We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It sufficed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kivi Milimani Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Kivi Milimani Hotel
Ranked #131 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It sufficed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

On my first trip to Kenya I'm not sure what to expect although based on the neighborhood it seems the Kivi Millimani is a nice hotel by their standards. It's gated and guarded, a few doors down from the President's mansion (President of Kenya).

The grounds themselves are quite lovely. There is outdoor seating with umbrellas for food or lounging, a decent pool and lawn for sunning, and a very friendly staff.

However, the rooms are a bit dumpy even for my "I can sleep anywhere" standards. It was do-able but people used to higher standards may have issue. My first room was shared with a friend and was "modern" in that the hot water heater was in the shower so you could pump up the hot water fairly quickly. But there was obvious water damage on the floor as the tiles were bubbled and pealing off the floor. I had to move to my own room (darn snoring) and the staff was very accommodating - above and beyond. However, the new room I was given had a broken dead-bolt and I no longer felt safe. The hot water machine was outside the bathroom and the toilet was constantly running.
I tried a third room but it wasn't much better - that lock was gone entirely and the bathroom was the same.

It's quite popular, mostly because it is a stopping off point for Intrepid Tours so it's a quick stop for tourists. The locals appreciate the garden/pool area as there was a wedding party during my stay. Once I put the bathroom out of my head I absolutely enjoying my stay.

You'll need a cab driver's number to be able to get around as this is a very suburban area and not something to walk at night. The food is so-so (breakfast was fairly awful aside from made to order eggs).

There is a computer/internet room where you can buy access that is fairly reliable. The kind staff makes up for any shortcomings and do their best to meet the high Intrepid Traveler occupancies.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have balconies facing the pool. Rooms around 314-316 had more modern hot water hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    22
    73
    41
    34
See reviews for
17
51
38
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

We were extremely apprehensive about staying here for our night before the serengeti tour after reading the recent reviews and was almost desperate to change hotels but now after staying one night, I found it not so bad; adequate, in fact.

What one can do is ask for one of the new rooms when staying. We did this and were put on the fifth floor with splendid views and a clean, neatly presented room. The sheets had some stains impregnated into the fabric but, hey, it's a hotel. I have experienced worse.

The shower was an electric one with temperature and pressure controls. Ensure the red button is switched on before using as this turns on the heat. It's a little noisy but it serves its purpose well.

One electrical outlet didn't seem to work but we found two that did where the TV was.

With regards to security, the lock to the door was simple and used an old style lock and key. We brought along with us a door lock which you can purchase from any travel store. This made is feel a lot more secure. There was also a guard on our level who monitored the floor at all times.

The lift is very noisy but works fine, even though it may give you a little fright at first.

My only downside was that there was a very loud music party going on next to us until 2am which was a bit of a hindrance since we had to be up by 5am for our safari. But I believe this downside was out of the hotel's control (I.e. not a hotel sanctioned party) and is all part of the sounds of Nairobi at night.

All in all, much better than I expected. As usual when travelling to countries like this, always be alert, keep your wits about you and use common sense. Never leave unattended valuables lying around or it will be taken. Always keep all your valuables on you at all times and you will be fine.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kim-and-Anne-Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

This is a dreadful hotel- it is even worse than anything seen on Fawlty Towers! The check in is chaotic and unbearably slow. It takes 20 mins to photocopy your passport and find your name in their system- if indeed it is even there! The restaurant service is incredibly slow- you can wait up to 2 hrs for meals to come out and then they do not resemble what was on the menu and staff try to overcharge you- so check the prices before paying.

The main issue though is theft- I assume an inside job due to the way the staff and security refused to investigate. I had money stolen from my bag $450US (which was locked). They are smart enough to take only some money, not all though, in the hope that it will go unnoticed. Filing a police report really riles them though...I wasn't allowed to use their phone to make the report so went next door to the Heron Hotel- stay there if you can afford it, it's lovely!!!

Many rooms have faulty locks or doors that do not close properly too- be really careful.

The ratings I am giving are way too high but there's no lower options- terrible all round! Oh yeah- and rooms near the elevator shaft are awful- it sounds like a dying elephant groaning all night long. My advice- you'd be better off sleeping in a gutter than staying at this hotel. Unfortunately my tour used this hotel and I had 3 terrible nights there.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel! Rooms near the elevators are noisy Room 416 has broken locks Balcony wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kerryn72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

Family friends of ours just very recently stayed here and had a terrible experience. One night they went out for dinner and came back an hour later to find that they had been robbed. We're still not sure what happened because the room door hadn't been tampered with so we suspect that one of the hotel staff was involved. They lost all their valuables (which had been locked up in their suitcases) and 10,000 USD cash. In turned out that adjacent rooms had also been broken into. If you have any valuables on you/bags, I would not recommend staying at this hotel. The hotel management of course did nothing about this incident, so not very helpful staff either.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marux23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed here before our Intrepid tour in December. The hotel is run down, especially the rooms which are in a bad state. Do not leave any valuables in the room! I would advise anyone to stay in the Fairview hotel (5 mins away in a taxi & similar price). We had food in the Kivi Milimani - big mistake! Food poisoning for our entire group, was the result of this! It's a very basic hotel, but definitely don't stay here any longer than 1 night!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeRyanLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

Stayed here for one night - before me Serengeti Trail trip. The room was big and clean. Nice view from balcony - tropical gardens and pool could be seen. Had TV but none of the programs could be seen clearly.
Water heater was 'hidden' in the closet - it was dripping some water for a while but It stopped eventually. (for hot shower - need to press the button by the water heater and wait for about 20-30 minutes before taking a shower).
In general, hotel looks like it needs renovation, but all in all we are in Africa in Nairobi so.. I wasn't expecting too much from this hotel so I wasn't dissapointed. As I sead, I stayed there for one night, but not sure if I would pick this hotel to stay for a longer period od time (week or so..)

The reception and a bar looks decently, big screen TV down there.

Best place to spend some time in that hotel is, I think, in the garden and by the pool. Take a cold one, sit back and relax.

One thing, don't wait to change your money in that hotel, the rates are 'not to good'.

Wi-Fi is being charged (I think 300 Ksh for 1hour - but you don't have to use it all at once, you can simply log off after you've done checking your e-mail so in that way you'll stop the 'timer'.. and continue using wi-fi later or the next day..).

Location of the hotel is a bit .. well.. isolated.. You are not 'that far' from the city center (about 500 Ksh taxi drive to the center) but since the hotel is surrounded with a fence, and guarded with man with weapons.. you know, you kinda don't want to go for a walk or something.. If you decide to go out of the hotel - use taxi

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristijan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

I only stayed 1 night but the bed was clean and comfortable. The overall Hotel is a tad shabby with the need for some paint, but the reception, bars and convention rooms are all well presented. The tropical gardens and pool are magnificent.
Staff are friendly and service is great. The room was quiet and clean but the bathroom needed a renovation - although everything worked. The Hotel is well located and an easy 15 minute walk to Nairobi CBD.

Room Tip: I had a room on the 5th floor and had a view, albeit of adjoining premises it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilK049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Oakwood Hotel
#125 of 164 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Hotel Kipepeo
Hotel Kipepeo
#120 of 164 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
Sarova Panafric
Sarova Panafric
#17 of 164 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Heron Portico
#4 of 164 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Sentrim 680 Hotel
#104 of 164 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Mvuli Suites
Mvuli Suites
#42 of 164 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kivi Milimani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kivi Milimani Hotel

Property: Kivi Milimani Hotel
Address: Milimani Road | P.O.Box 20681, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 164 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Kivi Milimani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are the business traveler or the discerning holiday maker, The Kivi Milimani will cater for your every need. Located in the sublime surroundings of up market Milimani, Nairobi, stands the Kivi Milimani Hotel. It is a hotel offering tranquility within well developed mature gardens with a serene ambiance. Only 2km away form the city centre, 5min walk from the state house, and only 20min drive from the International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kivi Milimani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kivi Milimani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing