We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parkside Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkside Hotel
Ranked #97 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Egremont, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2009

OK and cool enough for short and independent stays. Nice customer service and pple letting you sleep. Mosquito net provided by hotel and shower available any time.

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank marcinochal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    12
    28
    13
    3
See reviews for
7
21
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poland, Zielona Gora
Level Contributor
99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2009

we slept in triple room, standard of bathroom was awfully, on the morning was not at all water (even cold), there is no restaurant, the breakfast is in next door (rather wrong),
anyway it is almost clean and there are no any warms
great location, just opposite to entrance there is a bus "station" for buses to Arusha

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cezary59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2009

The hotel was clean and next to the shuttle station to Arusha. People there were very nice. Considering that it is a low budget, no frills it was ok

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guguloi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2009

We stayed in the Parkside on 3 seperate occasions over a month, and each time had a comparible room, and recieved similar levels of service. Key points for me:

- Each time we stayed we opted for a Superior Room. They seemed a bit bigger, and had a bigger bed
- Rooms were always spotlessly clean
- We did not opt for the breakfast option, so can't comment on that
- Staff (front desk and cleaning staff) were all really friendly, and offered Nairobi advice wherever possible
- Their laundry rates are very reasonable, and laundry is done quickly and effiicently
- We found the price to be rally very reasonable, considering the hotel is so close to the 'centre' of Nairobi city. We also stayed at the Nairobi comfort hotel on the same street and paid almost double for a comparable room and level of service
- The hotel always felt safe, although loads of safari buses leave from outside the front door, so expect to be offered a thousand safari's each time you leave the hotel

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Auld_Hippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2009

I intermittently stayed here for a week, in January. I was very pleased to find such a reasonably priced hotel in such a central location with good security. I stayed in a basic twin, which was clean enough, with hot showers and comfy beds.

The reception staff were reasonably friendly, but I also chatted to the chamber maids who were very helpful and smiley. It was also no problem to leave my valuables in the safe, although I often left an array of things in my room which were there when I came back at the end of the day.

Overall I had a very pleasant stay and when I return to Nairobi I will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phoemail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego, ca
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2008

This place is very convenient if your just passing through Nairobi. Its right next to the bus station and in a good walking location of Nairobi. The staff was so nice and friendly (as all of Kenya is). Expect what you pay for, very basic rooms.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CarrageHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2008

The rooms are not bad and there's almost no noise front or back of the building. Terrible pillows though...hard seat cushions actually...they were supposedly talking about replacing them with real pillows soon but check to confirm.

Kind of cheap of them to only offer hot water between 6:00-8:00 AM and 6:00-9:00 PM. And here's the thing...the hot water boiler was not working when I was there...I had one hot shower in 5 days. Anyway most of the bathroom hardware handles are old and not functionning well. Give them one night deposit and then see if the hot water system is working...if it's not take off because they will lie to you about repairing the hot water system.

Don't bother with the breakfeast voucher plan at the Kony restaurant next door, the service is slow and there's only a few items on the menu...you'll get tired of trying to eat their clump of undercooked bacon...and the service is horrendously slow.

Pierre Gauthier, Montreal Canada

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank montrealcanadaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Kenya Comfort Hotel
#68 of 164 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Hotel Kipepeo
Hotel Kipepeo
#115 of 164 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Progressive Park Hotel
#29 of 164 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Decasa Hotel
Decasa Hotel
#103 of 164 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Kima Hotel
#108 of 164 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#91 of 164 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkside Hotel

Property: Parkside Hotel
Address: Monrovia Street, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The operators of this comfortable mid-range hotel place great importance on the well-being of their guests with the reception being open around the clock. The hotel has a total of 68 rooms (28 single rooms, 20 double rooms). The hotel is located in direct proximity to the airport (5.0 km). Your accommodation is easy to reach as it is located directly adjacent to the motorway. Safes are available at reception and in your room to hold your valuables. There's no chance of boredom in this hotel. The hotel's casino and disco will cater for your entertainment needs. You can hire a car direct from the hotel, and park it on the hotel's car park during your stay. Feel free to enjoy room service or the wake-up facility when staying at the hotel. The hotel operates a suite of business facilities. All rooms have air conditioning, and also offer other facilities such as cable TV, Internet access and a hairdryer in the bathroom. Do you want to book a non-smoking room? Are you traveling with your family and do you need a cot? We will gladly cater for your wishes - please indicate them when booking your room. The minibar in your room contains many tasty things. Forget the worries of the day as you enjoy a relaxing massage. All kinds of delicacies can be served in the hotel's restaurant (with tables outdoors) and bistro, with specialties for vegetarians and diabetics, too. The hotel bar has a large selection of drinks for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parkside Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing