We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful oasis of service and silence to enjoy the surroundings”
Review of House of Waine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
House of Waine
Ranked #18 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
264 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Beautiful oasis of service and silence to enjoy the surroundings”
Reviewed 5 October 2010

Service was beyond compare. When we mentioned we'd like a romantic table for dinner, we were guided to a private dining room, floor covered in rose petals, surrounded with candles and a private fireplace to warm the moment. Now that's what I call going the extra mile...the food was excellent, one of the best soups of our trip. Beef dish was creative and perfectly cooked. Wines were fantastic. Actually their house red (a spanish blend) would drink with some of the big boys. Rooms was large and well appointed (also rose petals when we returned from dinner). only negative comment was the bed was too hard for an extended stay. Thanks House of Waine, a memorable experience. Asante Sana

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyboyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    51
    5
    0
    3
See reviews for
59
114
14
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We stayed in the House of Waine at the beginning and at the end of our 2 week Safari. Both times we were fortunate enough to stay at the Malaika suite (which is an amazing room with a huge 30 sq meter terrace). The complimentary snack mini-bar is also a nice touch/ The house has a quiet, relaxed colonial feel and is a perfect place to simply chill out and relax before and most importantly after the safari. We found the staff extremely friendly and the food was spectacular. The heated pool and free high speed wi-fi are the great amenities (we couldn't get internet to work anywhere else in Kenya/Tanzania). It's also only a few minuted from the Karen Blixen museum and the Giraffe Centre (which sadly we did not get a chance to visit on this trip). Would definitely stay here again when we return to Nairobi.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

We stayed at the House of Waine, Nairobi, Kenya by accident. Virgin Atlantic failed to land at Nairobi as planned for reasons that can only be explained by its pilot. After spending a long, dispiriting day at Mombassa airport in transit (where we ended up after a night flight from Heathrow), and missing the first night of our safari, we needed some comfort. On getting back to Nairobi under our own steam with Fly 540 (Kenyan pilots seem fearless where cloud cover is concerned) we stayed at the House of Waine for one night before finally getting off to Mount Kenya at 8am the following day.

The hotel is in a lovely setting in Karen and is handy for Wilson airstrip for the safarilink planes. It was quiet when we visited. Rooms are very comfortable, and we found the setting to be suitably zen after a trying day. Dinner was delicious and very good value. We slept very well, and received our wake up call as requested. When we next visit Nairobi we would definitely consider staying here rather than in the city centre.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeyhumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We stayed at House of Waine before and after our Safari in the Masai Mara. We arrived exhausted, following a 30-hour journey from Sydney, Australia, and couldn't have found a more perfect place. We had the Manyatta Room, decorated in Masai colours, which had a small balcony and a huge comfy bed. We were greeted with a fruit cocktail and after a quick shower took advantage of a few reviving laps in the heated pool.
We sat outside for a relaxing beer and then got changed for dinner. The menu changes daily and there are good meat, fish and vegetarian options every day. The staff are delightful - warm, friendly and incredibly helpful.
The last thing I wanted to do was check my emails but my partner did (sigh) and they brought a laptop up to our room.
The hotel is quiet, with only 11 rooms, and we were grateful for that as we were so tired we could barely converse with each other. We slept incredibly well and woke up next day completely restored.
On our final night we were given the honeymoon suite. I can honestly say it is the nicest room I've ever been given anywhere in any hotel in the world. It had a huge balcony and was light, bright and spacious. I was feeling a bit depressed at having finished my Safari but my spirits were raised no end.
House of Waine is in a really convenient spot in Karen. It's a quiet, wealthy, pretty area of Nairobi and you're only five minutes from the Karen Blixen museum and not far from nature trails, the elephant orphanage and the giraffe centre.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozziecouple141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

After having read all those raving reviews of the House of Waine, we wondered whether we had gone to the wrong place. The traffic was so congested it took us almost an hour to get there from the airport. The rooms were damp and musty. If you like dated furniture then you would think it is quaint. The shower kept switching from scalding hot to cold. Dinner was a disaster, the steaks were not fresh and we couldn't eat them. What a relief that we only stayed one night. Never again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank isfaepopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YORK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2010

Stayed three nights just after Easter in a ground floor room, Bustani, with French windows opening onto the garden. The room was spacious and comfortable although the shower didn’t produce enough hot water for two even though there was plenty coming out of the bath taps – that and a light bulb being out in the bedroom which wasn’t fixed were the only two things wrong, otherwise it was a lovely place and the staff really friendly. We were virtually the only people staying – there was another family one dinner time, otherwise not a soul, so we were very well looked after but I’m sure it’s the same even when they are busy. The gardens are beautiful and there’s a little pavilion by the pool where you can sit and listen to the birdsong (there was piped music but we asked them to switch it off), have a cup of tea and admire the flowers. It was really easy to organise a taxi to take us to the nearby Karen Blixen museum and a trip to have a look at central Nairobi. The food was delicious – lots of fresh fruit and fabulous homemade bread and there was a choice of wines with dinner. It wouldn’t suit you if you wanted more of a buzz, but it was a thoroughly relaxing place for a short stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VisitorsfromYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2010

This hotel is quite grand, and feels like something from the colonial era.

We found it very quiet - in fact, almost too quiet. Having two separate stays during Feb/March we barely saw another guest and both times had the lounge, bar, swimming pool and resturant all to ourselves. Some people will no doubt enjoy this, but we found it a little unnerving.

In parts, the 'colonial style' has lapsed into 'out dated' - especially the resturant, which is fairly dim desperately needs uplifting.

The beds are also very hard and (as I see other posters have noted) the shower was unreliable - which is not want you want at 4am when rising for an early flight.

The small safe amused me. After looking it, I found that it was not bolted in, and I could simply pick it up and easily walk away with it.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nightwatchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
1.5 mi away
Hemingways Nairobi
Hemingways Nairobi
#1 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
8.5 mi away
Fairmont The Norfolk
Fairmont The Norfolk
#6 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
7.6 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
8.0 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
8.2 mi away
DusitD2 Nairobi
DusitD2 Nairobi
#12 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House of Waine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House of Waine

Property: House of Waine
Address: Masai Lane & Bogani Road | Karen, PO Box 25035, Nairobi 00603, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#1 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#18 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — House of Waine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your House of Waine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Of Waine Hotel Nairobi
Hotel Of Waine
Of Waine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing