We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$256
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ole Sereni(Nairobi)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$171/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$153
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$183/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (647)
Filter reviews
647 results
Traveller rating
343
228
52
17
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
343
228
52
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront office managerexcellent hotelbusiness tripnice poolswimming pooldouble roombusiness centergift shopcouple of nightsenjoyed my stayconference facilitieshome away from homemain restaurantshort stayrooms are spaciousnairobi trafficherons
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 647 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Stayed at Heron Portico for 3N on a business trip. Definitely an option worth considering when at Nairobi.

- Conveniently located close to CBD. Saves a lot of time during the rush hour Nairobi traffic
- Good in-house restaurants with a decent choice of options
- Good quality of service
- Decent Gym

What could improve?
- Breakfast spread & choices
- Small rooms & small toilets make you feel cramped
- For some strange reason they don't supply Iron boxes/ boards (but the staff were kind enough to press the clothes FoC)

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank VijayRaghunathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We truly appreciate your effort of taking time and wrting such good review about us. We have taken a note of your suggestion on breakfast and would like to assure you that corrective measures have been taken.

We look forward to your patronage.

Warm regards

Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

I stayed at Heron Portico for 3 days. Service and the stay was awesome. Hotel Taxi picked me up from the airport and also they provide us a personal driver for 3 days to travel in Nairobi and we didn’t find any trouble in finding the place as our driver was completely aware about Nairobi City very well and again they dropped us back in Airport on 3rd evening.
Front office Manager Mr. David helped us by providing us the best Room at best view as requested and with all their excellent services and Support they made my trip wonderful and unforgettable.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank vineeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Heron Portico!

Thank you for visiting us and sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate the same.

We are very grateful for your kind words of praise for our ambience, food and service. All of us at The Heron Portico believe in creating memorable experiences for our guests. Thus, it gives us great joy in receiving such an endearing review.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

It's a beautiful place to stay in Nairobi. General Manager Mr. Sanjeev and Front Office Manager Mr. David Mwaniki are very friendly in addressing the customers.

I will definitely recommend the Business people and tourists traveling to Nairobi to use the services of Heron.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Thanigaivel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dear Guest,


Thank you for visiting us and sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate the same.

We are very grateful for your kind words of praise for our ambience, food and service. All of us believe in creating memorable experiences for our guests. Thus, it gives us great joy in receiving such an endearing review.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Located at the CBD The Hotel Heron Portico is a very elegant boutique hotel. The hotel is over 25 years old and has a wonderful old world charm to the ambience.
The staffs are very smart and efficient managed by an extremely hospitable General Manager Mr.Sanjeev.
The hotel has a beautiful lobby with very elegant furniture that's adds character to the place.
The Queen's suit is large and has a kitchenette in it.
The hotel has multiple unwind options such as a restaurant called Mdalasini, Baghasha bistro, a lounge bar Casbah and Sirocco aqua bar.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank vivek0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Greetings from The Heron Portico!

Thank you for visiting us and sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate the same.

We are very grateful for your kind words of praise for our ambience, food and service. All of us at The Heron Portico believe in creating memorable experiences for our guests. Thus, it gives us great joy in receiving such an endearing review.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful.
The hotel room was very spacious and all was clean.
The beds were not too soft.
The bathroom was nice, but seemed to have had the best time (could use a freshen up).
The internet is up until in the room (even on the 6th floor) and a good connection.
Altogether we were very happy with the stay there and would surely advise this to another traveler.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sanjeev t, General Manager at The Heron Portico, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Heron Portico and for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and most importantly, your mention about our staff being friendly and helpful.

Thank you for your feedback about our cleanliness and spacious room.

We look forward to your return soon and to welcoming you back to The Heron Portico.

Warm regards
Sanjeev Tiwari
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews