We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean, not bad for a budget stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kivi Milimani Hotel
Ranked #140 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Upon reading previous reviews I was expecting to walk into something of a crime scene, but am pleasantly surprised! The room is old but clean, with lovely white bed linen and a shower with better temperature and pressure than my own at home. Staff are so friendly and helpful, Joseph at the bar is great to chat to. Toilet does run for a while after flushing. Good bar and pool area. Food can take a while but is homemade, filling and delicious. Huge serves. While it may not be everyone's cup of tea I have certainly stayed in far worse places and have been impressed with my stay to date.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah2137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

I would never stay here again. The front desk staff did not speak much English which made it difficult to communicate. I only stayed at the hotel since I was leaving on an Intrepid Tour. I flew in a day early and the hotel made me 'check out' and then 'check back in' during my 2 nights stay; which meant paying and then having to change rooms for no obvious reason. They did have a safe but it wasn't overly secure, it would have been easy to walk in and just say a room number and have access to all the contents of the safe. I had dinner at the hotel restaurant both nights and the food took about 1 hour to be prepared. What made it worse was that my friend had her purse snatched up from the table without all 5 of us at the table noticing. After re-playing everything during the meal, it was suggested that it was an inside job as only the staff members came to the table during the meal. My friend had everything stolen including her passport, wallet, camera, ipad and e reader. Later that night my other friends had people trying to break down their hotel room door while they were in there sleeping. Breakfast was virtually inedible. I really hope that Intrepid Tours chooses a different hotel to start their trips from as these events left a sour note in many people's minds during our trip.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank Katherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Used the hotel as part of an intrepid tour (they leave and finish here). Figured for convenience would stay here - not the worst hotel i've ever stayed in, but definitely not great (you are in Africa after all so you have to expect it a little bit). No hot water and a leaky toilet - beds relatively clean. Stayed a second night in the middle of the tour (did two intrepid tours back to back) and the room was much better. Hot shower and a toilet that flushed. Talking to other people on the tour I would recommend you ask for a room on floor 3 or above as the rooms on floors one and two were all rubbish. The staff at the front desk on check in were rude and unhelpful.
On the plus side the pool and grounds were quite nice.

Room Tip: Level 3 and up seemed to have nicer rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jojo031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Started a trip where the meeting place was this hotel and figured for convienence I would start at his hotel too. After reading the reviews, I figured people were just being picky and I would give it a try.

Got there at 6:30am on the morning we were supposed to arrive. They gladly allowed us to go into our room early and then we ran out with our tour guide for the day. After a busy day we returned and the next day enjoyed the amenities of the hotel.

Amenities: Beautiful pool and grounds. Surrounded by the hustle and bustle of the city. No noisy city sounds. A nice quiet hotel. Restaurant at the hotel including food service by the pool. Hotel included a nice buffet breakfast which included an omlette bar and choices of hot and cold dishes.

One day after returning from breakfast (and being awoken by the housekeeper) we realized our room was not even cleaned, just the drapes opened. Not that we cared, but this was proof later that someone was in our room and my friend had had a large sum of money stolen from her.

Besides the hotel being a perfectly reasonable hotel, I would hope they would try to resolve this issue. After meeting with our tour guide my friend tried to speak with the manager who assured us that he would be checking who was on the cleaning schedule. We left the next morning but were throughly shaken by the incident. Following up with phone calls from our guide were not returned and my friend never recouped her money.

We were never encouraged to put our money in the safe (in lobby) which I don't prefer anyway..would much rather use a room safe.

So in the future....enjoy your stay here..just lock up your stuff and put any valuables in their safe (but who knows it if really will be safe..)

Would I stay here again: heck no!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank MrsKnicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I had two nights at this hotel. It was basic and clean, without any bugs and issues. It is in a safe, good neighborhood of Nairobi within walking distance of downtown. It was a little expensive ($100 USD) per night.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bethany M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel is far from the city center with facilities in pretty bad shape. I stayed only one night before my intrepid trip began. The room was decent but the toilets were quite bad. No wifi in the rooms. For intrepid travelers, and for one night, it is something you can live with. The outside are was quite nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GOB1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

The lovely foyer at the Kivi Milimani Hotel set me up to expect a beautiful room. It wasn't. It was very average. But I was only using it for a bed before and after my Intrepid tour. And I have stayed in worse. But the staff were perfect. So polite. Spoke excellent English. Recommended great restaurants. And organised everything to my wishes. Even sent me out with a driver/bargainer to go shopping.
So thanks Kivi Milimani. I appreciate it

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Ptcooper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Qaribu Inn
#62 of 169 in Nairobi
28 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
The Heron Portico
#5 of 169 in Nairobi
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 169 in Nairobi
1,303 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
#8 of 288 in Nairobi
171 reviews
Hotel Troy Nairobi
#12 of 288 in Nairobi
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kivi Milimani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kivi Milimani Hotel

Address: Milimani Road | P.O.Box 20681, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #140 of 169 Hotels in Nairobi
Price Range: £69 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kivi Milimani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are the business traveler or the discerning holiday maker, The Kivi Milimani will cater for your every need. Located in the sublime surroundings of up market Milimani, Nairobi, stands the Kivi Milimani Hotel. It is a hotel offering tranquility within well developed mature gardens with a serene ambiance. Only 2km away form the city centre, 5min walk from the state house, and only 20min drive from the International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Kivi Milimani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kivi Milimani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing