We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene, homely, Lovely, exquisite...”
Review of House of Waine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
House of Waine
Ranked #23 of 165 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Serene, homely, Lovely, exquisite...”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Amazing staff, great rooms, luxuriously decorated, the food was awesome, the reading material in the rooms relevant and FREE mini -bar!! Luxury worth your money.
Great place for couples and easily accessible

Room Tip: Malaika room is super spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Hellen_Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind feedback. It was a pleasure hosting you and we are all happy you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    51
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
60
114
14
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Lovely small hotel with beautiful grounds. Being located in Karen it is convenient to many tourist destinations -- Karen Blixen Museum, Giraffe Sanctuary etc. without having to endure the congestion in downtown Nairobi. Due to location (taxi's not sitting out front) I would suggest organizing ground transportation in advance. Hotel arranged airport transfers for us and probably could arrange for a hired car/driver as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for choosing House of Waine and for the kind feedback, it was a pleasure hosting you. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and took time to enjoy some of the attractions in the Karen area.

Indeed we can organize transfers and hired cars within 15 minutes.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

This place is lovely. Old colonial style and full of great furniture. Very quiet which suited us nicely. The staff are great and the food was good. It seemed to be quite low occupancy which meant their was a slight lack of atmosphere but this is a minor issue. The only thing I would question is the extra $90 they charge for a fold down bed for my daughter. Seems steep but I think this may be the going rate in nairobi.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
It was a pleasure hosting you and we highly appreciate your kind feedback. We are glad your family and you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the food and service offered.

As a policy children below 02 years stay free of charge while from 3 to 11 years a 50% charge applies hence the extra charge.

We all look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks,

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed one night after a long flight from USA, arrived late night and they could not be more welcoming. With drinks and snacks and made us feel right at home at the late hour.
Next morning had a nice walk around the wonderful grounds with pool and mornings sounds of the birds etc. Had a nice breakfast before we flew out to the Mara.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cassandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
It was a pleasure hosting you at House of Waine and we are happy your stay with us was comfortable.
We appreciate your kind feedback and hope you had a great safari.

We all look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Nairobi.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My significant other and I have made it a tradition to spend 9th April at House of Waine, Nairobi for her birthday.
The management and staff of House of Waine have exceeded our expectations for the last 5 years with their fantastic service, thoughtfulness, extra step, amazing foods and excellent decor. Without going into details of naming the excellent staff, it is without doubt an experience worth penning.
I would strongly recommend anyone looking for an intimate setting to try out House of Waine and we shall definitely be staying there every 9th April for a long time to come.

Room Tip: The staff are more than happy to help you choose the best room for your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeautifulH0tel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us again, it was a pleasure hosting you and we are glad we made your stay memorable.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback and continued support, and look forward to your next stay.

Thank you.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here one night on way to safari camps. Nice place, decent room, nice grounds with pool. Dinner only OK (below safari camp quality). Breakfast good. Didn't need staff, but don't remember them. No cocktail hour or particular ambiance. We were only people staying there, so maybe that was a factor.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BunkyVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your way to safari and we highly appreciate your feedback.

We are glad you enjoyed our facilities and breakfast. We have also taken into consideration your feedback on dinner.

We hope to host you again on your next stay in Nairobi.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This is a perfect get away place in Nairobi yet with a feel of "away from the city" hustles & bustles. Food is fantastic, service is on point & the facility very well maintained. Was there for our wedding anniversary & the staff went out of their way to make the stay worth remembering...Thanks & we will be back :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lily m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoWNairobi, Manager at House of Waine, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
It was a pleasure to host you on your wedding anniversary and are happy we made your stay memorable.

We appreciate your kind feedback and look forward to your next stay.

Thank you.

House of Waine team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.5 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 165 in Nairobi
492 reviews
8.4 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
7.0 mi away
Palacina Residence & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#11 of 165 in Nairobi
1,009 reviews
7.6 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 165 in Nairobi
1,276 reviews
16.0 mi away
The Bedelle
The Bedelle
#31 of 165 in Nairobi
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Waine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Waine

Property: House of Waine
Address: Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#22 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — House of Waine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
House of Waine is a family owned and run property and this is reflected in the name Waine which is made up of the initials of the family members. Originally a family house, it was lovingly converted to a boutique hotel and eventually opened in 2004. The interior design takes its cue from the Matriarch of the family and is imbued with a timeless elegance much like her. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Jovago.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your House of Waine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Waine Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Of Waine
Of Waine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing