We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The next time I am in Kenya - that's where I will stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris
Ranked #36 of 269 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Kampala, Uganda
1 review
“The next time I am in Kenya - that's where I will stay”
Reviewed 26 July 2010

My very good friend and I were in Nairobi in June 2010 and we both had the pleasure of calling Kikuyu Lodge our home. The owner of the place and his dear wife plus all the members of staff treated my friend and I with the utmost respect from the moment we arrived. We were welcomed from the airport by a driver sent by the owner of kikuyu lodge. At the lodge, we enjoyed the meals, it was always clean, well maintained and better still, even though the hotel was a little far from Nairobi, we were never stranded. The drivers chosen to take us where we needed to go were very helpful. The next time I am in Kenya I know I will be welcomed back to Kikuyu Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caronazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    18
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
22
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2010

For my first African adventure I wanted help with planning where to go and what to see. i didn't want a big group coach type tour, yet I didn't have an enormous budget. I also wanted a mix of Wildlife, Scenery, Local culture and a restful time at the beach. Kikuyu Lodge Hotel has great reviews and came on recommendation from friend. They looked after us from the time we arrived at the airport to the time we left. They were not phased by our ignorance of culture and geography. The food was great, home style, and fresh. Safari drivers and accommodation they arranged were all fine. I have not complaints only that I would like more time, Kenya is a big place with lots to see.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spencer1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

This is a very nice lodge, but the location leaves allot to be desired. The owners offer safaris, which is very convenient, but if you want to shop around for a safari, it is a long ride into town.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderLust1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2010

This is a small, but very friendly private hotel which is ideally placed for the Giraffe Centre, karen Blixen Museum and the Elephant orphanage. Unlike many of the city centre hotels you do not need an armed guard but feel very safe.
trevor, (the owner) organised everything we wanted to do without any fuss and uses an exceptional taxi firm to transport you.
If it is city centre 5 star luxury you want - forget it - however if you want a no frilss cheap bases for Nairobi - this is your place!
Thanks Trevor for looking after us John & Sue

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2009

Kikuyu lodge is a really lovely, family run place which welcomes you from the minute you arrive. The food was brilliant, the rooms were clean spacious and well equipped and the lodge has a lovely friendly atmosphere making relaxing in the evenings an enjoyable thing to do!

Prices are very reasonable especially when you compare the rates to the rates of bigger hotels in town such as the hilton and the jacaranda.

Kikuyu lodge is located out of town along the road to Naivasha and although it can take time to reach from the airport in rush hour traffic - it is worth the journey. Staying on the outskirts of Nairobi is always much more favourable than staying in the city centre.

Make no mistakes, this is not a big hotel catering to Western travellers every whim and demand; meals are shared together in a small dining room and interaction with other guests is much more likely than in other hotels. This, to me, is fantastic and in no way a derogatory remark. Kikuyu lodge strikes the perfect balance between efficiently meeting basic traveller's needs in a safe and friendly environment, and also providing a more homely experience for your stay in Nairobi.

Highly recommendable!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hfhtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

Arrived initially by myself and was made to feel very welcome.Trevor and Charity have very useful contacts in Kenya and are a very good first port of call for anyone who needs a helping hand to navigate and explore..
regards Gary W

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gazawest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland, USA
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2009

Our first trip to Africa and we arrived late evening into Nairobi, tired &slightly disoriented. However Trevor Kent at the Kikuyu Lodge had arranged our first week perfectly. We were picked up at the airport & upon arriving at the Kikuyu Lodge were offered tea & cookles. We stayed for 3 nights & then Trevor had arranged a private van for us to visit Amboseli Nat. Park for 2 nights at the Amboseli Serena Lodge & our return to Nairobi. Hannah, their cook & all around assistant, served wonderful breakfasts & dinners family style. We felt well taken care of by Trevor & Charity at a reasonable price. The room was clean & pleasant, overlooking their lovely garden. Possibly the only drawback is that Nairobi's public transportation system is matatus & taxis, & Kikuyu Lodge is slightly in the suburbs.

Helpful?
Thank avidtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Wildebeest Eco Camp
#2 of 269 in Nairobi
463 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Best Western Plus Meridian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Heron Portico
#5 of 164 in Nairobi
484 reviews
Hotel Troy Nairobi
#9 of 269 in Nairobi
87 reviews
Fairview Hotel
#3 of 164 in Nairobi
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris

Property: Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris
Address: Nairobi - Nakuru Highway | Rungiri / Magana/ Kikuyu, Nairobi 00902, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 269 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Temporarily closed due to local road closures and renovation. We are a long established family run Guest House/Safari planners, organising personal itinerary holidays and wildlife safaris to the game parks of Kenya, Sightseeing to the beautiful Rift Valley and it lakes, and the mountain scenery of Mount Kenya and the Aberdare Ranges. Beach breaks to the beautiful Indian Ocean and Marine Park. For the serious naturalist or the leisure of a holiday in beautiful surrounding we organise it all and at Kikuyu Lodge Hotel we offer comfortable homely accommodation, good food and a warm welcome as well as our beautiful garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Kikuyu Lodge Hotel & Safaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kikuyu Lodge Hotel And Safaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing