We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel but staff rude”
Review of The Panari Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Panari Hotel
Ranked #54 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Reviewed 5 May 2008

me and my collegues were on transit to Lusaka from attending a business forum from Arusha we spent just a night in there. Everything was ok but the staff are extremely rude and weird. I do not know why they behave like that.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank chimuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2008

My husband and I spent the night of Jan. 30, 2008 in order to make connections to Arusha, Tanzania to begin our safari and again on Feb, 17, 2008 to make connections to Amsterdam to return home to the US. The Panari Hotel personnel were wonderful--polite and courteous during each visit. Yes, they did indeed smile! The location is convenient; it's a 10-15 minute taxi ride to the airport. Taxi drivers were polite and courteous, too. The Panari Hotel provided us with a safe and secure environment in order to get a good night's sleep in a clean hotel room in a well run hotel. From Reception to the individuals who handle the luggage--all were professional and demonstrated excellent customer service skills. On Feb. 17 my husband and I plus my sister-in-law and brother-in-law, who we had traveled with on safari in Tanzania and coastal areas in Kenya for three weeks, had dinner at the Mediteranean restaurant in the hotel--the food was very tasty and reasonably prices. It appeared plenty of locals were eating (overheard conversations) there also. Our server was kind hearted and enthusiastic--what could be improved is the waitstaff could be more attentive in recognizing new customers and generally pick up the pace of taking drink, food orders and serving food. No place is like home--and if you want it to be like home--stay home!
Our stay at the Panari Hotel exceeded our expectations! We'd stay there again!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank travelbugMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2008

I chose this hotel because it was close to the airport and was situated in an entertainment/mall complex. Due to the political unrest during my stay I wanted to be somewhere safe with entertainment options.

The staff was very friendly and helpful at check in and continued to be great throughout my stay. The room was nice but definitely not luxury as they consider their hotel to be. This is the first hotel of any class that I've visited that did not have complimentary tea/coffee in the room. It was also the first time I've stayed at a hotel that did not have a pen or paper in the room. Even though they didn't give you any extras at this hotel the room was clean and comfortable.

As for entertainment, the ice skating rink was open but the movie theatres were closed until at least the end of March, pending what happens with the political unrest. The popcorn stand was open however if you want a snack. The restaurants were open and the food court was a nice option for variety.

This hotel was a good option during this politically unstable time but during peaceful days I would suggest staying downtown. The Panari Hotel was nice enough but you definitely not worth the amount of money charged.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Tumaini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2007

I was travelling from UK to Uganda and needed 1 night only. having been to nairobi before there was no way i was travelling from the city centre (where all the main hotels are) for a mid morning flight given my experience of road jams inthis city. So i booked the penari and i have to say that it was expensive $210 for what it was but it did exactly what i needed. The buffet breakfast was good with plenty of coice of cereal, fruits, african foods, hot and cold traditional breakfast food. If your not happy with the breakfast here you will of either been looking for something specific that they did not have or just had a bad experience.
In my opinion the decoration is exactly what i expected - old and dated and trying to get into the 21st century kenya style. having said that the room was clean helpful staff and security everywhere. it was quiet in the hotel. you should allow a little extra time to check out though, kenyans do not work with the efficiency that you normally get in european and american type hotels. would i recomend it for a base to stay-NO. would i recomend it for an overnight stay -YES.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank pj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2007

We found this to be a good hotel with great service. The five employees we interacted with were prompt, courteous, and professional, and the room was spotless and in great shape. Granted, the interior decoration is a hideously gaudy combination of "sleeky, glossy, flourescent modern" accented with ancient Greek and African wildlife design flourishes. But on the whole this place was a perfectly fine hotel with excellent service. It is only two years old and looks exactly like it is described on their web site.

I don't understand. Could there be some confusion in hotels here? We stayed at the Panari Hotel in the Panari Sky Centre. The hotel (floors 3 and up) is part of an overal mall-like center with restaurants, a nightclub, a movie theater, etc. on floors 1 and 2. I wonder if there is some confusion between this hotel and the "Panari House Hotel" further down the road closer to the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Magala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2007

The Hotel is close to the Airport but Isolated from the city centre. Restaurant food is very expensive while the foodcourt in level 2 was like a relief. Overall ok except the fact that you cannot use IDD from your room.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Noble72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2007

Got bumped from a flight and stayed here for a night because it was close to the airport, what a mistake. OK the place is clean but the staff are rude. We arrived at 9.00 in the morning and were leaving at 4.00 the next morning. We wanted breakfast the first morning but were told we could not do so as you have to have breakfast AFTER you stay the nigh despite the restaurant not opening until 6.00, i.e. after we left

This was nothing compared to the rooms which was like being in a 60's porn set. Porn set is appropriate as the information guide advises that hookers or "room guests" are permitted during the day but are charged $60 per visit at night, nice!!

The swimming pool or Dolphin health club is horrid, tacky and plastic.

The hotel is located overlooking an industrial estate and the decor in the whole place is just so tacky.

Apart from the doorman who was polite I do not have a good word to say about this place. My advice is NEVER set foot in the place and pay the extra £2 to get a taxi to the city centre.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank jock-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairobi
4 mi away
The Lazizi Premiere
The Lazizi Premiere
#25 of 169 in Nairobi
188 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#9 of 169 in Nairobi
690 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eka Hotel Nairobi
Eka Hotel Nairobi
#14 of 169 in Nairobi
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Boma Inn Nairobi
Boma Inn Nairobi
#51 of 169 in Nairobi
114 reviews
2.2 mi away
Saab Royale Hotel
Saab Royale Hotel
#34 of 169 in Nairobi
60 reviews
5.9 mi away
67 Airport Hotel
67 Airport Hotel
#1 of 2 in Syokimau
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Panari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Panari Hotel

Address: Mombasa Road, Nairobi 00506, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#36 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range: £94 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Panari Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Panari Hotel is the closest hotel to Jomo Kenyatta International Airport Nairobi. Located 7 kilometers from the airport and 8 kilometers from the city center, we have your convenience at heart. From the rooms, our guests enjoy a captivating panoramic view of The Nairobi national park on one side. On the other side, you have a full view of the City in the horizon. The hotel is one of its kind being the only venue with an Ice Skating Rink in East and Central Africa. For our guest's convenience, we have a bank, forex bureau and a hair salon all under one roof. We also have a variety of food outlets alongside the Hotel's main restaurant "The Red Garnet." For a night out, you need not go elsewhere, on the second floor of the hotel, "Shooters and Dips Lounge" is the hottest entertainment spot along Mombasa road. No need to interrupt your keep fit regime while traveling. Get a full work out at The Dolphin Health Club. The health club is fully equipped with all the modern workout machines, steam bath, sauna and an indoor swimming pool. The Panari Hotel boasts a very large conferencing area with sufficient, secure and ample parking space to fit 450 cars. The Panari Hotel "A Luxurious Way of Life." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Panari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Panari Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing