We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Heron Portico
Nearby Hotels
US$240
US$234
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eka Hotel Nairobi(Nairobi)
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ole Sereni(Nairobi)
US$252
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
US$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$334
US$272
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$300
US$288
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (589)
Filter reviews
589 results
Traveller rating
299
216
52
17
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
299
216
52
17
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront office managerexcellent hotelbusiness tripnice poolheated pooldouble roombreakfast was includedbusiness centergift shopenjoyed my stayconference facilitiesmain restaurantshort stayhome away from homerooms are spaciouseast africanairobi traffic
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
441 - 446 of 589 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here for three nights before heading to the Masai Mara on safari. We had two rooms - a double and a twin. The double room was at the beginning of the corridor and was huge! Lovely, large double bed, 2 armchairs, coffee table, desk, mini bar, and a lovely clean bathroom. The twin room was the next one in and was much smaller - just the two single beds, a small desk, but still had a mini bar and a nice bathroom, and was perfectly adequate. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast buffet was fantastic, there was a very well-equipped gym and a lovely outdoor pool. If I had any quibble, it would be the lack of air conditioning in the bedrooms. However, there was an electric fan which was adequate. I would definitely stay in The Heron again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the end of the corridors seem to be larger.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauldub12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is always a pleasant feeling to know that we were able to meet expectations of our guests every time they stay with us.

We look forward to your next visit with us and hope to see you soon.

Warm regards
Sanjeev Tiwari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed here for a night after climbing Kilimanjaro. We thought the hotel was very nice, great staff, clean, modern. The breakfast buffet was delicious. The staff was helpful and friendly. The Wifi was also strong. We recommend the hotel for a short stay, especially after a long mountain climb in the wilderness.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Heron Portico!

Thank you for taking time to write down the review and sharing it with fellow travelers.

Your feedback is very encouraging and I have shared it with the entire team. They are delighted that you had a wonderful stay in all aspects and are thrilled on being appreciated for their efforts.

Positive feedback from our guests are always a strong motivation to all of us to continuously provide a high level of services to our guests.

Thank you once again and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Sanjeev Tiwari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed four nights at this hotel and found it to be what we were expecting. Our end of hall room was spacious, and being at the back of the hotel, very quiet. Staff were as helpful as possible, although front desk staff was lacking somewhat in local knowledge. Food in the restaurant was fine, and reasonably priced. Hotel is located about a 20 min walk to central area, or an 800 kes taxi ride.

Room Tip: Back of hotel is quieter.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MVH1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smarthotel11, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review about your experience at The Heron Portico, Nairobi.

I am glad you left with a positive impression of our staff, restaurants and the hotel at large.

Your kind words of appreciation shall be conveyed to my team for whom they will be a tremendous source of inspiration. The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

For my visit to Nairobi, the only request I had made to my Local colleague was to book a hotel which offered Indian Food. Vegetarian more precicely. My wish was granted. Plus this hotel offered much more.

Located strategically on hilly terrain and posh locality of Nairobi, the hotel felt like home. Wont mind staying at this place if I visit Kenya again.

Pros : Value for Money. Peaceful. Great Service. Good Food.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank radhsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smarthotel11, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Guest,

It’s a delight to read your appreciation of The Heron Portico, Nairobi. I am glad that we were able to make your stay comfortable and cater to your Indian food requirement.

At The Heron Portico we genuinely believe that providing awesome memories to our guests is our prime purpose and endeavor to deliver this message through our actions and services.

It is always an honor to receive positive feedback which motivates our team to serve you better.

We await your early return for another memorable stay.

Warm regards,

Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

great service, also for conferneces etc. very comptetetive prices for accomodation and conference facilties, good building (airt circulation) with tasteful furniture, cuisine very good, I liked the combination of indian british and african dishes

had a good one week stay with a lot of support from hotel staff for my business trip. thanks a lot

Room Tip: somewhere high where the circulation of air is even better
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 977Karsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Heron Portico!

We wholeheartedly thank you for writing beautiful lines of appreciation for our hotel and its amenities. We are happy to know that you had pacifying stay at our property. We are pleased to know that you liked our well appointed rooms, cleanliness at the hotel, Friendliness and courtesy of the staff, scrumptious breakfast and dinner and other amenities at the hotel. We are pleased to know that we have been able to live to your expectations. Such comments have always been our strength as they motivate us to work harder and deliver better.

Looking forward to your next visit to Nairobi.

Warm regards
Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews