We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beware of your belongings....DO NOT STAY HERE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kivi Milimani Hotel
Ranked #134 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Beware of your belongings....DO NOT STAY HERE”
Reviewed 22 January 2013

This is a dreadful hotel- it is even worse than anything seen on Fawlty Towers! The check in is chaotic and unbearably slow. It takes 20 mins to photocopy your passport and find your name in their system- if indeed it is even there! The restaurant service is incredibly slow- you can wait up to 2 hrs for meals to come out and then they do not resemble what was on the menu and staff try to overcharge you- so check the prices before paying.

The main issue though is theft- I assume an inside job due to the way the staff and security refused to investigate. I had money stolen from my bag $450US (which was locked). They are smart enough to take only some money, not all though, in the hope that it will go unnoticed. Filing a police report really riles them though...I wasn't allowed to use their phone to make the report so went next door to the Heron Hotel- stay there if you can afford it, it's lovely!!!

Many rooms have faulty locks or doors that do not close properly too- be really careful.

The ratings I am giving are way too high but there's no lower options- terrible all round! Oh yeah- and rooms near the elevator shaft are awful- it sounds like a dying elephant groaning all night long. My advice- you'd be better off sleeping in a gutter than staying at this hotel. Unfortunately my tour used this hotel and I had 3 terrible nights there.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel! Rooms near the elevators are noisy Room 416 has broken locks Balcony wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kerryn72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    22
    73
    41
    34
See reviews for
17
51
38
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Family friends of ours just very recently stayed here and had a terrible experience. One night they went out for dinner and came back an hour later to find that they had been robbed. We're still not sure what happened because the room door hadn't been tampered with so we suspect that one of the hotel staff was involved. They lost all their valuables (which had been locked up in their suitcases) and 10,000 USD cash. In turned out that adjacent rooms had also been broken into. If you have any valuables on you/bags, I would not recommend staying at this hotel. The hotel management of course did nothing about this incident, so not very helpful staff either.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marux23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed here before our Intrepid tour in December. The hotel is run down, especially the rooms which are in a bad state. Do not leave any valuables in the room! I would advise anyone to stay in the Fairview hotel (5 mins away in a taxi & similar price). We had food in the Kivi Milimani - big mistake! Food poisoning for our entire group, was the result of this! It's a very basic hotel, but definitely don't stay here any longer than 1 night!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeRyanLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Stayed here for one night - before me Serengeti Trail trip. The room was big and clean. Nice view from balcony - tropical gardens and pool could be seen. Had TV but none of the programs could be seen clearly.
Water heater was 'hidden' in the closet - it was dripping some water for a while but It stopped eventually. (for hot shower - need to press the button by the water heater and wait for about 20-30 minutes before taking a shower).
In general, hotel looks like it needs renovation, but all in all we are in Africa in Nairobi so.. I wasn't expecting too much from this hotel so I wasn't dissapointed. As I sead, I stayed there for one night, but not sure if I would pick this hotel to stay for a longer period od time (week or so..)

The reception and a bar looks decently, big screen TV down there.

Best place to spend some time in that hotel is, I think, in the garden and by the pool. Take a cold one, sit back and relax.

One thing, don't wait to change your money in that hotel, the rates are 'not to good'.

Wi-Fi is being charged (I think 300 Ksh for 1hour - but you don't have to use it all at once, you can simply log off after you've done checking your e-mail so in that way you'll stop the 'timer'.. and continue using wi-fi later or the next day..).

Location of the hotel is a bit .. well.. isolated.. You are not 'that far' from the city center (about 500 Ksh taxi drive to the center) but since the hotel is surrounded with a fence, and guarded with man with weapons.. you know, you kinda don't want to go for a walk or something.. If you decide to go out of the hotel - use taxi

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristijan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

I only stayed 1 night but the bed was clean and comfortable. The overall Hotel is a tad shabby with the need for some paint, but the reception, bars and convention rooms are all well presented. The tropical gardens and pool are magnificent.
Staff are friendly and service is great. The room was quiet and clean but the bathroom needed a renovation - although everything worked. The Hotel is well located and an easy 15 minute walk to Nairobi CBD.

Room Tip: I had a room on the 5th floor and had a view, albeit of adjoining premises it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilK049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We were put up here by Intrepid Travel before our Kenya-Tanzania safari. The best way to describe the hotel is "tired." It needs an overhaul of beds, furniture, floor coverings and plumbing.
I wouldn't pay $130 a night to stay here, which was the quoted rate. Restaurant dinner was uninspiring and barely edible. Staff were inattentive. Spend the money and stay at the Crowne Plaza.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Stayed here for two nights prior to starting an overlanding trip. The rooms were basic a relatively clean, unfortunately the same cannot be said for the bathroom. The shower was broken and you had to hold onto the hose, and the bath tub was peeling and in poor condition.

Service was below average, the second day we were called and advised that we had to change rooms immediately so we packed our bags in a panic and lugged them down the stairs (elevator was not working and kept getting stuck) only to be told that we didn’t need to change rooms after all. Also there was no bottled in a room and we had to request it another 2 times.

The pool area was well kept and the BBQ buffet lunch around the pool was good.

Wi-fi is available for a nominal cost.

If you are only staying here for one night and you are only in need of a basic bed then this will do the trick but otherwise I’d recommend elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valued09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Upper Hill Estate
Silver Springs Hotel
Silver Springs Hotel
#38 of 164 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
The Heron Portico
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Hill Estate
The Monarch Hotel
The Monarch Hotel
#53 of 164 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Hadassah Hotel
#101 of 164 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kivi Milimani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kivi Milimani Hotel

Property: Kivi Milimani Hotel
Address: Milimani Road | P.O.Box 20681, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kivi Milimani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are the business traveler or the discerning holiday maker, The Kivi Milimani will cater for your every need. Located in the sublime surroundings of up market Milimani, Nairobi, stands the Kivi Milimani Hotel. It is a hotel offering tranquility within well developed mature gardens with a serene ambiance. Only 2km away form the city centre, 5min walk from the state house, and only 20min drive from the International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Jovago.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kivi Milimani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kivi Milimani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing