We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Eka Hotel Nairobi(Nairobi)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$216
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$181/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ole Sereni(Nairobi)
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$183/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (647)
Filter reviews
647 results
Traveller rating
343
228
52
17
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
343
228
52
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront office managerexcellent hotelbusiness tripnice poolswimming pooldouble roombusiness centergift shopcouple of nightsconference facilitieshome away from homeenjoyed my staymain restaurantshort stayrooms are spaciousnairobi trafficherons
Filter
Updating list...
523 - 528 of 647 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We Centum Learning Limited - India used to book this hotel for our all employees including senior Level stay. We are VERY happy with the Fast response of front Office Manager "David Mwaniki" he alwasy responds to our calls and mail without seeing time and day or night And even our employees whosoever stayed at Heron is is Highly satisfied with the Hotel Atmosphere as well as with the Front office Manager "David Mwaniki", They always say "he is a best and most Helpful guy in Hotel, His way of talking, way of managing things, way of attending peoples is very much appreciable. We always got on time Airport Transfers as well and We also very much appreciates Mr. David Mwaniki because of his understanding nature and His response which is VERY VERY NICE

We are VERY VERY Happy with this HOTEL

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GauravBhutani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Guest,

This is by far the most pleasant feedback that we have ever received. Thank you for sparing time to do so !

Your thoughts have been shared with the entire team at the hotel. This has gone a long way to ensure that the team stays positive and motivated to take service levels to a new level.

We look forward to your continuous support.

Warm Regards
Sanjeev Tiwari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The location of the hotel is superb as it is not far from the city center - walking distance. It is also very quiet and feels secure. Our room was clean, spacious and even had a kitchenette. The staff were friendly and helpful. The food was very good although the restaurant can be very cold as the windows are constantly left open even at 6.45 a.m. The hotel was worth every penny and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacklineB_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed here before commencing an overland tour. I appreciated the clean room, great food, friendly staff and a reasonable pool area... Is quite expensive compared to other options but for a little bit of luxury it was worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from The Heron Portico!

We thank you for choosing The Heron Portico as your preferred hotel in Nairobi and our endeavor is to provide all our guests a memorable experience.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay at our Hotel. The entire team feels encouraged by your kind words of appreciation.

We once again take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcome you to The Heron Portico in the near future.

Regards

Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This hotel is quiet, clean and I was amazed at how friendly the staff here was. They went out of their way to make us confortable and happy in all possible occasions. The food at the restaurant was amazing, and very fair prices. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The avenue on the front is quite busy, so pick rooms on the back of the hotel, which are quieter.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clarissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Heron Portico ,Nairobi and for sharing detailed feedback of your stay through TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to learn that you had an enjoyable experience at our hotel and that our services and facilities exceeded your expectations.

Our team members are very motivated when we receive such feedback. It encourages them to continue making an effort towards newer heights of excellence.

Thank you for recommending The Heron Portico, Nairobi.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Warm Regards
Sanjeev Tiwari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This is an average hotel with some pro and cons. The location is pretty good although it can take up to 2 hours in traffic to get between here and downtown Nairobi. The rooms are a nice size and very clean although they do not have hairdryers in the room.

The food in the evening is really good and great service but the breakfast was pretty dire and very unsatisfactory, I ended up skipping breakfast but having dinner each night at hotel.

The pool and gym were great for this size hotel and the staff were all very helpful. I would stay here again for business but definitely not for leisure or if I had a bigger budget.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IntrepidMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Heron Portico Nairobi!

We take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback.

I have noted your valuable feedback on breakfast buffet and assure you that corrective measures shall be initiated.

I would like to bring to your notice that your valuable comments and suggestions are always treasured as they always motivate us to perform better.
we will always welcome you with open arms leaving no stone unturned.

Regards
Sanjeev Tiwari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews