We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with central location”
Review of Jamiat Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jamiat Hotel
Ranked #141 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Reviewed 29 July 2012

So far I stayed two times at this hotel. What attracted me to it was the location, cleanliness and the price. Although the hotel is on top of a shopping mall it ticked all my boxes.

The rooms are modern looking and are kept clean. Each room has a mosquito net, Broadband and cable TV.

One side of hotel is opposite a mosque so if you do not wish to be awaken by morning prayers ask for a room on the other side of the building.

Food is fine, at a good price.

The only negative that I can say is that it's on a third floor and no elevators. Also it might get busy outside and some the noise may be heard in the room but it's bearable.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaxeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2011

The room seemed small, as the bed was large. it's true, it can be noisy, but it's in a great central location- almost next to the central market. Bathroom adequate and super clean, scrubbed top to bottom daily (i saw the cleaner working hard on it) electrics a bit unstable, room safe, hanging space, tiny balcony with interesting views. VERY comfy bed and white cotton linen. towels old and frayed. plenty of shopping opportunities in the center below, i had a great pedicure for 150 Ksh. also a good health food store, one or two souvenir shops and plenty of computer repair shops. restaurant has buffet hot food constantly replenished, as well as a al carte. prices v reasonable. wonderful fresh juices.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zooey1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
munyithya, General Manager at Jamiat Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2011

Many thanks for staying with us at the jamiat hotel and for creating time to share your valuable feedback. We have already started the process of replacing all the old linen and towels and i'm sure you will find the hotel much more better in your return visit.

My team appreciates your feedback and I am delighted that in some small way we were able take some stress out of your visit to Kenya. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Festus Munyithya
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2009

I stayed there for three nights at the beginning of a recent trip to Nairobi. The staff were excellent; attentive and helpful. The room was a bit dark and it was noisy because of the close proximity to a busy road and the Mosque. But each day it was cleaned from top to bottom and inspected by the manager. It was not very cosy; the room had a high ceiling, there were no flowers, stationery or drinks to make you feel more at home. It was a bit like an Etap Hotel in Europe; comparitively good value, clean and functional. OK if you are on a short stop over or as a first port of call before you sort out a better hotel for the rest of your stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kokoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2009

I was so upset with this hotel.
I went for the conference in Nairobi, my colleague who booked this hotel for us with African point. We had paid in advance. I arrived one day late, it was suppose to be our second nights at this hotel, the receptionist not allow me to checkin and asked to go and find someplace else to stay. It was 4 a.m. in the morning, heavy raining and I was alone. Could you imagine that these people asked a young lady who travel alone to go and find some place else to stay at the night ? Finally they decided to give me a room around 9 o'clock. No reimburst for the first nigt.

When my coleague arrived, they had said the same that they did not have our name in the list, and did not give her a room... This is the worse experience in my life.

The room is night but too many electric problems and the internet is not available as they said in the web site. It was very noise, I was unable to sleep for whole week I was there.

Receptionists are really bad. One of them had tried to charge us 2 times more for the internet which was not working at all.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mars88girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

my wife and i stayed at the jamiat hotel in february for one night before heading off to mombasa, we enjoyed our stay the staff very friendly , and always willing to helpwith advice,the room was very clean the bed comfortable and breakfast thrown in, a word of warning!!!! the hotel is right next door to a mosque and very large speakers that convey muslum offerings at any given time, not to mention that the hotel does not serve alcohol and yes i would stay there again. dunny1

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dunny2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

I only stayed here for two nights but was quite pleased.

The location of this hotel is VERY good if you want easy access to the downtown. However downtown Nairobi has a bit of a reputation for crime and this particular hotel, though only blocks from the central corner, is in one of the areas with a poor reputation. So I would not say the location is for everyone.

The hotel is located on the top floor of a small mall. It is not quiet. The call to prayer is regular for the nearby mosque and the bustle of the city is right outside your window (and down 3 or 4 flights).

The room itself was quite classy. With nice white bedding and dark wooden furniture. I was very pleased with the nice brand new fixtures in the bathroom.

At the time I stayed they were speaking of ongoing improvements as the hotel had only opened the week before - maybe now there is more on offer in the way of facilities.

All in all I would definitely stay again and would recommend it for a reliable comfortable room which will get you close enough to the downtown attractions that you will not need a taxi (except after dark), and if you do need a taxi it will only be a couple of dollars.

  • Stayed: February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itzakadoozie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2008

I spent a few days at the Jamiat earlier this year. The day before I left the hotel I had an expensive laptop stolen from my room. The hotel manager assured me that the hotel would compensate me for the stolen property. However, when I left the country they renegged on their promise and now refuse to compensate me. I suspect hotel staff were involved in the theft.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank us_traveler2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Nairobi Central Business District
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
#8 of 288 in Nairobi
171 reviews
The Heron Portico
#5 of 169 in Nairobi
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Troy Nairobi
#12 of 288 in Nairobi
94 reviews
InterContinental Nairobi
#17 of 169 in Nairobi
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jamiat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jamiat Hotel

Address: Kimathi St & Tubman Road | Box 1588 - 00606, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range: £49 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jamiat Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Jamiat Hotel is the latest addition of modern hotels in the city centre. Close proximity to international conference facilities, tea & coffee making facilities, internet access in all rooms, interconnecting rooms for families, fully fledged business, 260 seater multi theme City Hive restaurant, the only alcohol free residence in the city. Visit us and enjoy our unique hospitality concept and a five star experience in the most serene environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jamiat Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing