We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kivi Milimani Hotel
Ranked #140 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Reviewed 31 August 2011

My wife and I stayed here as it was a starting point hotel for an overland safari trip. The lobby is really nice with a bar (order a Tusker beer), outdoor patio and pool. The food is decent, but you may be waiting a while to get it. The rooms are basic and a little dated but they do the trick. I've read a lot of complaints of toilets not flushing...it's true that they don't always flush, but if you're staying there as part of an overland trip, get used to it! On a 16 day tour of East Africa, I think I encountered 4 or 5 toilets that flushed reliably.
If you stay on the first, second or third floor, you have to flip a switch to turn on the hot water. If you are staying on the 4th or 5th floor, you'll have to go to the front desk and ask them to turn your water on (it took a friend of ours 90 minutes for this to happen). Either way, there's not much water pressure.
You can upgrade to different hotels in the area, but a lot of them are European/North American chains. Just stay here and support a local company.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2011

You are probably looking to stay here ahead of a tour or other event - otherwise if budget isn't your constraint go elsewhere.

Very basic, didn't seem very secure, shower was bad, beds rickety and old.... After a week on Safari and sleeping in tents this place felt like a palace! So it's really just a matter of perspective. ;)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D_DAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

stayed here for two nights prior to and one night after the intrepid tour. very basic rooms with basic bathroom facilities, toilet did not flush and bathroom pretty mouldy.
Food very basic for the price in the restaurant much better going to the Heron hotel short distance away to eat. Booking not registered on return and difficulty convincing staff to give us a room. ensure you have your paper work with you as was a long wait trying to convince them we had paid for the booking.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank borntotravel15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Service was slow during check in & check out. The rooms were clean and had good hot water. . There is a bar and restaurant. Food was quite good. The hotel is guarded so it is safe. There are also plenty of cabs available.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an upstairs room facing the pool so you can open the balcony door and get the nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petal090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Having read the reviews I wasn't expecting much, therefore wasn't disappointed! This is an old hotel in need of a revamp but with the tour companies booking out lots of rooms I doubt they'll need to for a while. Rooms are very basic, there is hot water as long as you turn on the switch and wait (ours was broken but fixed promptly), the food service is ABYSMAL (2 hours wait then identical mains served half hour apart and starter served afterwards!).

If you're staying one night either side of your safari though, who cares? It's just a place to lay your head, and the pool area is a pleasant place to sit and have a beer. Staying here means you'll meet the other people on your safari and potentially have the opportunity to spend more time with them afterwards. Saying that, The Heron is literally next door so although I didn't go, if it's as much better as people say then you might be better off there.

Room Tip: Check that water, electricity and locks work as soon as you get in, if not, ask to change
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucieharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Myself and 5 other friends stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and had a horrible experience! the rooms where so bad considering we payed a lot of money to stay there. the Manager and the operations manager where so rude to us when we complained about the following:
No power in our room
No working hot water
No glass in our window
Broken bed
Leaking shower/ bath/ toilet - into room, corridoor and bar below

no of the above issues seemed to bother them or even warrent an appology!! The only positive thing to come out of my stay was meeting nice waiters/ waitress, cleaning staff and bar staff.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah_hall09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed in the hotel as part of a stop off between flights. We were there in total for 2 nights.

The majority of the staff were so nice and friendly, even the plumbers who we had to call up to our room at 11pm.

Our bath was so warn it had cracks and leaked all over our floor, into the corridor. Which eventually made its way into the bar. The room it self was dated and very shabby. Our friends were put in, what the hotel described as an appartment, it was more like a prison block. Their accomodation smelt foul, the cooker was a camping stove, mosy nets over the windows had huge holes in them. Oh and one of their beds was broken, please see pics below.

After several complaints we had to barter with the management for a refund on the granny flat and we had 20% taken off our room for the 2 nights. But its really not worth the hassel, we just wanted to leave. I will add that the management are very un-friendly and seem to ignore the females traveling in our group. They seem to be very good at passing the buck and blaiming other officials of the hotel, also they were getting very confrontational with our complaints.

The food was over cooked and didn't come with everything it was mean't to.

I guess the plus side the beds were comfy. Maybe because they were very well used or in ref to the comment above, the prostitutes keep them nice and bouncy ; )

My advice, drive past.......

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank big_doggy_dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
The Heron Portico
#5 of 169 in Nairobi
545 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nairobi Central Business District
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
#5 of 289 in Nairobi
175 reviews
Hotel Troy Nairobi
#13 of 289 in Nairobi
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kivi Milimani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kivi Milimani Hotel

Address: Milimani Road | P.O.Box 20681, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range: £66 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kivi Milimani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are the business traveler or the discerning holiday maker, The Kivi Milimani will cater for your every need. Located in the sublime surroundings of up market Milimani, Nairobi, stands the Kivi Milimani Hotel. It is a hotel offering tranquility within well developed mature gardens with a serene ambiance. Only 2km away form the city centre, 5min walk from the state house, and only 20min drive from the International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Kivi Milimani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kivi Milimani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing