We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“bit tired and shabby”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Oakwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oakwood Hotel
Ranked #127 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
71 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“bit tired and shabby”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

A bit tired and shabby. Bugs and a cloud of dust fell from the fan when it was switched on. Lots of noise from neighbouring discos and passing traffic. Travel time to the airport by taxi was 20 minutes at 3 in the morning and 50 minutes during rush hour.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    11
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
7
13
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Xi'an, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

When my wife and I arrived at the hotel we walked into a blacked out hotel. There was no eletricity in the city and the hotel did not have a generator.Apparently this happens somewhat often because other hotels around had electricity. (DUH!) Well we were told electricity should be back b the evening. Guess what, it was not and my wife and I were forced to spend the evening in the dark, candlelight is only romantic if you can take a shower and get cleaned to have a good night.:)

We left the hotel the next morning and there was still no electricity. Again breakfast was by candlelight in an enclosed room with no outside light. Did not eat much because I could not see what I was eating and did not want to risk it.

We chose this hotel for our first night in Kenya and wanted a central location at a decent price. Were we wrong. Could have stayed at better priced hotels just down the road- no electricity did not do it for me. But it was in a safe part of town

Kenyan people in general are very friendly and that was the bet part of this hotel.(The people.)
When we got back home we contacted booking.com and complained. We did receive around 20% refund. My advice to the hotel get a generator and to potential guests-look for another hotel.
Oh and be aware that everywhere in Nairobi there three prices 1. Nationals 2. Residents 3.Tourists.Ask for discounts and try to get the resident price. When you go with tour guides that is not possible.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back to avoid the noise from the casino next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ericsosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madahotels_11, Manager at Oakwood Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Oakwood Hotel. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations.

The night that you checked in the Hotel, there was a lot of power Shortages that week in Nairobi Central Business, but the issue was solved and We had a power backup installed in the Hotel.

We are looking forward Hosting you next time when you visit and we promise you the best.

Regards.

James. N.

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Nice hotel with a good location in the city centre. Friendly and helpful staff. The hotel has a colonial atmosphere with a nice bar where you can enjoy a refreshing drink watching the street life.
If you ie are going on a safari the hotel will take care of your luggage while you are away, withot any cost.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sidney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed at the Oakwood Hotel for one night in December 2012.
The location is central and the staff friendly. The rooms are simple and clean. We had warm water - the bathroom, however, was in need of renovation.
Unfortunately, we were not able to sleep at night as our room was located opposite of a nightclub and loud music was playing all night long.

Room Tip: try to get a room at the very end of the corridors - furthest away from the nightclub, it seems to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JE113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madahotels_11, Manager at Oakwood Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2013
Dear JE111

Thanks alot for your positive review and Choosing Oakwood Hotel as your Hotel of choice.

The capital of Kenya, Nairobi is a bit noisy over the weekend. And the management have spoken with The local Authority to find out a solution how they will cub the Noisy night clubs around, so if you are choosing to stay at Oakwood Hotel Book the second floor of the building that's one much better.

Thanks alot for taking your time to spread the word about Oakwood Hotel.

Regards

James. N.

Hotel Manager
email: oakwoodmanager@madahotels.com
cc: admin@madahotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baroda - India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

I had book this hotel on line for the 15th Nov'12, after my plan safari trip. Unfortunate to say I was not able go for the safari as I suffered a massive cardiac arrest and had to undergo surgery during that period. The booking done was for 3 persons/room and in the booking requirements it was stated that if we did not acknowledge our commitment they would deduct 20% of the cost.
The cost of both rooms were $308.00 and the booking was done through the credit card.
Due to my sudden unexpected illness, I had informed the hotel through the mada group of hotels 15 days in advance and also received an acknowledgement from a Mr Allan.
On 11th Nov, noticed through my credit account that the amount of $62.00 was deducted and further again on 16th Nov another amount of $92.00 was deducted without any intermission.
The total amount deducted was $154.00 which is 50% of the cost of the rooms.
I have written to Mr Allan with regards to this issue and till date he has not bothered to reply back.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

This was the first African hotel I have stayed in and I was pleasantly surprised. I had a very large room next to reception, i felt safe and secure at all times inside the hotel. Given the price of this hotel I am very happy. There is a restaurant and bar serving nice food and all the staff were pleasant and friendly. Would highly recommend to anyone on a tight budget. the only downside was the wi-fi was not working and the TV only had 3 working channels, but who stays in a hotel to watch TV?

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mattiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibiza
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

We chose this hotel because of its central location. We stayed for 2 nights but with a night's break inbetween as we were visiting The Aberdares Park for one night. The first night's stay was OK, with helpful, friendly service, and copious amounts of really hot water. Our room was at the side and was quite quiet at night, but our friends' room was at the front and very noisy. Our room, however, had an over-bath shower which we didn't use in the evening as there was no shower curtain. We did use the shower in the morning and it flooded the bathroom, due to the lack of curtain. There was also no TV remote control in the room. The hotel stored our luggage whilst we went away for the one night, and then gave us different rooms when we returned. These rooms only had showers, and, whilst we had a curtain, our friends' didn't. We had 2 TV remotes this time, but no kettle and only one cup. These were supplied upon request by housekeeping. But the worst fault of all was when we tried to have a shower in the evening. The water was stone cold. We tried letting it run for a while, but still nothing, so we contacted Reception who told us to let it run! So we tried again, but nothing. Reception then told us that they had 'forgotten to switch on the boiler' so to wait 20 minutes. We waited, but still no hot water. This time Reception told us that the boiler was broken. We gave up and used a combination of cold water and hot water from the kettle to wash. Our friends also complained and were offered a move to a room on the 2nd floor where apparently the boiler was working (this was the floor we'd been on for the first night). By this time it was too late for us to be bothered to move, so we stuck where we were. Had we been offered the move in the first place, we would have accepted it. From reading other comments just now, it appears that lack of hot water is not a one-off occurrence so the story about a broken boiler seems disingenuous to say the least.

Room Tip: Rooms at the side are less noisy, and there seems to be a problem with hot water on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tarida2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#95 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Marble Arch Hotel
Marble Arch Hotel
#73 of 161 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Kenya Comfort Hotel
#64 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Decasa Hotel
Decasa Hotel
#93 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
West Breeze Hotel
West Breeze Hotel
#48 of 161 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Hotel Kipepeo
Hotel Kipepeo
#117 of 161 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Hotel

Property: Oakwood Hotel
Address: Kimathi Street | P.O. Box 40683, Nairobi, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 161 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Oakwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakwood HotelThe Oakwood Hotel is a small exclusive and perfectly located property, in fact, it's ideal accommodation for guests who enjoy the hustle, bustle and non-stop night-life of Nairobi.The Oakwood resides in the Elite House. building, formally Livingstone House. The property was built in the 1950s and although it maintains its colonial Architect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, Jovago.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oakwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing