly USD 60 for a buffet lunch and a glass of wine and wish I were hungrier!!

I must say there was no locals (as far as I could tell) but full of Caucasians who spend a lot of money for the food and paintings sold in the garden. Apart from that, it was nice and relaxing.

It would be nice to go there with some companies!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YFUJI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was our last stop and hotel/accommodation at the end of a two-week trip to Kenya. We found it was the most affordable of all the top level hotels in the Karen area of Nairobi which was one reason we chose it. We also chose to stay there because of its historic significance (located on the farm in the book/movie, "Out of Africa". The cottage we stayed in was beautiful and very comfortable (especially after all the time we'd just spent in the bush). Service was excellent from the get go. I arranged for our cottage via email since I was booking from the US. Responses from hotel staff were within 24 hours or less every time I sent them a communication. They were also very accommodating: from allowing us to store our extra luggage we couldn't take on the small safari flights from accepting and managing a delivery we had delivered there. One wouldn't even get this kind of personalized service from a Four Seasons in the US. The hotel restaurant bar is also very good - food was excellent as was the service, the cocktails and wine selection.
Also, this hotel is very proximate to the Giraffe Center, Elephant Orphanage, Blixen Museum, Shopping and other excellent dining.

Room Tip: It is cheaper on a per person basis if you "share" the cost of a double versus purchasing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcchick1425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.0 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 164 in Nairobi
470 reviews
0.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#18 of 164 in Nairobi
251 reviews
8.0 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
967 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#8 of 164 in Nairobi
625 reviews
1.4 mi away
Purdy Arms
Purdy Arms
#9 of 260 in Nairobi
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages

Property: Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages
Address: 336 Karen Road | P.O Box 163, Nairobi 00502, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 202 Speciality Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cottages are located in Karen, a beautiful, peaceful suburb approximately 20 miles from downtown Nairobi and about half a mile from the famous Karen Blixen Museum. The cottages are located in the midst of one of the oldest formal gardens in Kenya which have huge jacaranda, candelabra, cactus, bottlebrush, and other trees. Over 200 types of flowers bloom through the year and numerous bird feeders attract hundreds of varieties of birds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden & Cottages Hotel Karen
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden And Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing