We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kivi Milimani Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Palacina Residence & Suites(Nairobi)
US$218
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eka Hotel Nairobi(Nairobi)
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$260
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$210
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ole Sereni(Nairobi)
US$252
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$256
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$586
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$334
US$272
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$123
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
3
23
73
41
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
23
73
41
34
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 174 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Having read the reviews I wasn't expecting much, therefore wasn't disappointed! This is an old hotel in need of a revamp but with the tour companies booking out lots of rooms I doubt they'll need to for a while. Rooms are very basic, there is hot water as long as you turn on the switch and wait (ours was broken but fixed promptly), the food service is ABYSMAL (2 hours wait then identical mains served half hour apart and starter served afterwards!).

If you're staying one night either side of your safari though, who cares? It's just a place to lay your head, and the pool area is a pleasant place to sit and have a beer. Staying here means you'll meet the other people on your safari and potentially have the opportunity to spend more time with them afterwards. Saying that, The Heron is literally next door so although I didn't go, if it's as much better as people say then you might be better off there.

Room Tip: Check that water, electricity and locks work as soon as you get in, if not, ask to change
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucieharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Myself and 5 other friends stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and had a horrible experience! the rooms where so bad considering we payed a lot of money to stay there. the Manager and the operations manager where so rude to us when we complained about the following:
No power in our room
No working hot water
No glass in our window
Broken bed
Leaking shower/ bath/ toilet - into room, corridoor and bar below

no of the above issues seemed to bother them or even warrent an appology!! The only positive thing to come out of my stay was meeting nice waiters/ waitress, cleaning staff and bar staff.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah_hall09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed in the hotel as part of a stop off between flights. We were there in total for 2 nights.

The majority of the staff were so nice and friendly, even the plumbers who we had to call up to our room at 11pm.

Our bath was so warn it had cracks and leaked all over our floor, into the corridor. Which eventually made its way into the bar. The room it self was dated and very shabby. Our friends were put in, what the hotel described as an appartment, it was more like a prison block. Their accomodation smelt foul, the cooker was a camping stove, mosy nets over the windows had huge holes in them. Oh and one of their beds was broken, please see pics below.

After several complaints we had to barter with the management for a refund on the granny flat and we had 20% taken off our room for the 2 nights. But its really not worth the hassel, we just wanted to leave. I will add that the management are very un-friendly and seem to ignore the females traveling in our group. They seem to be very good at passing the buck and blaiming other officials of the hotel, also they were getting very confrontational with our complaints.

The food was over cooked and didn't come with everything it was mean't to.

I guess the plus side the beds were comfy. Maybe because they were very well used or in ref to the comment above, the prostitutes keep them nice and bouncy ; )

My advice, drive past.......

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank big_doggy_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

My Husband and I stayed at the Kivi Milimani hotel for 2 days at the beginning of our tour. We were a little apprehensive as to what the hotel may be like after reading the reviews here, but we were pleasantly surprised. It's basic, but no were near as bad as some people's reviews.

We were on the second floor and the room was tidy, bathroom was a little run down but had hot water and flushing toilets. The balcony was nice and we often sat outside. The were two locks on the door and even though our sliding balcony door did not lock, we still felt very safe.

The hotel has internet which is cheap to use and not too slow. We didn't use the pool but we did eat at the main restaurant for breakfast and dinner, both very nice although, the service is a little slow but this is to be expected. Sitting in the garden is very quiet too.

Overall, it's not a top notch hotel, but it's not as run down as you would expect. It was completely adequate for the 2 nights we were there.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moosefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed here twice and found both rooms to be acceptable and the facilities clean. Considering it's a mid-range hotel in Nairobi it was definitely better than I expected after reading many of the reviews on here.

Having had a few nights there, we had no major dramas, the showers worked, the toilets flushed, the beds were clean and the food in the restaurant was good. I'm not sure what else people would expect from it? Clearly it's not a Hilton Hotel, but nor is it a crumbling, decrepit heap as some of the reviews would have you believe.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skeletor879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorldTraveller3011, Public Relations Manager at Kivi Milimani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2011

Skeletor

Thanks for your kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and very much look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

If it was me that you saw in the bar whilst you were watching NZ rugby, then hello again, if not...well hello anyway.

Kindest regards

PR Manager KMHotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews